Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Mary Poppins
Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 88
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 89 of 89 reviews
Back to Paged View  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

beautiful and SAD, Jan 30, 2013
reviewer: MARCO from New York, New York
Hello My name is Marco, first would like to congratulate your work, mary poppins is undoubtedly the best show I attended. Yesterday I, my wife and my daughters, 9 and 4 years we were watching the show from 1900 PM. Everything was wonderful, beautiful theater, atenciososos staff, comfortable chairs,.... The problem was that my 4 year old daughter for being tired started making a lot of noise, we had to leave the theater in the second act. We were very sad because I could not attend the second act. He sat in the chair P27 ORCHESTRA LEFT, you can confirm with employees and security yesterday, my daughter was a good time in the bathroom of the theater crying and asking to watch Mary Poppins. Unfortunately I could not go back because it was bothering other people. My daughter is 4 and my wife were very sad not to have seen the end. I have no more money to buy new tickets. Perhaps you could offer two tickets for my wife and my 9 year old daughter (who was very sad) to watch Mary Poppins.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

génial, Dec 30, 2012
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York
On rentre de new york, et on a vu ce spectacle SUPERcalifragilisticexpialidocious. Décors,voix, danses, rythme, trucages tout est génial. Un peu différent de la version Disney , ya comme un nany Mac fee a un moment ,mais on comprend bien meme sans etre bilingue. Vivement que ce soit à Paris ou en france

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic, Aug 19, 2012
reviewer: Jonathan from Montclair, NJ
If there were more stars to rate, this musical would get them all!!!!! I was bought to my feet at the end of the show and was almost too sad to see the show end. It brought back many of memories of watching the movie! Remove your children from in front of the tube and take them to see this wonderful musical and enjoy the enchanting atmosphere that will bring you and your family closer!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

First broadway show and the overall experience was Fantastic, Jul 31, 2012
reviewer: Cynthia Bunnay from Florida
I would definitely recommend the live show full of magic and surprises to anyone of any age. The actors and hard working people who work behind the scene obviously do their best to give a quality show. The cast and crew were able to create a magical and flawless show. The work staff of the New Amsterdam theater were even more surprising. I have disabilities and I didn't quite get to enjoy the entire show because the cold causes severe pain to my body. I asked if I could get some sort of blanket from the closest usher to me and she helpfully sent me directly to the Tim the Manager. Waiting for Tim in concessions, an usher named Adam noticed my pain and engaged me in enjoyable conversation and sincerely wished he could help me in some way. Met Tim who was incredibly friendly and helpful- he asked the engineers to change the temperature of the seating area I was in! I was able to enjoy the show much more and both Tim and Adam followed up with me to make sure I was enjoying the show.=)

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Delightful!, Feb 29, 2012
reviewer: Susan Wesley from Waterbury,Connecticut
It was a heartwarming surprise to,upon arrival to the theater,after waiting in line with hundreds of elementary aged children,to find these children to be more courteous and seasoned theatergoers.They were a great audience,more than I can say for the group of seniors I attended with.The theater staff were attentive,polite and profficient.Thank you so much for a great day!My niece will be visiting through the month of June,from Dallas,we will be back!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Capture Your Inner Child, Feb 22, 2012
reviewer: Laura Ann Osterman from Oro Valley, AZ
I saw it in NYC at the New Amsterdam Theater and I ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!! :) Amazing performance with an excellent cast. Spectacular set design and fabulous energy! When Mary Poppins, Laura, flew up and over the audience, it reminded me of how I felt when I first saw her fly in the movie! Watching Bert climb the wall and dance on the ceiling was really neat too. Just an absolutely BREATHTAKING musical! :) We had seats in the Mezzanine, BB 6 and 8, and we felt like we had the best seats in the house. LOVED IT! If you loved the movie, you will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the musical. I highly recommend to put it on your BUCKET LIST. (--, :)

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

the best yet, Feb 04, 2012
reviewer: DENISE from PA
THIS WAS A TRUELY WONDERFUL MUSICAL...MORE THAN THAT IS WAS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL THEATER I HAVE EVER BEEN IN...THE DETAILING AND CRAFTMENSHIP IN THE WOOD WORK WAS STUNNING...THE STAGE CREW DID SUCH A GREAT JOB WITH THE SCENERY, I WASNT SURE THEY WOULD DO JUSTICE TO THE MOVIE..THEY DIDNT DISSAPPOINT. HIGHLY RECCOMMOND...WE DONT EVEN HAVE KIDS

