Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

BROOKS ATKINSON THEATER

256 West 47th Street, New York, NY 10036

GREASE

Ended 4 Jan 2009 after 17 months

Never underestimate the pleasure of watching really good actors behaving terribly...highly skilled stage performers take on roles that allow them to rip the stuffing out of one another, tear up the scenery, stomp on their own vanity and have the time of their lives. And their performances ... incite the kind of laughter that comes from the gut, as involuntary as hiccups or belching.

Ben Brantley, New York Times

Closed 4 Jan 2009
Avg. Customer Review (4.4 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 11
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 5 of 15 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | - View All    Next

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful:
Must see for Grease fans - a great time!,
Jul 27, 2007
reviewer: from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
After watching the show on tv, we had to see the production on Broadway and were there for opening night on Tuesday, July 24, 2007! It was so exciting to see two characters who seemed like friends (after watching them on tv) play the roles of Danny and Sandy. You could tell the whole cast had such a terrific time together and there was a lot of mutual respect among the characters.

 

I would highly recommend this show to anyone and everyone looking for a good time and great music!

 

Highly recommend Thalia, just around the corner around 49th street!

 

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Scintillating Show,
Nov 02, 2007
reviewer: from Melrose, NY 12121
I've followed the progress of talented Max Crumm and Laura Osnes on TV the Winter of '06, cheered for them all along, and was thrilled to be able to see them on Broadway on 10/13/07. The show was FANTASTIC, the singing and acting beyond words! I think Max and Laura, and the entire cast, are extremely talented, the music and the entire ambience of the show, was breathtaking. I would see it again and again, whenever possible. Am so proud of them, and all they've accomplished! The theater is charming, the seats were great, and I would definitely take my mother and/or children to see this show. The cast received standing ovations, and my friend and I walked out dancing on clouds!! God Bless Max, Laura, and all.

 

Pat Kappes/Melrose, NY
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Ashley Spencer and Derek Keeling,
Sep 06, 2008
reviewer: from Florida
Wow! What a performance by these two! Ashley and Derek are wonderful and the best fit for these roles. The producers got it quite right by casting these two in the show! Also, the rest of the cast was superb! Get on a bus, train or plane and see this show. You won't be sorry. So much fun!

 

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Grease IS The Word,
Sep 28, 2008
reviewer: from USA
Amazing. I can not tell you how much I loved this show. It is one of Broadway's best rock and roll musical! I can simply not descirbe how good it was. It was that good. It was great seeing the band up ontop of the stage! The cast was one of the best Broadway cast ever. The show was great. The dancing, spectacular and the songs were above awesome! This is a show I would recommend to everyone. Grease is the Word!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Ace Young as Kenickie,
Nov 04, 2008
reviewer: from Florida
I saw the show 4 times in one week and I couldn't get enough of seeing Ace Young as Kenickie! He is SO perfect for this role. If you can make it to see Grease before he leaves on Jan 18th...DO IT! You won't be disapointed!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 1 to 5 of 15 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | - View All    Next

Please note: The term Brooks Atkinson Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Brooks Atkinson Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Brooks Atkinson Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date