Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

NEW AMSTERDAM THEATER

214 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

MARY POPPINS

Ended 3 Mar 2013 after 6 years

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

It is a roof-raising, toe-tapping, high-flying extravaganza!

New York Daily

Closed 3 Mar 2013

Take a look here to see if Mary Poppins is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 88
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 26 to 30 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Wow! Wow! Wow!,
Jan 10, 2010
reviewer: from West Chester PA
Me being a guy (but still enjoying Broadway musicals) I was really surprised by Mary Poppins. I saw it with school on the same day after seeing the matinee of The Phantom of the Opera (second time seeing that amazing as always) But I expected Mary Poppins to be childish and girly. Boy was I wrong. The sets and effects are phenomenal! I've never seen anything like that. It was definately one of my faves! I'd reccomend seeing this! Also, the Hard Rock Cafe (which is where we ate) is right around the block from the theatre in Times Square!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Good Show POORLY RUN THEATER,
Dec 13, 2009
reviewer: from USA
The show was good. Second have more engaging than the first. The theater (mezzanine seats) was run more like a movie theater than a broadway show theater. People were allowed in well after the show began and you had to stand up to let them by. People in the middle of our row got up early to leave and it took them a while to get past because everyone had to stand up to let them by. Not one staff member said a word to them. Food and drink was allowed in the theater despite signs up everywhere saying it was not allowed. The theater staff was rude and seemed high school age.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Favorite Play of All Time,
Sep 30, 2009
reviewer: from Mt. Laurel, NJ, USA
I've been to a lot of plays and they have all been good but Mary Poppins is my favorite by far. The sets were out of this world, the magic that was threaded throughout was delightful, and the actors were all excellent. Mary Poppins was AMAZING! I saw the show at The New Amsterdam Theatre on 9/27/09 and HIGHLY recommend this play. The venue is gorgeous as well; prettier than any venue I've been in including the Academy of Music in Philly (which is great too). This play is a real winner. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Supercalifragilisticexpialadocious!,
Jul 16, 2009
reviewer: from IN USA
I recently took a trip to NYC and while there saw Marry Poppins, and I've got to say it was the best (and only) Broadway Musical I've ever seen! With the exception that the theatre was a little chilly I enjoyed every moment of it! Its wonderful for all ages. And whether you're a long time Marry Poppins lover you will deffinatly love it! I would never pass up a chance to go back and see it again!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Mary Poppins in May,
Jun 05, 2009
reviewer: from Pennsylvania
Two friends and I took my 7 year old daughter into NYC to see Mary Poppins (her first Broadway show) and WE ALL LOVED IT! My daughter was on the edge of her seat the entire time and didn't take her eyes off the stage for a second. I HIGHLY recommend this Broadway show!!!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 26 to 30 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

Please note: The term New Amsterdam Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the New Amsterdam Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the New Amsterdam Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date