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Super Mary Marvelous Bert, Nov 12, 2011
reviewer: C Kemp from Florida
The show was----well--supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Outstanding, Oct 22, 2011
reviewer: Matt from Canal Fulton, OH
Without a doubt, this show was the highlight of our NYC experience! The voice of Mary Poppins, the character development, Bert, the kids, the old maid, the score, the sets; I can't say enough. I was floored! My thanks and congratulations goes out to everyone in the production. It was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Outstanding, Oct 22, 2011
reviewer: Matt from Canal Fulton, OH
Without a doubt, this show was the highlight of our NYC experience! The voice of Mary Poppins, the character development, Bert, the kids, the old maid, the score, the sets; I can't say enough. I was floored! My thanks and congratulations goes out to everyone in the production. It was fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Not Value for money, Oct 16, 2011
reviewer: Babs from UK
The show was completely spoilt for me and my daughter by the overacting and dreadful accent and diction of Brigid Harrington. We had always wanted to go to a Broadway show and were looking forward so much to seeing Mary Poppins. What a complete waste of money. Mary was very good as were the dancers but this child who played Jane completely spoilt the show for us. We did make a complaint at the interval.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I'm still really into it!, Aug 26, 2011
reviewer: Becky from Korea
I saw Mary Poppins in late July, but I am still really into the musical! It was the best thing I did in New York. If you're hasitating, don't do that! Just go and get it. You'll love it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

hand clapping, wonderful! But.., May 26, 2011
reviewer: anonymous from New York
We loved the precision, aliveness, scenes and sets.We loved clapping the last 5 minutes, really getting into the music, and the vitality of the dancing. But, WHY did they feel they had to make such an inappropriate scene of basically nude statues coming to life and dancing so shamelessly. I would definitely not have wanted a child of mine (or anyone's) to see that scene. I was disgusted and embarrassed to see it. Cheap shot to attract people who normally wouldn't want to watch a fun, innocent show? They know that those that do want the nice, will come anyway. The same way Hollywood throws trash into an otherwise great show. The trash having no relation to the show at all.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING, Apr 06, 2011
reviewer: Megg from Philadelphia, Pennsylvainia
the show was AMAZING. I had a blast, the special effects baffled me! I would go again in an instant. I absolutly loved it! If you wanna go to broadway, go see Mary Poppins!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Perfect 1st. Broadway show for our 9yr. old!, Mar 25, 2011
reviewer: Mary from Seattle, WA
We saw the Tues. night performance and it was simply AMAZING! The entire cast gave top-notch performances and our 9yr. old daughter was blown away by all the wonderful special effects and scenery...Thank you for making her first Broadway show a truly wonderful experience that she will never forget;-) We highly recommend this show to EVERYONE!!! ~ Curtis Family, Seattle, WA

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

loved it!, Jan 05, 2011
reviewer: the fuersts from Anytown, AT 55555
my sisters and i saw this show last night and all loved it to pieces. the sets were incredible, the acting/singing/dancing were all flawless, and the theater itself was absolutely gorgeous. everything flowed together seamlessly and you could tell how much everyone genuinely loved what they were doing. we had all seen the movie from when we were kids and the only things missing were the number with uncle albert, i love to laugh, and the lullaby, stay awake. still the show was wonderful and we had the best time! bravo! :)

