Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

LONGACRE THEATER

220 West 48th Street, New York, NY 10036

LA CAGE AUX FOLLES

Ended 1 May 2011 after 12 months

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

This version of La Cage Triumphs!

Ben Brantley, New York Times

Closed 1 May 2011
Avg. Customer Review (3.5 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 6
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 5 of 6 reviews
| 1 | 2 |    Next

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful:
Great Show!,
Apr 18, 2010
reviewer: from Henniker, NH
Saw the show yesterday, FABULOUS! Kelsey Grammer was wonderful, as was everyone else! The only problem was our seats. I was very excited to get Row B right Orchestra seats, but I didn't realize that because of the table and chairs "Cabaret Seating" which were in front of us, it would be very difficult to see the show. I would not recommend these seats, better off sitting further back..
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Terrific show!,
Aug 22, 2010
reviewer: from Charlotte, NC
Saw this show (08/20/10) on a whim ... sat up in balcony and had no complaints about our view. I don't think I'd take a child but merely because of the content. The show had me laughing from beginning to end, but also awed me with the dancing. While I'm not a supporter of guy rights, the underlying message gave legitimacy to the tenderness and validity of relationships, regardless of their structure. After the show we were outside of the theater when the cast exited and it was wonderful to see how appreciative and pleased the cast was with their audience. Mr. Hodge and Kelsey Grammer both took the time to sign audographs and pose for pictures. This, of course, added to the splendor of the night. If you want to see a terrific, funny show - you've got to go!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
MUST SEE,
Feb 17, 2011
reviewer: from Vancouver, BC
Saw this musical and just loved it.I laughed so hard and i also cried, a beautiful mixture of feelings in this musical. I also loved the choreography, there was so much energy and it was FUN, FUN, FUN!!!I would love to see this musical again.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
High school spring musical...,
Nov 22, 2010
reviewer: from Upstate New York
I have genuinely been more entertained at a high school spring musical - have been to many Broadway shows and have always been a fan of La Cage but walked away disappointed. Mr. Hodges was a true talent who unfortunately had no back up on stage. On top of the unenthusiastic show, having to deal with the seat nazis in the balcony gave a bad taste right off the bat....nasty nasty women who were there to police and perform as little as possible for the people paying their salaries....should they not be trained as ambassadors and not wardens? True stereotypes of "New Yorkers" which do nothing to dispel the myths... A highlight was the drag queen interacting with the audience before the show...
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Not a quality show,
Nov 03, 2010
reviewer: from SLC, UT
Kelsey Grammer was not there and so was the case of many other; the program seemed like it had confetti in it, that's how many little papers were inside announcing the substitutions. The musical is great, but the acting and singing is just not good enough. What a shame!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 1 to 5 of 6 reviews
| 1 | 2 |    Next

Please note: The term Longacre Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Longacre Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Longacre Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date