Categories

Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Let It Be
Avg. Customer Review (2.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 18
Email a friend about this .
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 18 of 18 reviews
Back to Paged View  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Loved the Show, Oct 30, 2013
reviewer: Abbey from New York, New York
I am not much of a Beatles fan but my husband is. We both enjoyed the show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Sloppy , Aug 06, 2013
reviewer: Zeck and Beth from New Jersey
Saw let it be opening week, I am a huge Beatles fan and am amused at comments you need to be a senior to get the music, The nearest thing to seeing The Beatles live come on already that's watching Sir Paul McCartney who as performed all of the songs in the show live and is amazing! The fifth Beatle if the actor is playing George Martin then he should be behind a mixing desk the later beatles songs should feature thr otherr fifth beatle Billy Preston who played and sang on Abbey Road and Let It Be. As for comments its racist to comment that a white actor should play a African-American, would there not be an uproar if John Lennon was played woman? It all just goes to show how poorly thought out this production is its nothing new just Rain repackaged and sold back with a British flag attached. The guy playing Paul reeds to use more gaffer tape on the toupee too it all but fell off and opening night his British Liverpool accent is also very like the show lame Go see McCartney

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Forget all the negativity - judge for yourself , Aug 04, 2013
reviewer: Stephen C. from Vancouver B.C.
August 3, 2013 Went to see Let it Be in NYC last might, knowing that it was essentially a "Beatles" concert by a tribute band, with no story per se. Was not disappointed in the least, had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the evening. A bit like attending the Beatles concert that I never had the chance to attend. I was only 13 (my wife was only 10) & had no money in August 1964 when the Beatles played Empire Stadium in Vancouver, B.C. Most people forget (or are too young to remember) that the Beatles only toured for a couple of years in North America in the mid-1960s before becoming essentially a studio band. Therefore, unless you are at least 65 years old (I am 62) you are probably too young to have ever had the opportunity to hear the Beatles live. I am thinking that many of the negative comments are coming from those too young to know? Now is it Motown, which we saw the night before, no it is not. It was entertaining nevertheless in its own way. Top notch musicians & vocals.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Had a Fun Night, Aug 03, 2013
reviewer: Julie from New York, New York
We brought our 14 year old son to NYC and decided to bring him to "Let It Be" last night. We all had a great time! I was not looking for an exact replica of the band so the details about Billy Preston and playing with the right hand vs the left hand didn't bother me. If you want to have fun this is a good show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Let it be , Aug 01, 2013
reviewer: Jackie Cohen from Manhattan, New York
Saw this and I to take offence to a white musician playing an African-American the fact if Billy Preston played on Abbey Road and Let It Be George Martin was the producer, he did play on any of the Bearles Albums. The white fifth Beatle was the final straw in what is just Rain remixed an insult and a rip off!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Let it be , Aug 01, 2013
reviewer: Jackie Cohen from Manhattan, New York
Saw this and I too take offence to a white musician playing an African-American the fact is Billy Preston played on Abbey Road and Let It Be George Martin was the producer, he did not play on any of the Bearles Albums. The white fifth Beatle was the final straw in what turned to be just Rain remixed - an insult and a rip off!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Good fun, Aug 01, 2013
reviewer: Bernie Hanratty from New York, New York
I came on to write a review about the show, but I'm horrified at people's reaction to the white guy! Appalling! I find it incredibly racist of these people, complaining about a white guy playing keys. It shouldn't matter what colour this person is, the show is about the music and the guy is certainly not playing Billy Preston in the show at all. In fact, when he played 'In my life' and was introduced as 'George Martin', I don't suppose people realise that it actually was George Martin that played the solo on the record! It's very unfortunate that some people would actually think that 'Let it Be' is in any way racist, by simply hiring a white musician who isn't even playing Billy Preston anyway! What a shame opinions like this spoil it for everyone else. Go see it and enjoy the music!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Very Good Evening, Jul 30, 2013
reviewer: Brett McCormick from New York, New York
I thought this show was a great evening out for my wife and myself. Yes, I was surprised that there was no story but it didn't really matter to us, as we're massive Beatles fans and I'd rather hear the music than a plot. I found the previous reviews fairly humourous regarding the white guy playing Billy Preston. I read the playbill and the guy isn't an actor at all, he's a session musician who plays on other shows on Broadway. I don't think he's supposed to be playing Billy at all, in fact at one stage, the McCartney actor calls him their very own George Martin, who, from memory, is a white guy. I think the comment that the show is watering down 'African American' contribution to popular music is ill-founded and extremely narrow minded. I'd recommend this show for an authentic tribute to the Beatles, but not if you like a story.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Let it be , Jul 28, 2013
reviewer: Unhappy fans from New York
We saw Rain two seasons ago and love it, while Lt It Be is basically Rain, it is Rain with all soul and humour ripped out! The preformers are tired and old looking the vocals were pitchy! We left after 40 minutes, escaping during twist & shout. We wouldn't recommend the show, but we would; 5 Napkin Burger. A great place to eat and down a few beers post 'show'