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A Wonderful Thanksgiving, Dec 29, 2010
reviewer: ted c from charlottesville, va
We saw Mary Poppins on the Friday after Thanksgiving. My family and I had the best time at your show and I commend the cast and crew for putting on such a great production. It was something that my 3 daughters will always cherish as a great memory. Thank you and bravo!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Laughter and Tears, Dec 03, 2010
reviewer: Mariann Crandall from Pennsylvania
My name is Mariann I am 30 years old and I bought 2 tickets for my sister and I for her 24th Birthday. We had the most wonderful time, the show was absolutely amazing. We felt like chidlren again. The emotions that I felt throughout the show took me by surprise, I never thought that one show could make laugh and cry and at the end feel like I have a completley differnt view on life. I am now going to take more time to smell the roses and spend quality time with my loved ones. Thank you to the whole cast of Mary Poppins you were all "practically Perfect" in every way!! I can't wait to tell friends and family how GREAT this show was and recommend that they go and see it. This was a special moment that my sister and I will cherish forever.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Fell in love with Mary Poppins all over again, Aug 24, 2010
reviewer: Maureen from NJ
My daughter and I saw Mary Poppins this past Saturday night in honor of her 15th birthday. I was a little skeptical of who would be able to fill Julie Andrew's very big shoes in the role of Mary -but both my daughter and I could not believe how great not only Mary (Laura Kelly) was-but also the rest of the cast. The sets were fantastic and the musical numbers/dance sets were excellent-we were clapping along from our fantastic front row seats. PS the child actors completely held their own with the adults, all great singers! GO!! it's great for kids and any adult who was mesmerized by Mary as a child!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Practially Perfect in Every Way!!, Jul 13, 2010
reviewer: KatSmack from Miami, FL USA
Breathtaking, amazing, awe-inspiring, silly, animated, nostalgic.... Laura Michelle Kelly was the loveliest of lovely Mary Poppins. The whole cast rocked.... And I must say that recreating such a legendary childhood musical can be risky, but WOW, we were blown away. Would see it again and again. Three cheers!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Super... fragilisticexpialidocious, May 30, 2010
reviewer: Terry and Jack from Williamsburg, VA USA
Phenomenal acting and stagecraft. Musical numbers are over the top. We are senior citizens. The large high school group near us enjoyed it as much as we did. Seats in the forward mezzanine gave us an excellent view of the stage. Our only regret was that we could not see the performance again during our stay in NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Three generations were enchanted!, Apr 22, 2010
reviewer: B. E. Maxwell from Rocky Hill CT
I experienced Mary Poppins on Tuesday April 20, 2010 with my twenty-six year old daughter and my six year old granddaughter. Three generations sat spellbound with delight while a profound and lovely magic unfolded. A childlike sense of wonder was inspired in each of us. Pamela Travers would be proud. The sets were magical and the the illusion of flight was sustained beautifully. This story strikes a chord of deep need within the human heart and the play delivers on its every resonance and subtlety. Bruce Maxwell (Author of the Faerie Door, Harcourt Houghton Mifflin 2008)

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Magic!, Apr 14, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
We watched the performance last Saturday 10 April. It was absolutely fantastic! The acting, the singing, the magic, it took my breath away! At 53, I felt almost sick with anticipation:) and it was the most unforgettable evening of our stay in New York. Since then I have been humming, singing, dancing and watching evrything I can on Youtube about Mary Poppins, the show, the actors ... Moved to tears (feed the birds), laughing aloud, not knowing where to look first. Thank you very much for one of the best performances I saw in years.....

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, Mar 28, 2010
reviewer: mary from germany
we saw mary poppins on 19, march 2010. it was practically perfect in every way :-) sarah m.kelly is mary poppins!!!!!! the show was breathtaking!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Beware of Site Information, Feb 25, 2010
reviewer: Lee from Scottsdale, AZ
Great show! Seen it several times with my family. Choreography and music are wonderful! Beware of information on this site...it is incorrect. Children under 4 ARE admitted, but must have ticket. Showtimes are not accurate. There IS a show on April 30 and only 1 show on April 26.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Wow! Wow! Wow!, Jan 10, 2010
reviewer: Michael from West Chester PA
Me being a guy (but still enjoying Broadway musicals) I was really surprised by Mary Poppins. I saw it with school on the same day after seeing the matinee of The Phantom of the Opera (second time seeing that amazing as always) But I expected Mary Poppins to be childish and girly. Boy was I wrong. The sets and effects are phenomenal! I've never seen anything like that. It was definately one of my faves! I'd reccomend seeing this! Also, the Hard Rock Cafe (which is where we ate) is right around the block from the theatre in Times Square!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Good Show POORLY RUN THEATER, Dec 13, 2009
reviewer: Jason Miklowcic from USA
The show was good. Second have more engaging than the first. The theater (mezzanine seats) was run more like a movie theater than a broadway show theater. People were allowed in well after the show began and you had to stand up to let them by. People in the middle of our row got up early to leave and it took them a while to get past because everyone had to stand up to let them by. Not one staff member said a word to them. Food and drink was allowed in the theater despite signs up everywhere saying it was not allowed. The theater staff was rude and seemed high school age.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Favorite Play of All Time, Sep 30, 2009
reviewer: Brie Messier from Mt. Laurel, NJ, USA
I've been to a lot of plays and they have all been good but Mary Poppins is my favorite by far. The sets were out of this world, the magic that was threaded throughout was delightful, and the actors were all excellent. Mary Poppins was AMAZING! I saw the show at The New Amsterdam Theatre on 9/27/09 and HIGHLY recommend this play. The venue is gorgeous as well; prettier than any venue I've been in including the Academy of Music in Philly (which is great too). This play is a real winner. Enjoy!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Supercalifragilisticexpialadocious!, Jul 16, 2009
reviewer: Chelsie from IN USA
I recently took a trip to NYC and while there saw Marry Poppins, and I've got to say it was the best (and only) Broadway Musical I've ever seen! With the exception that the theatre was a little chilly I enjoyed every moment of it! Its wonderful for all ages. And whether you're a long time Marry Poppins lover you will deffinatly love it! I would never pass up a chance to go back and see it again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Mary Poppins in May, Jun 05, 2009
reviewer: Kelly from Pennsylvania
Two friends and I took my 7 year old daughter into NYC to see Mary Poppins (her first Broadway show) and WE ALL LOVED IT! My daughter was on the edge of her seat the entire time and didn't take her eyes off the stage for a second. I HIGHLY recommend this Broadway show!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A Breathe of Fresh Air! Bravo!, May 11, 2009
reviewer: Joni & Katie from Lincoln Maine
Amazing! This show is great for all ages! The performers were very captivating. The overall performance was truly a memorable one. We saw it in April and we are still talking about it. It is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Practically Perfect? No, It's Positively Perfect!, May 08, 2009
reviewer: Anonymous from Austin, Texas
As a business executive recently in NYC with my family, we were invited to see Mary Poppins following dinner one evening. I arrived at the New Amsterdam Theatre thinking Mary Poppins to be a kids show. And it is, in part. Surprisingly, its timeless message really sort of pierced my soul, for I can easily be like Mary Poppins' employer Mr. Banks. But after the show, I left the theater feeling like Bert. This wonderful musical, so brilliantly staged in every respect, is nothing short of positively perfect. It was a joy to make a family memory of a wonderful evening with Mary Poppins, Bert, and the entire cast. Special credit goes to its stars, Scarlett Strallen (Mary Poppins) and Adam Fiorentino (Bert), both of whom captivated our enjoyment with their flawless and stellar performances. We nearly came out of our seats when Bert danced around the proscenium. And Mary Poppins herself took our hearts aloft as she flew through the end number. A must see on Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing beyond imagination!, Apr 19, 2009
reviewer: J Kirby from Dalton GA
Mary Poppins was one of THE most amazing things I've ever seen in my life! I was so impressed by EVERY SINGLE aspect of this play! Just amazing. I didn't want it to end! It was beyond reality. Just amazing. The theater was SO beautiful and detailed. I definitely recomment this to EVERYONE visiting NYC, and I will see it the next time I go!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

