Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

DAVID H KOCH THEATER

Lincoln Center, 70 West 63rd Street, New York, NY 10023

SHEN YUN PERFORMING ARTS

Ended 19 Jan 2014 after 9 days

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

A visually dazzling tour of 5,000 years of Chinese history and culture.

San Francisco Chronicle

Closed 19 Jan 2014

Take a look here to see if Shen Yun Performing Arts is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (3.8 Stars):
Email a friend about this show.
Number of Reviews: 47
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 6 to 10 of 47 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | - View All Previous      Next

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Beauty in its most enjoyable form,
Mar 06, 2014
reviewer: from Rochester, New York
When I first experienced shenyun I knew its was the most heartouching blessing that I have ever received from such dedicated talented young people . This show deserves every single half star or star rating that it has received and once you sit in the theatre you will not regret what you have seen. You will leave the theatre with tears of joy from the beatiful message sent from the from the smiles:-) on all of their faces. Hope fully you will leave that theatre feeling refrreshed and reborn fom tthe show and I promise you that every year they come you will run to the theatre like a child running down stairs to reciev their christmas presents. IHighly recomend this show and I hope you will too. Even if you don't see this show more than once it will be an experience you will never ever forget and you will appreciate the day that you were showed in great detail and beaty the importance of ancien tasian civilizations and others too.SHenyun is truly the best
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
OK, but too heavy-handed.,
Feb 25, 2014
reviewer: from Toronto, Ontario
I enjoyed many of the dances, and the costumes and music could be very pleasant. However, the show was far too heavy-handed politically, and the advertising did not give an accurate picture of the kind of show we would receive. Some of the dances told a fun story and I especially enjoyed some of the instrumental content, but the opera singers and several dances were quite preachy. The CGI backdrop was cheesy, and a final dance of Buddha wiping out Falun Gong persecutors in a wave of judgment was, well...not what I came to see. The price of the tickets did not at all reflect the quality of the show. Beware of Shen Yun!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Post-script on my ,
Feb 23, 2014
reviewer: from Providence, RI
After entering my review, I scrolled through previous reviews. Overwhelmingly favorable are the reviews written in March 2013. The show changes every year, so maybe this year tanked. Or, maybe, last year's reviews, all effusive, were artificial... Don't know. The only 2014-written reviews on this site were also negative. "MontyPython-like", right"" SCTV's Chiller Theater", for another. All I know is this...$250 for two tickets last night in Providence (last minute gift) , and applauding as if I'm back in the day of my son's Little League years, saying "good job" all the time. Whatever this was, it was NOT as advertised.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
God-awful awful,
Feb 23, 2014
reviewer: from Providence RI
You'd have to experience it, to accept how numb this affair is. Mix equal portions of dance from any classic Broadway production (Oklahoma!, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers) with the spirit of Dan Akalroyd's old SNL "Bad Theater" with.... nope, the words fail. Try this... The absolute best Cirque de Soleil performance you've ever seen, translated into Saturday morning made for TV cartoons...and you have to sit through two hours. A "traditional ethnic dance" called "Mongolian Chopsticks"??

 

Don't get me started...
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Shen Yun,
Feb 16, 2014
reviewer: from Minneapolis, Minnesota
We were extremely disappointed. This show is NOT about Chinese performing arts, it's about a hidden political and religious agenda that is forced on the audience. My wife and I will never see this show again nor will we ever suggest others to go.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 6 to 10 of 47 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | - View All Previous      Next

Please note: The term David H Koch Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the David H Koch Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the David H Koch Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date