Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

247 West 44th Street, New York, NY 10036

PHANTOM OF THE OPERA

Now showing, Open Run

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

With the distance of more than a decade - and a couple hundred new musicals - since my last visit, I found myself with a new appreciation for this beloved show's gothic theatricality

Charles Isherwood, The New York Times

Buy Tickets For Phantom of the OperaBuy Tickets
Avg. Customer Review (4.4 Stars):
Email a friend about this musical.
Number of Reviews: 206
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 21 to 25 of 210 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | Previous      Next

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Bummed, this phantom was not amazing :(,
May 09, 2014
reviewer: from Cincinnati, Ohio
If you have never seen other productions of the Phantom Of the Opera, and if this was your first time seeing it, then you probably thought it was fantastic but not knowing what the past shows were like let me just say that I have been to many other productions of Phantom and this one was a total disappointment and I was dissatisfied with it . The set was interesting but It did not have the grandeur of past sets & did not feel like broadway. Very lacking. No passion from the actors Singing was just ok I have heard better. Over all. I think it was poorly done. Costumes were disappointing and even more disappointing was Masquerade, no splendid costumes and grand staircase no crashing cymbals, not nearly good enough singing. Feeling so let down because I know how amazing the Phantom can be I've seen it ! And this show was anything but.So so dissatisfied and disappointed. What a bummer. I have seen it before and it was so much better in the past than in this production. Shame.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Disappointed in this version of Phantom.,
May 09, 2014
reviewer: from Cincinnati, Ohio
While it was a good show, it was Not a phenomenal show. The singing was good but I have heard better. I have seen better Productions of Broadway's Phantom of the Opera , this show was very different from past shows I have seen I did not think it was as well done and I was let down and disappointed. It felt like they did not want to put much money into this show.The set was revolving and though interesting didn't feel like a broadway set. The singing was good but not mind blowing I have seen and heard better. I didn't feel the passion from the actors in the lead roles. Costumes were not as good as in past either.Masquerade was a disappointment as well. No grand stair case or splendid costumes. No cymbals cashing not well enough singing. I guess if this was your first time seeing it you would have loved it but I have seen it many times before and this performance was a let down because the past Phantoms I have seen were just so phenomenal and amazing.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Disappointed in this version of Phantom.,
May 09, 2014
reviewer: from Cincinnati, Ohio
While it was a good show, it was Not a phenomenal show. The singing was good but I have heard better. I have seen better Productions of Broadway's Phantom of the Opera , this show was very different from past shows I have seen I did not think it was as well done and I was let down and disappointed. It felt like they did not want to put much money into this show.The set was revolving and though interesting didn't feel like a broadway set. The singing was good but not mind blowing I have seen better. I didn't feel the passion from the actors in the lead roles. Costumes were not as good as in past either.Masquerade was a disappointment as well. No grand stair case or splendid costumes. No cymbals cashing not well enough singing. I guess if this was your first time seeing it you would have loved it but I have seen it many times before and this performance was a let down because the past Phantoms I have seen were just so phenomenal and amazing.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
This phantom was different than past shows I've seen.5/8/14,
May 09, 2014
reviewer: from Cincinnati, Ohio
May 8 2014- Just got home from seeing the Phantom of the opera in Cincinnati ,It was a very good show but very different than the past shows I have seen of Broadway's Phantom. Not sure if I liked it as well. It was a good production no doubt. Singing was good but I have been to many performances and they have been phenomenal so I was a bit let down by this show. I have seen better broadway productions of the phantom of the opera so tonights show was a bit disappointing to me maybe because I've seen other phantom shows that were better than tonight's . I did love the piano and fire scene that was different and I liked it and I liked the flames on stage too that was cool! I would recommend seeing it though, the music was terrific. The set was good but very different than any other show I've seen. The costumes were good but again better in past productions. Still if you can go see it it's worth it . I recommend it.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
This phantom was different than past shows I've seen.5/8/14,
May 09, 2014
reviewer: from Cincinnati, Ohio
May 8 2014- Just got home from seeing the Phantom of the opera in Cincinnati ,It was a very good show but very different than the past shows I have seen of Broadway's Phantom. Not sure if I liked it as well. It was a good production no doubt. Singing was good but I have been to many performances and they have been phenomenal so I was a bit let down by this show. It was a great show but I have seen better broadway productions of the phantom of the opera so it was a bit disappointing to me maybe because I've seen other phantom shows that were better than tonight's . I did love the piano and fire scene that was different and I liked it I liked the flames on stage too that was cool! I would recommend seeing it though, it was a good show but I have seen better shows and so was a bit let down. The set was good but very different than any other show I've seen. The costumes were good but again better in past productions.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 21 to 25 of 210 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | Previous      Next

Please note: The term Majestic Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Majestic Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Majestic Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

Keep up to date