Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

BROADHURST THEATER

235 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

CAT ON A HOT TIN ROOF

Ended 22 Jun 2008 after 4 months

Though Ms. Rose wears a slinky slip as beguilingly as Ms. Taylor did, its her take-charge energy and unembarrassed directness that make this Maggie such a stimulating presence. When she exclaims, Maggie the cat is alive!, you can only nod in admiring agreement.

Ben Brantley, New York Times

Closed 22 Jun 2008
Avg. Customer Review (3.4 Stars):
Email a friend about this play.
Number of Reviews: 11
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 1 to 5 of 13 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | - View All    Next

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:
March 8, 2008,
Mar 12, 2008
reviewer: from Atlanta, GA
This play was simply awesome anyone that is looking for a great night out. I recommend this play as the one to see and have dinner at one of the nearby restaurants. My guest and I perferred a brazillian near 48th.

 

I would not carry my children below the age of 12 due to some of the language and sex indications, But I would take my mother.

 

The cast was really in character and demonstrated the effects of being there with them in each performance. We really enjoyed this as Brick avoided Maggie, the noisy brother and his wife.

 

We had perfect seating in the orch level on the fourth row seats D 103 etc. I would take others to see this play as the opportunity arises. I live in Atlanta hope to see that it makes it South to the Fox.

 

This play was so real!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Great Performances,
Mar 28, 2008
reviewer: from Kansas City, MO
Phylicia Rashad was wonderful as Big Mama! Her range of emotions was extraordinary. Tennessee Williams writes stories that are very complex and all of the actors provided nuanced performances that supported the script. Bravo!

 

My only suggestion, TURN ON THE AIR! The theatre was very warm with a full house.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Great Performances, Disrespectful Audience,
May 06, 2008
reviewer: from Hartsdale, New York
Cat On A Hot Tin RoofSaturday 8pm, May3, 2008A well acted drama by "all performers." Boris Kodjoe played the role of Brick. There was obvious chemistry between the characters Big Daddy and Brick. Brick showed strong disdain for himself and of Maggie. Maggie was on fire spilling her emotions for all to hear and see. Unfortunately, the audience in the the back orchestra where we were sitting was a huge disappointment. At times the women in front of us were talking above Maggie in the first act. After asking for quiet during intermission we were greeted with the response "we paid our price for these tickets just like you.'' Sad to see this behavior. It is disrespectful to the audience and the actors.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Audiance Out of Control,
Mar 26, 2008
reviewer: from New York, New York
The play was wonderful and the acting superb, however, it was nearly impossible to hear half of what was being said (and I was sitting in 5th row orch.) for all the eating, talking, texting, and audience seating throughout the first act and long after both intermissions. Perhaps it would help if the management made a pre-curtain announcement instructing the audience in theatre etiquette. Unless something is done to rectify this situation it's not worth the $100.00 ticket price.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Brick Speak Up - Count Stovall as Big Daddy - NOT GOOD,
Apr 17, 2008
reviewer: from New York, New York
Ditto as other comments. We were in Orchestra seating on April 10th and could barely hear Brick. I saw Debbie Allen in the balcony - the pitch of his voice is too low. This is theater not a movie set - she should have corrected this by now. Further Count Stovall messed up his lines so much it drove Howard to start laughing. Not funny at over $100 per ticket. If you can't see it with James Earl Jones, lower your expectations. Everyone else seemed to be overacting to compensate for Stovall - perhaps Jones' stage presence was that missed? The gem was Maggie The Cat. Overall - not so impressed and expected to be!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 1 to 5 of 13 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | - View All    Next

Please note: The term Broadhurst Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Broadhurst Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Broadhurst Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date