Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

NEW AMSTERDAM THEATER

214 West 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

MARY POPPINS

Ended 3 Mar 2013 after 6 years

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

It is a roof-raising, toe-tapping, high-flying extravaganza!

New York Daily

Closed 3 Mar 2013

Take a look here to see if Mary Poppins is showing somewhere nearby

Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 88
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 76 to 80 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

107 of 119 people found the following review helpful:
mary poppins,
Nov 28, 2006
reviewer: from NEW YORK
mary poppin was amazing. the songs were amazing they were al catchy. ashley brown was the best fro teh role of mary poppins. the sets were amazing and very iteresting. i am gona see it agian. i am only 11 and i loved it and i wen tto the tonys soo i love broadway. and my grandma says i am a rally good crdict .

 

the show is supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

 

Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
excelent loved it,
Nov 28, 2006
reviewer: from new york
the best i have ver seen i saw many show but that was sthe best ever ashley brwon was amazing it was a five. the sets were amazing i have seen it 4 times already. dancing was amzing song were evan better than befor

 

supercalfragilisticexpialidocious ! spoon full of sugar
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Jane and Michael fans,
Nov 26, 2006
reviewer: from Moylan, PA, USA
The musical is amazing. We were in the very back row of the balcony (row M) but still felt engaged with actors. Our view was excellent. Special effects are amazing. Nursery scene with Temper, Temper is inappropriate for your children. We missed Sister Suffragette and Admial Boom's cannon but enjoyed the additions of the kitchen scene when Jane and Michael cause an explosion and the nursery scenes with their mother. Thanks for a wonderful afternoon!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Spectacular Tony Award Caliber Show!,
Nov 19, 2006
reviewer: from New York, New York
The musical numbers were fantastically entertaining, the cast worked in perfect harmony and the surprise "special effects" were amazing, especially at the end of the show. Mary Poppins definitely deserves to win the Tony for best musical!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Abandoned Performance of 10/26/06,
Oct 29, 2006
reviewer: from Manchester, England
Having travelled from the UK with this the highlight (wife's gift of choice - 40th Birthday celebration) - never dreamed this type of bad luck would happen to us on this day. An amazing Act 1. Told Act 2 is better but we cant say as we didnt see it - the 20 ton scenery for Cherry Tree Lane got stuck in S2 and after 20 mins we were told to go. Bravely, Thomas Schumacher (Pres. Disney Theatrical Productions) took to the stage and apologised, confirmed refunds adding "We would like to have you back here at our expense". Taken literally for us in the UK that would be a brilliant gesture. I'm writing to ask him to expand on that so maybe there will be a more positive review to follow. This looked like a 5 star show -we give it full marks for the first half.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 76 to 80 of 89 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | - View All Previous      Next

Please note: The term New Amsterdam Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the New Amsterdam Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the New Amsterdam Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date