The Best, Mar 29, 2009
reviewer: Linda from Lewiston, ME
I have to admit this was a superb show. I was amazed from start to finish. The sets, costumes and performers were all top notch. I flew in from Maine that morning with relatives just to see the show and flew back that night. I was definetly not one bit disappointed. Thank you for a terrific New York Day

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fabulous, Mar 18, 2009
reviewer: Helen from England, UK
This show is a must see. The cast, set, costumes, everything were amazing, I wanted to see Phantom originally but am so glad I didn't miss this. Thoroughly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING!!!, Feb 20, 2009
reviewer: Corey I. from Ithaca, NY
I saw this play for the first time on February 18th and it was amazing. I would recommend it's a must see show. It's a nice family show and keeps you on the edge of your seat the whole time. I loved it and i'm sure lots of others will too.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

MARY POPPINS IS GREAT, Nov 12, 2008
reviewer: Elvis Bailey from Hamilton, AL
November 8, 2008 We went to the 2:00 pm show and had never attended a Broadway show before. This was a great treat for our group of 52 7th graders and adults. We did not know what to expect and we blown away by the sound, the stage, and the actors. I have gained an new and higher appreciation for actors and actresses who struggle to pay bills and live in NYC in order to do this. I'm sure they make good money, but they were really great in my opinion. I'm am currently trying to work out another trip to NYC to bring my daughter who is 5 to see the play in the next 6 months. Thanks for making our trip grand.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

so entertaining!, Oct 23, 2008
reviewer: cynthia from usa
great! colorful, imaginative, great singing, dancing... what a delight. also upbeat!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

It was supercalifragilisticexpialidocious, Oct 23, 2008
reviewer: J. Roma from Endicott, NY USA
I saw the show this past june with my school and it was the best show i have ever seen. i am a senior at union endicott high school in endicott ny and have been stage managing our school productions since i have been in 7th grade and my dream is to someday work backstage on broadway for a show like mary poppins if you have any suggestions of schools or jobs i'm open for ideas i will be coming to see the show again this june again with a different group in my school. Ashley Brown and Gavin Lee are the best of the best and could never be replaced in the show...You guys are awesome and i can't wait to see you again keep up the great work

