Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

844-483-9008

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

219 West 49th Street, New York, NY 10019

Show poster

CHICAGO - THE MUSICAL

Now showing, Open Run

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating

"The musical, considered too dark when it failed in 1975, today seems right in keeping with hard-learned cynicism about the American justice system."

Variety

Buy Tickets For Chicago - The MusicalBuy Tickets
Avg. Customer Review (4.3 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 35
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 16 to 20 of 35 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Previous      Next

36 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
Amazing show,
May 31, 2010
reviewer: from Moscow, Russia
I was in Ambassador theater at Jan, 08, 2010, together with my friends. I was impressed, really. Ashlee Simpson was funny, other cast was brilliant. I am not a big fan of Musical as a genre, but when i come back to NYC, i come back to Ambassador and try to see chicago again.

 

PS - Deidre Goodwin, Brent Barrett and Roz Ryan - the best!!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Great show!,
Apr 25, 2010
reviewer: from Moscow, Russia
Me & my wife have seen Chicago on April, 24 2010 & totally loved it! The music and the actors were amazing. Bianca Marroquin was so marvellous playing the role of Roxy. She's a real star! Thanks for the wonderful evening!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
36 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
Michelle Williams was AWFUL,
Mar 19, 2010
reviewer: from Kennebunk, Maine
Unfortunately, if you put a mediocre performer next to phenomenal performers, she's going to look even worse than she is. Roxy was played by Michelle Williams (the least known Destiny's Child member) and she was beyond awful. The woman can't dance and can't act. Other than that, the show was great. Velma was amazing as were all the chorus members. I would have given it higher than 2.5 stars if Michelle Williams hadn't dragged the show down so much. If I were visiting NY, I would wait until they had someone else playing Roxy before buyint tickets to see chicago.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Stunning,
Feb 15, 2010
reviewer: from Bonnells Bay \"Down Under in Aussieland\"
After lining up at the box office,I was lucky enough to score a seat in August 2008. The whole New York scene for a visiting Aussie was enough to send the senses into orbit. The show was magnificent and I feel sorry for people who criticise and expect too much of the artists.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
36 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
Chicago with Ashlee Simpson-Wentz,
Jan 06, 2010
reviewer: from Massachusetts
Wow! My sister-in-law and I and our two daughters (16 and 13 years old) were very impressed with how Ashlee Simpson held her own on stage with both singing and dancing. All of us had loved the movie and had to get used to the theater format - which in the end we felt really did the musical justice. The music and acting were great. A minimalist approach, but not more was needed. Witty and wonderful show.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 16 to 20 of 35 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Previous      Next

Please note: The term Ambassador Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Ambassador Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Ambassador Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

Keep up to date