Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

844-483-9008

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York

138 West 48th Street, New York, NY 10036

Show poster

FENCES

Ended 10 Jul 2010 after 2 months

star ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar ratingstar rating
Tony Winner

Tony Winner

Mr. Washington and Ms. Davis prove that lovers don't have to be as young and star-crossed as Romeo and Juliet to generate shiver-making heat and pathos.

Ben Brantley, New York Times

Closed 10 Jul 2010
Avg. Customer Review (4.6 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 31
Printer friendly format

Write an online review and share your thoughts.



Showing 11 to 15 of 31 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Previous      Next

35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Great experience,
Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: from Peterborough, England
Saw this show on June 1st. I've always been a big Denzel fan but hadn't known he did live theatre. We were taken as a surprise by friends and it was the best surprise I've had for years. The tickets were worth every penny (or dollar). The entire cast were fantastic, the theatre was very intimate which made you feel as if you were almost part of the story and Denzel was just stunning. Very simple scenery but used to marvellous effect. My 18 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed it too although I feel it would be too deep for most children. Would recommend it to all adults and if given the opportunity would perhaps consider another viewing.
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
What a Play, What a performance,
Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: from Black Mountain, NC, USA
Wow! I have always been a Denzel fan, his performance in this play was out of sight... Ms. Davis and the supporting cast was beyond description... This is a must see play... It is well deserving of its 10 Tony award nominations!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Top of the line performance!,
Jun 07, 2010
reviewer: from NY
I was fortunate enough to see my favorite actor in person, on stage and he did not disappoint for one minute. The rest of the cast was superb as well but I must point out that Viola Davis was gripping, she made me cry....I felt everything her character felt. I would recommend this play for anyone and especially those that don't think it can be entertaining to go to the Theatre, this play definitely suspends your disbelief!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
35 of 47 people found the following review helpful:
Amazing,
Jun 06, 2010
reviewer: from Bermuda
I flew all the way from Bermuda to see the play Fences and of course Denzel on June 2, 2010. Denzel, Viola and the entire cast did a brillant job of mesmerizing me. I enjoyed the entire play from cast, to set to venue. Seeing Denzel in person was a treat and I expect he will do well at the Tony Awards. If I am able to get tickets for Fences I will see it again before it finishes; money well spent!
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
36 of 48 people found the following review helpful:
Mind blowing,
Jun 03, 2010
reviewer: from Chicago, Illinois
Love August Wilson's plays and have read them all as well as seen most of them in Chicago. This was outstanding. Spellbinding throughout and well acted by Denzel. This is a must see while in New York! We were lucky enough to get the last seats in the last row of the theatre. No problem with the sightlines and no problem hearing and seeing the action. Don't worry about where you sit, just see it!

 

Ide Cohen
Was this review helpful to you?   (Report this)
Showing 11 to 15 of 31 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | Previous      Next

Please note: The term Cort Theater as well as all associated graphics, logos, and/or other tradermarks, tradenames or copyrights are the property of the Cort Theater and are used herein for factual descriptive purposes only. We are in no way associated with or authorized by the Cort Theater and neither that entity nor any of its affiliates have licensed or endorsed us to sell tickets, goods and or services in conjunction with their events.

What's on When

You might also like:

Keep up to date