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

not a sissy play, Aug 19, 2008
reviewer: Andy from Salt Lake City, UT USA
I took two of my buddies, real manly men who thought this would be a kiddie or girlish play. They were blown away (so was I) at how well done this was. By the middle of the play we were all giggling like sissies with delight. What an awesome play!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

excellent, Aug 11, 2008
reviewer: dave from north, uk
Myself and my wife visited New York for our honemoon and my wife chose Mary Poppins as the show she wanted to see whilst we were visiting. I myslef wasnt that bothered about seeing a show as its not my thing really, I like to think of myslef as a manly kind of guy who wouldnt normally dream of going to a show but this show has given me the bug! I was enthralled from start to finish, i couldnt fault the music, actors, scenery, script, story or any part, it was fantastic. My only negative for the whole experiance though would be the uncomfortable seats which were $96! But if you can put up with limited leg room for a couple of hours then get yourself and your friends down to the New Amsterdam. (blokes out there dont think your too manly it was cool, take the missus itll put you in her good books and Mary Poppins is hot!!)

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Eccezionale!! Stupendo!!, Aug 07, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I'm italian... this show is very super... this actors is great... thank's to all company for those moments!! I'll never can forget this show... thanks!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

GREAT SHOW, HORRIFYING SEATS!!!, Aug 05, 2008
reviewer: Andrea from Bristol Pa
My daughter and I loved this show but the seats (balcony level) are near impossible to fit into. I had recent knee surgery and NEVER thought that the seats would be SO close together. Thanks to the nice people on the end who switched seats with us so I could extend my leg into the aisle.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Mary Poppins show is practically perfect in every way!, Jul 30, 2008
reviewer: Elina B. from USA
Mary Poppins is my favorite childhood character. I recently saw this show with my 6 year old son.I have her book and a video. I used to work in the kindergarden, fly on stairs in our home so everybody calls me a real life Mary Poppins.She is magical, beutifull, confident and supercalifragilisticexpialidocous! I always remembered it is not what you do but how you carry yourself. See you soon.Orevuar!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Adults Beware!, Jul 15, 2008
reviewer: KAJP from New York
In the Disney fashion, the play was excellently and creatively done. Unfortunately, if you are over 4 foot six inches, I would not recommend the balcony seats. We had front row, upper balcony seats and the seats were so small that I, who am 5' 2", had to kneel for the entire first act. I couldn't get my knees bent and my feet flat on the floor, nor could the 5'2" teenage camp counselor next to me. I have attended other Broadway plays, including the Lion King, and the balcony tickets were perfectly adequate. This was the most uncomfortable theatre experience I have had, and I am grateful that I did not bring my six-foot tall husband with me and my son. Gratefully, some very tall man helped himself to the seats in the balxcony boxes during the second half of the show, and I was able to stand and rest on the seat during the last act.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Our First Broadway Play, Jul 15, 2008
reviewer: Leryda Vazquez from Tampa, FL
My son (8) and I went to see Mary Poppins on July 6th. We have upper balcony seats. The play was sensational!!! Ashley Brown was great. The gentleman that played Bert was true to the part. The only thing... thank God I'm 5'2". The seats are hard to get into even at my petiteness. The view felt like front row. Best $30 seats EVER!!! Mary Poppins even flies to the balcony, so that was very special. I'm glad I shared such a special show with my son. Thanks to the cast for making it memorable!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Absolutely magical!, Jun 03, 2008
reviewer: Pam Pabst from Sunnyvale, CA, USA
This production lived up to all the expectations I had. Long before Julie Andrews ever uttered a note, Mary Poppins was a part of my life, having been brought up on the book! Ashley Brown was spit-spot on as Mary, with a stupendous voice and wonderful presence. And Gavin Lee more than lived up to the Dick Van Dyke version of Bert! Disney didn't miss a beat on this one!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

absolutely amazing!, Jun 01, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from USA
As a teenager, I really didn't want to go to see Mary Poppins. I thought it would be a production that would bore me to death. I can't believe how wrong I was!! It was the most amazing Broadway production I've ever seen. It's witty, rousing, and has a great moral behind it. I'd reccomend this show to anyone between the ages of 1 and 100, especially teenagers! It's absolutely supercalifragalisticexpialadocious!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Unexpected depth of story, May 12, 2008
reviewer: Judith Whittinghill from Los Angeles, CA
Fun, as always, to be on 42nd Street. The history and glory of the New Amsterdam Theater enthralled. The performance dazzled and enchanted us. What was unexpected was the depth of the story - the compassion for the vulnerable, well-intentioned, hard working father, the elegantly good wife unsure of what role she played in society, and the children aching to be with both of them. The sweetness of the family finding time to just be a family was wonderfully conveyed. I thought I'd have fun at this musical, that I also found tears and moments of great depth was a wondrous surprise. Thanks for your hard work, your enormous talent, for making it seem like opening night - and especially for a spoonful of medicine to weary, overbooked families.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

