Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

LONGACRE THEATER

220 West 48th Street, New York, NY 10036

OF MICE AND MEN

Ended 27 Jul 2014 after 4 months

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

O'Dowd brings all manner of subtlety to Lennie. What he does with his fluttery hands alone is acting inspiration. He sees that Lennie's feelings are all unguardedly on the surface and expresses that through mood changes often simultaneously funny and sorrowful.

The Huffington Post

Closed 27 Jul 2014
Avg. Customer Review (4.8 Stars):
Email a friend about this play.
Number of Reviews: 9
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 5 of 9 reviews
| 1 | 2 | - View All    Next

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
James Franco and Chris o'Dowd worth every penny,
Apr 06, 2014
reviewer: from New York, New York
Excellent acting and on stage chemistry created a wonderful broadway experience. My daughter (16) is a HUGE James Franco and John Steinbeck fan- I know crazy, right? This was an incredible gift for her. She even gave $20 of her birthday money to the broadway cares bucket. Thanks James Franco for playing it up for the adoring audience.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Phenomenal,
Mar 27, 2014
reviewer: from New York, New York
Saw the show on 3/22/14. In the past 25 years I a average about 8 broadway shows a year. By far this show was the best. The chemistry between all actors was perfect it made all the characters so believable. .I went to go see it because of James Franco - who was brilliant, but Chis O'Dowd stole the show. I cried, I laught, and loved every minute of it. When it was over I found myself wanting more. So I'm going back to see it again...I can't wait!!! YOU MUST SEE THIS SHOW!!! The only complaint was the theater is small and the seats are tight.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Highly recommend this show - Loved it!,
Apr 27, 2014
reviewer: from Canada
My wife and I saw Of Mice and Men with our 14-year-old son and we all loved it. All the cast were terrific, but Chris O'Dowd was mesmerizing as Lenny. Stole every scene. Our son has been talking about the performance ever since we saw it.

 

Fabulous production of a classic story. Try to see this show!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
OF MICE AND MEN - WOW, TICKED ALL THE BOXES !,
Apr 30, 2014
reviewer: from Cannock, England
This was our first ever Broadway play and I must say it definately didn't disappoint. All the cast were brilliant. James Franco's portrayal of George was excellent and the on-stage chemistry with Chris O'Dowd was electric. Chris O'Dowd portrayed Lennie just how I envisaged it should be and, for me, he stole the show with an amazing performance. Thanks to the cast also for taking time out after the show to acknowledge their fans. All in all an amazing experience. The only down side, as echoed in another review, the seats were very small and tight but then again it is an old theatre with lots of character
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Better Than Expected,
May 08, 2014
reviewer: from New York, New York
Was thrilled to be able to see this show on May 3rd. All of the cast were great and Chris O'Dowd did not disappoint in any way. He pulled you into the story and was perfect in the part of Lennie After the show he graciously met with his fans and a young girl requested a picture with him which he willingly supplied with a kind smile. The only drawback was difficulty hearing at times. Great play. See it.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 1 to 5 of 9 reviews
| 1 | 2 | - View All    Next

Please note: The term Longacre Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Longacre Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Longacre Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date