Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

NEW AMSTERDAM THEATER

214 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

MARY POPPINS

Ended 3 Mar 2013 after 6 years

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

It is a roof-raising, toe-tapping, high-flying extravaganza!

New York Daily

Closed 3 Mar 2013

Take a look here to see if Mary Poppins is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 88
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 81 to 85 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Beautiful new take on a magical memory.,
Oct 28, 2006
reviewer: from Anytown, AT 55555
The old saying is stop a show three times and you've got a hit. Well, this one's a smash with four show stopping numbers ("Supercal" and "Just in Time" will have you out of your seats!) In addition there are very fine performances and stunning costumes and sets (if sometimes stubborn. Yes, I was there the night they stopped after Act One, but went back the next night.) My only complaints are poor Rebecca Luker just doesn't have enough to do, and lastly, the show ought to be called "Mary Poppins and Bert," because Gavin Lee simply delivers one of the most brilliant Broadway show stopping turns in a long time.

 

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
amazing,
Oct 27, 2006
reviewer: from union city, nj usa
we were on the show last night 10/26 , my daughter and I just can describe how wonderful it was, Amazing! , the songs better than ever, the dancing, the supercali...,full of fun,we love everything.We are big fans of Mary Poppins,we have wached the movie many many times.Seen it last night was one of our dreams come true.I will recomend it to everybody to see it . The show is unforgetable.The only thing we were a bit unconfortable were the theater seats.We'll go back and enjoy it once again!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Great Show even with the slight snafu and Scary Toys,
Oct 22, 2006
reviewer: from CT, USA
Loved this show! The sets were amazing. Though at the 10/14 preview there was a slight problem in the beginning with one of the sets... getting pass that was painless and the rest of the show had me in awe. The songs both new and old versions (supercali--- was better than before) were wonderful. The dancing was better than the original. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is the one scene where the toys came alive, scary for kids. I think this one will be a Tony winner for sure! It was a very positive experience in NYC from the train ride there, our restaurant, the Show and back to GC to take the train home.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Amazing Show,
Oct 21, 2006
reviewer: from New York
The show is amazing, there are hardly words to describe how wonderful it is. My review is more to advise theatre goers about the experience we had at the New Amsterdam Theatre. We went Fri. night 10/20/06. The seating can be precarious and tight, but the problem was that there was an entire row behind us, balcony level, where there were children, (appeared to be under 4 years old, which is prohibited in this show), crawling, banging, screaming and kicking seats in front of them. When several audience members asked the parents to please control them, parent(s) yelled back at everyone and began to sing along loudly with the songs and talk (shout) comments throughout the show. Several people attempted to find ushers for help, but they seemed understaffed. This was my daughter's birthday gift and she was almost in tears. Several people in our row were enraged..almost a fight. The theatre needs to enforce the rules and ensure that people are aware that this is not "Broadway" behavior.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful:
What you would expect from Disney,
Oct 15, 2006
reviewer: from NY
My husband and I saw the Oct 14th preview show. It was one of the best shows we have seen on Broadway. Today we went out and bought the movie.The actors were brillant. The sets were magnificent. Children would love it. I hope it stays here because I want to go back.Our only complaint which has nothing to do with the musical was the theatre seats. They are very very tight and lined up were you sit directly behind the person in front of you. That was the most frustrating part because as much as we enjoyed the show the seating is terrible and if you get stuck behind someone tall (like my husband and I both did and my husband is 6 3') then the show is hard to watch comfortably. We were on the mezzanine level too. Aside from the seating obstacle we did love the show. I DEFINITELY recommend getting as good seats as possible especially for the little ones in order to really enjoy this magical treat.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 81 to 85 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

Please note: The term New Amsterdam Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the New Amsterdam Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the New Amsterdam Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date