What a shock!, May 08, 2008
reviewer: Michelle from NYC
I thought I would be bored to tears when I "got stuck" going to see Mary Poppins.....how wrong I was!! I highly recommend this show for any age! It kept me on the edge of my seat from beginning to end!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Thank you for a wonderful night, Apr 26, 2008
reviewer: Jim from Hazleton, PA USA
A wonderful production featuring an extremely talented task. This was my first broadway production and we all enjoyed it immensley.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Practically Perfect, Apr 15, 2008
reviewer: Louise from Bucks, UK
We went to see Mary Poppins earlier this month and we loved every minute of it! Great theatre, great acting, great night! Highly enjoyable for adults and kids alike. What a wonderful way to spend my 30th birthday! Thankyou for making it so memorable!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Outstandingly fantastically wonderful!!!!!, Apr 08, 2008
reviewer: Lisa Hadley from England
Recently visited New York for family holiday. Booked tickets for new Amsterdam - Mary Poppins production, first time for the children. We all cried with joy and was singing thereafter everywhere we visited. An absolute must. The theatre was fabulous and seats great (front orchestra). We wouldn't have missed it for the world and would certainly revisit. Good restaurants, Keens steak house, Bubba Gumps, Arthers Landing fabulas view!! Best tip, buy the rough guide to new york book, brilliant guide. Memories forever, Thanks, the Hadley family, West Midlands, England. xxx

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

More than Practically Perfect...Just Perfect!!!, Mar 04, 2008
reviewer: Martin from Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
This has been the first time for me to go to a Broadway show...I must say, it was quite STUPENDOUS...actually I left the theatre humming the songs, with a light in my heart that was lit at the start of the show when the curtains opened and grew brighter and brighter every single second the play lasted... All I have left to say, is that my heart grew three sizes the day I saw Mary Poppins at the New Amsterdam theatre... SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPIALIDOCIOUS

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Disney Magic Strikes Again, Feb 04, 2008
reviewer: Kathy G. from New York, NY
It was just my husband and I - no children were involved - yet we couldn't have enjoyed this show more. Although it was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid, my husband had never seen it so he had no emotional attachments going in. And though it strayed a bit from the movie version, neither of us were disappointed in this spectacular production. Mary Poppins, Bert and cast brought the house down on more than one occassion. The scenery was magnificent, the score was sensational and the show itself could not have been more uplifting and delightful. We laughed, we cried and we loved every minute of it. We highly recommend this terrific Broadway experience. It was truly SUPERCALIFRAGILISTICEXPEALIDOCIOUS!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Mary Poppins was Magical!!, Jan 15, 2008
reviewer: RandyP from Dalton, GA
What a fabulous show! Disney really goes out of their way to make this a magical production! The music and choreography was wonderful! Our family loved every bit of it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful, Dec 10, 2007
reviewer: Grace from Ascoli Piceno, Italy
I've just returned to Italy and I must say that it was by far the best musical ever!! Maybe because it was the first Disney movie I saw when I was a child! I grew up in Australia and my mother would take me to the cinema often. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone in the theatre as my son felt sick and everyone was so helpful and kind. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Mary Poppins, Dec 08, 2007
reviewer: Deborah from England
I saw the show because the other shows were closed due to industrial action, so it was spur of the moment. I enjoyed the show, Bert was brill but I left feeling that I didnt like Mary. (strange really) Would recommend the show, because it is a musical worth seeing. Would I say its suitable for all ages, no. I dont think it would appeal to youngsters. The songs got me tapping my feet and I did so want to shout... Mary Poppins step in time.....

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 108 people found the following review helpful:

Mary Poppins, Nov 11, 2007
reviewer: Greg Schwartz from New York City, New York USA
Mary Poppins was very surprising for me so that's why I gave it 3.5 stars. The Movie was a lot better. The music and characters were fine and so was the scenery it was just that the new parts made it a little boring at times. I thought they could've made it a little more exciting. Anyway, after all these comments, I think you should still see it. Maybe not with ages 4-7. they could get bored. I intend that you see it. I hope you enjoy this. Thank you for reading my review. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

