Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

NEW AMSTERDAM THEATER

214 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

MARY POPPINS

Ended 3 Mar 2013 after 6 years

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

It is a roof-raising, toe-tapping, high-flying extravaganza!

New York Daily

Closed 3 Mar 2013

Take a look here to see if Mary Poppins is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 88
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 71 to 75 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Exquisite Show, but a Scary Mary!,
Mar 02, 2007
reviewer: from South East USA
I just saw this show last week, on February 23, 2007. Overall, the show is visually breathtaking. It's message is heartwarming, and the cast is brilliant! My only disappointment was Ashley Brown's portrayal of the title role. From her first entrance, I was immediately plagued with visual memories of "The Stepford Wives" and could not erase that mental visual for the duration of the show. Although her singing voice was pure, her dialogue was completely robotic and without any trace of believable feeling.I think I would love the opportunity to see this show with a fresh perspective on the title role.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
The best show ever! I love Ashley Brown!,
Feb 22, 2007
reviewer: from USA
I wish to meet alshey brown she is a one of a kind great star!talent, voice, and feet!I love her i wantt o meet her i am only 11 yrs. old!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Magically perfect in every way!!!,
Jan 21, 2007
reviewer: from Massapequa
The magic of Disney. Pure delight. My daughters got me tickets for high balcony seats as a Christmas present. At first I feared I wouldn't enjoy the show from this vantage point, I thought I would resent this Mary, as I have loved Julie Andrews since childhood. Well my new Mary won me over in 3 seconds and even from these seats my night was pure enjoyment. The sets are fantastic...every girl who has ever pined for the perfect doll house will want to have this for their own. Hey, not a bad idea for a merchandising piece...a 17 Cherry Tree Lane Doll House.. Is there one?? The special effects recreate the magic from the movie..The dancing and voices are perfect....I have never before left a theater wanting to buy tickets to see it again....this is a spectacle in the true Broadway sense...afterwards we found a quaint dining spot at Rachel's..reasonably priced, warm friendly staff, and GOOD FOOD!! try the Chocolate chocolate chocolate cake..a Practically perfect day.Go Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
"Perfect in Every Way",
Jan 04, 2007
reviewer: from Lawrenceville, NJ
I had the immense pleasure of experiencing this timeless and wonderful show, not once but twice. At first worried I would compare the show to the movie; however, I was soon so overwhelmed that I was brought to tears.

 

I thought Julie Andrews was the quintessential "Mary Poppins" but Ashley Brown was absolutely wonderful and fit those shoes "Perfect in Every Way"! Her performance was unforgettable and I will always remember the excitement and enjoyment I felt during the entire production - I was very much moved and had a smile on my face the entire time.

 

The special effects are also spectacular! A must see for the entire family!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Cant wait to see it again!,
Dec 10, 2006
reviewer: from New York City
I saw this show on 11-17 and it was absolutely incredible. I grew up watching the movie and it was even better on Broadway! I thought Ashley Brown did a great job, I mean she is no Julie Andrews, but she would make her proud. Go see this show--you wont be sorry
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 71 to 75 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

Please note: The term New Amsterdam Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the New Amsterdam Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the New Amsterdam Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date