Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Perfect Crime
(0.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 8
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
 


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A crime to pay to see this, Apr 14, 2014
reviewer: M Huron from New York, New York
Spoilers broadcasting in the entryway should have been my first clue. The lead may have been in her role for over 25 years, and it shows! Shrill delivery, over-acting, and unbelievable interaction is the norm. Do not waste your money or time (if you get tickets for free!!). If there were a rating of negative stars, this would get them all.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Do not waste your money...., Jan 17, 2014
reviewer: NYCactor from New York, New York
I selected this play because it was inexpensive. It was a gift from my family who took me. I do not understand how this play is still running after 26 years. It is convoluted and the script is in need of a re=write to clarify many elements. The 3 men were fine, but the lead actress was horrible. I don't say this lightly, but as an actor myself, I cannot imagine how this person got this job!!! She had a blinking/eye squeezing problem, she steam rolled over everyone's lines, acted with NO feeling at anytime and for the love of God - when the phone rings, or when you are dialing it, PLEASE wait to connect to the imaginary person!!!!!! I was so excited to see this, what a disappointment...

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

bad, bad and more bad, Nov 21, 2013
reviewer: NY girl from New York, New York
Walked out after intermission. I've never done this before. Over acting and boring!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

They should pay the audience for sitting thru this!, Jul 30, 2013
reviewer: Chris from Chicago, Il
Waste of time and money, almost fell asleep during this. It obviously has not gotten any better than any of the past reviews indicate. Over acted...an understatement! The story is hard to follow as was much of the dialogue hard to understand, actors slur their words too much. We sat in second row on a recent trip to NY, and the lead actress seems to be rather old looking...or had a bad make up job..or both. I clapped at the end not because I liked the show it was becuase I was glad it was over and me and my friends could escape. We walked back to our hotel speechless at such a waste of money, Time for a new cast or to retire this show. I have seem high school students put on better shows.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

why didn't this close after 1 performance?, Mar 28, 2013
reviewer: Emily Miranda from New York, New York
I have seen plays that received rave reviews and I didn't think they were that good but I don't understand how anyone with brain waves could say this is even watchable. I was waiting for the play to pick up or become interesting and months later I am still waiting. Does the playwright also own the theatre? I don't get it but please don't waste your money on this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Trash, Dec 06, 2011
reviewer: Steve and Dawn from Ottawa Canada
Dont bother. Catherine Russell has done it so often, she starts her lines before the previous actor has finished talking. Very small, old theater with noise and vibrations from outside. Its a "Perfect Crime" alright because the plot is so convoluted that its impossible to follow. There were only about 40 other suckers in the audience, so at least we had good seats. No lineups for washroom or at the bar. Stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Unwitting victims . . ., Aug 26, 2010
reviewer: Chris & Maura from Vancouver, BC, Canada
. . . of the perfect crime: we actually paid money to see this excuse for drama. Was the cast on drugs or just as numb as the audience? We should have found a painting project and watched the paint dry.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

So bad it's bad, May 26, 2010
reviewer: Sean Morrow from Toronto, Ontario
Got tricked into going to this turkey by the discount ticket kiosk girl who said it was like a cross between CSI and a horror movie. Well, it was a horror. Over acted, under written and poorly directed, this play is total amateur hour that would put a high school group to shame.

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

A WORD TO THE WISE, Oct 14, 2009
reviewer: Sherry and Gina from Washington, DC, area
Without a doubt, this is the worst excuse for a play we have ever sat through. Even though most of the small audience left before the end, we stuck it out, mesmerized by its awfulness. In the elevator on the way out, those of us who lasted until the bitter end all wondered how this "mystery" had endured for so long. A word to the wise: save your money and stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review