careful of what seats you get, Oct 23, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I saw Mary Poppins for the second time this past Sunday with my 7 year old daughter. We went in the Spring and took our friends back. We LOVE LOVE LOVE it, and we so excited to take our friends. I purchased the tickets both times with Ticketmaster the first time we were in OR row L we paid $120.00 @ and worth every penny. When I bought the tickets for this past weekend I also paid $120.00 per ticket and I assumed they would be unobstucted views. Shame on The Amsterdam or Ticketmaster for selling tickets in the OR under the balcony for the same price as the seat without the balcony OBSTRUCTION. I guess it really made me mad because I saw before and what a difference! You miss so much it is still a great show but please give us a break and be fair charge less for those seats at least then we won't feel so cheated, why would anyone think seeing the shadow of Bert is the same. I know it is difficult to give every seat the same view but please those seats should not be $120.00.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Thank you , New Amsterdam Theatre, Jul 28, 2007
reviewer: Lisa M. Styles from Vestal, N.Y.
We came to the City on July 18, 2007 in a caravan of four buses loaded with Girl Scouts and their families to see the 2:00pm show. We were given our show tickets on the bus before we arrived in the city but by the time we got off the bus I had lost my two tickets to the show. I decided to check with the Theatre box office to see if they could do anything for us and they were wonderful. Since we came with a large group they looked for the empty seats in the area our group was seated, after everyone was seated for the performance. They found them and seated us shortly after the show began. So we didn't miss the opening of the first scene while they located our seats, they allowed us to stand in the back. I want to thank all the employees that were so helpful that day. Just to mention a few, David in the lobby, Andrew in the ticket booth, the usher that seated us and the management staff that solved our self-inflicted problem. We loved the show but will remember the terrific staf

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

SUPER (Califragilisticexpealidocious!), Jul 01, 2007
reviewer: SIOUXFANS! from Fargo, North Dakota
I've seen many shows, but this was by far the most magical. I saw it at the end of May, and when I went back to NYC in June, I went again! I'd see if every week if I could. I want to find a way to get my children there to experience the magic. For now, we imagine ourselves there while we listen to the soundtrack! GO IF YOU CAN!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

best show ever, Jun 24, 2007
reviewer: james from london Uk
I had a fantastic time. it was the best show i,ve ever seen. I had the best seats. It was a nice theatre. The theatre was very clean. If you have a child you can ask for a raised cushion. The seats where comfortable. I enjoyed Broadway so much. It was better the Chitty Chitty bang banak in the uk.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Superb!, Jun 24, 2007
reviewer: Jennifer Sullivan from Great Falls, Montana
We had balcony seats and they were by far the best in the house. The boys were arguing who Mary Poppins winked at. The sets were fabulous and magical. It was refreshing to see that it was more like the books than the movie because there is only one Julie Andrews. If I were traveling to NYC anytime in the future I would definitely see it again! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! Don't miss it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Is it Jolly, Jun 16, 2007
reviewer: Logan Kelly from Sunrise, FL USA
It was ok. To much changed from The Movie. Not as good as Lion King or Wicked or Phantom

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Delightful, Jun 12, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Kent Island, Maryland
Going into it I wasn't sure if I would enjoy it all that much since I am bored by the movie. It turned out to actually be really entertaining. The little boy who played Michael (Henry Hodges) was adorable. the costumes and sets were amazing too. It was a wonderful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I am still amazed!!!!!!, Jun 04, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Montreal, canada
I saw the play over two weeks ago and I am still telling everyone about it. I will be going back to NYC in August and plan on taking my husband and 3 teemage sons. I can't wait Tina Montreal, Canada

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

"Practically Perfect in Every Way", May 06, 2007
reviewer: Philip I. from New York City, NY
"Mary Poppins" was absolutely supercalifragilisticexpialidocious! The cast was top-notch, the sets, music, special effects and show overall was just spectacular. I loved all the additions, staging and performances. The kids were great and I am dying to see this again. I've seen everything to see on Broadway and "Mary Poppins" is way up there! Don't miss it and try to catch it with the amazing lead duo of Ashley Brown and Gavin Lee!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

totally amazing, May 02, 2007
reviewer: karen hourihan from cork ireland
What can i say a totally magical experience..this show will jus blow you away..went to see ths show on sat 28apr was seated 6 rows from front..ashley Brown who played mary poppins was just amazing and played the part wit all her heart.have been to a number of shows on broadway but this was by far the best ever.. the costumes the singing the dancing I just cant put it into words..Myself and my boyfriend enjoyed this show so much..cant wait to go again..please go see this show if you go nyc. suitable for children and adults of all ages..