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Poor effort , Jul 25, 2013
reviewer: Zuzi & Lenny from Queens, New York
No story robotic and out of tune singing, while Jamie Fox playing Paul failed to nail his high notes We expected so much more, but let it be turned out to be nothing more than a cheap copy of Rain. Avoid this production its not good as Rain was and that wasn't all that and a bag of chips

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING...., Jul 25, 2013
reviewer: Michelle from New York, New York
I was invited to the show the day of. My cousin's husband purchased a ticket for me, what a truly amazing show, I am so glad I was able to experience it. This is defiantly a must see!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING...., Jul 25, 2013
reviewer: Michelle from New York, New York
I was invited to the show the day of. My cousin's husband purchased a ticket for me, what a truly amazing show, I am so glad I was able to experience it. This is defiantly a must see!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Unintentionally funny , Jul 25, 2013
reviewer: Randy & Richie from Harlem, New York
My hubs and I were given tickets to see Let It Be on opening night it was not out "cup of Tea" "direct from England" or not. It is not a musical in any sense of the word It is an odd show the opening two acts are dull and boring no one looks like their Beatle other than the hottie playing Ringo! The later Hippy years are hilarious the wigs and moustaches are terrible and on opening night Paul's wig made a break fof freedom. It had the right idea!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Unintentionally funny , Jul 25, 2013
reviewer: R & R from New York
My hubs and I were given tickets to see Let It Be on opening night it was not out "cup of Tea" "direct from England" or not. It is not a musical in any sense of the word, which is what we expected from a Broadway transfer of a West End show, but instead we saw an odd show the opening two acts are dull and boring no one looks like their Beatle other than the hottie playing Ringo . The later Hippy years are hilarious the wigs and moustaches are terrible and on opening night Paul's made a break for it hanging off the back of the actor bold head for all it was worth Not for us sorry

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Shameful , Jul 24, 2013
reviewer: James from New York City , New York
The claims that is as close to The Beatles concert they never played as possible are outragous! Billy Preston who played on Abbey Road and Let It Be and was consided by The Beatles to be the fifth member is played by a white actor? Using a right handed actor to play Paul may be considered reasonable completely getting someone's color wrong is not! I hope my fellow New Yorkers vote with their feet and avoid a show which is attempting to wipe out the African-American contribution to the greatest band in the world

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Great night, Jul 24, 2013
reviewer: Nick from New York, New York
Fab night! Thought Lennon and especially the guy playing McCartney was great. Didn't care that he was right handed. Would go again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

let it be is; not poor tribute, Jul 23, 2013
reviewer: Disgusted Lennon & McCartney fans from New York, New York
we went to see Let it be and feel unimpressed the show is simply 'Rain' with new actors The music of the Beatles is fantastic as always, but there's is no story and the early music is handled poorly all crash bang wallop Our main points of complaint are: Paul is right handed and looks and sounds very little like the real Paul McCartney Worse still is American 5th Beatle Billy Preston is played by a white actor!

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Beatles , Jul 22, 2013
reviewer: Ken Farraway from New York City
I was super excited to see Let It Be, but felt very letdown it is just a reheated version of Rain a tribute to the Beatles, which has already played on Broadway. It is just a concert there is no story and the outfits and wigs are less than groovy Beatles music is fab - Let It Be as a musical isn't. Would recommend John's Pizzeria for an after show bite to eat

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 18 of 18 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review