Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

BROADWAY THEATER

1681 Broadway, New York, NY 10036

CINDERELLA

Now showing, Closes 3 Jan 2015

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
2013 Tony Winner

2013 Tony Winner

Reassuringly old-fashioned and refreshingly irreverent, sentimental and snarky, sincere and ironic, all at once!

Ben Brantley, The New York Times

Buy Tickets For CinderellaBuy Tickets
Avg. Customer Review (3.7 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 19
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 11 to 15 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Previous      Next

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
if you wanted same old....,
Feb 23, 2013
reviewer: from Chicago
then watch the tv version. The updating was smart, lighthearted, and overall charming. The casting and acting were all top notch Broadway. Truly inspired sets and costumes. The show got better and better as it went along. Brilliant scene changes as well.Never thought the least compelling part of the show would be the occasional clunker from R&H songbook.Give up your expectations for a stodgy rerun and have a good time.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
What Show was this?,
Feb 18, 2013
reviewer: from lavallette, new jersey
I grew up with every version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella and I've always been partial to the Lesley Ann Warren version. The current Broadway production is so far off from every previous version I've ever seen and at one point I was wondering if I was watching the right show. The sets and consumes were amazing. I hated the addition of characters, the subtraction of old characters, and the political aspects now involved in the show. It was like the French Revolution plus Aladdin equals Cinderella. Also, there were some songs that were changed, which I didn't care for, and some new ones added from the Rodgers and Hammerstein catalogue. The first act was really rough, but the second act started to have potential. I think with some tweaking, Cinderella could be a fabulous addition to Broadway. Cut the unnecessary characters, reinstate the old ones, and tell the Rodgers and Hammerstein story that made people fall in love with Cinderella in the first place.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
What Show was this?,
Feb 18, 2013
reviewer: from lavallette, new jersey
I grew up with every version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella and I've always been partial to the Lesley Ann Warren version. The current Broadway production is so far off from every previous version I've ever seen and at one point I was wondering if I was watching the right show. The sets and consumes were amazing. I hated the addition of characters, the subtraction of old characters, and the political aspects now involved in the show. It was like the French Revolution plus Aladdin equals Cinderella. Also, there were some songs that were changed, which I didn't care for, and some new ones added from the Rodgers and Hammerstein catalogue. The first act was really rough, but the second act started to have potential. I think with some tweaking, Cinderella could be a fabulous addition to Broadway. Cut the unnecessary characters, reinstate the old ones, and tell the Rodgers and Hammerstein story that made people fall in love with Cinderella in the first place.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
UPDATED FOR THE 21st CENTURY AUDIENCE,
Feb 15, 2013
reviewer: from Newark, NJ
Calling Baby Boomers who remember the TV version from 50 years ago, yes 50 years ago. It was slow moving, with some comedy, and would have probably been considered boring to the 21st century audience. So what is one to do? Update it, leaving all of the wonderful original music of course because afterall THAT is what makes this Rogers and Hammerstein's Cinderalla, not Disney Cinderella, add some 21st century humor, and expand the story by giving the 'kingdom', and all of the main characters more depth. I thought this rendition was great, especially Lord Pendleton and the Fairy Godmother. The singing was crisp, chorus right on point - a few of the dancing performances of the chorus were complex and were executed with appropriate vigor without pause or (obvious) error. If you have not seen the ORIGINAL Rogers and Hammerstein's Cinderella I do not think you will truly appreciate this remake. Sorry, but you had to be there.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
????????,
Feb 12, 2013
reviewer: from New York, New York
The only reason I am giving this play 2 stars is because the performers, sets, and costumes were wonderful. I can't for the life of me understand why anyone would butcher this story! I took my 20 year old daughter to what we thought would be the story we both grew up loving. This IS NOT that story it has been completely changed into some kind of political statement. Do NOT bring young girls to this play they will be bored and confused. Without giving away everything, I can only tell you that NOTHING is the same. How they got away with calling it Cinderella I don't know. The only reason we didn't walk out at the intermission was because we wanted to hear the beautiful songs of Rogers and Hammerstein!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 11 to 15 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | Previous      Next

Please note: The term Broadway Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Broadway Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Broadway Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

Keep up to date