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING, Apr 20, 2007
reviewer: Dani from Plymouth ,Minnesota USA
this is the best show I have even seen its amazing kids would love and the cast is great

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Exquisite Show, but a Scary Mary!, Mar 02, 2007
reviewer: Norah from South East USA
I just saw this show last week, on February 23, 2007. Overall, the show is visually breathtaking. It's message is heartwarming, and the cast is brilliant! My only disappointment was Ashley Brown's portrayal of the title role. From her first entrance, I was immediately plagued with visual memories of "The Stepford Wives" and could not erase that mental visual for the duration of the show. Although her singing voice was pure, her dialogue was completely robotic and without any trace of believable feeling. I think I would love the opportunity to see this show with a fresh perspective on the title role.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

The best show ever! I love Ashley Brown!, Feb 22, 2007
reviewer: Desiree age 11 from USA
I wish to meet alshey brown she is a one of a kind great star!talent, voice, and feet!I love her i wantt o meet her i am only 11 yrs. old!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Magically perfect in every way!!!, Jan 21, 2007
reviewer: Mary Beth from Massapequa
The magic of Disney. Pure delight. My daughters got me tickets for high balcony seats as a Christmas present. At first I feared I wouldn't enjoy the show from this vantage point, I thought I would resent this Mary, as I have loved Julie Andrews since childhood. Well my new Mary won me over in 3 seconds and even from these seats my night was pure enjoyment. The sets are fantastic...every girl who has ever pined for the perfect doll house will want to have this for their own. Hey, not a bad idea for a merchandising piece...a 17 Cherry Tree Lane Doll House.. Is there one?? The special effects recreate the magic from the movie..The dancing and voices are perfect....I have never before left a theater wanting to buy tickets to see it again....this is a spectacle in the true Broadway sense...afterwards we found a quaint dining spot at Rachel's..reasonably priced, warm friendly staff, and GOOD FOOD!! try the Chocolate chocolate chocolate cake..a Practically perfect day. Go Enjoy!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

"Perfect in Every Way", Jan 04, 2007
reviewer: Karen from Lawrenceville, NJ
I had the immense pleasure of experiencing this timeless and wonderful show, not once but twice. At first worried I would compare the show to the movie; however, I was soon so overwhelmed that I was brought to tears. I thought Julie Andrews was the quintessential "Mary Poppins" but Ashley Brown was absolutely wonderful and fit those shoes "Perfect in Every Way"! Her performance was unforgettable and I will always remember the excitement and enjoyment I felt during the entire production - I was very much moved and had a smile on my face the entire time. The special effects are also spectacular! A must see for the entire family!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Cant wait to see it again!, Dec 10, 2006
reviewer: Molly from New York City
I saw this show on 11-17 and it was absolutely incredible. I grew up watching the movie and it was even better on Broadway! I thought Ashley Brown did a great job, I mean she is no Julie Andrews, but she would make her proud. Go see this show--you wont be sorry

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

excelent loved it, Nov 28, 2006
reviewer: chas landow from new york
the best i have ver seen i saw many show but that was sthe best ever ashley brwon was amazing it was a five. the sets were amazing i have seen it 4 times already. dancing was amzing song were evan better than befor supercalfragilisticexpialidocious ! spoon full of sugar

Was this review helpful to you?  


107 of 119 people found the following review helpful:

mary poppins, Nov 28, 2006
reviewer: CHASE LANDOW from NEW YORK
mary poppin was amazing. the songs were amazing they were al catchy. ashley brown was the best fro teh role of mary poppins. the sets were amazing and very iteresting. i am gona see it agian. i am only 11 and i loved it and i wen tto the tonys soo i love broadway. and my grandma says i am a rally good crdict . the show is supercalifragilisticexpialidocious!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Jane and Michael fans, Nov 26, 2006
reviewer: Natalie and Jennifer from Moylan, PA, USA
The musical is amazing. We were in the very back row of the balcony (row M) but still felt engaged with actors. Our view was excellent. Special effects are amazing. Nursery scene with Temper, Temper is inappropriate for your children. We missed Sister Suffragette and Admial Boom's cannon but enjoyed the additions of the kitchen scene when Jane and Michael cause an explosion and the nursery scenes with their mother. Thanks for a wonderful afternoon!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Spectacular Tony Award Caliber Show!, Nov 19, 2006
reviewer: Colleen Morrissey from New York, New York
The musical numbers were fantastically entertaining, the cast worked in perfect harmony and the surprise "special effects" were amazing, especially at the end of the show. Mary Poppins definitely deserves to win the Tony for best musical!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Abandoned Performance of 10/26/06, Oct 29, 2006
reviewer: I Hayes from Manchester, England
Having travelled from the UK with this the highlight (wife's gift of choice - 40th Birthday celebration) - never dreamed this type of bad luck would happen to us on this day. An amazing Act 1. Told Act 2 is better but we cant say as we didnt see it - the 20 ton scenery for Cherry Tree Lane got stuck in S2 and after 20 mins we were told to go. Bravely, Thomas Schumacher (Pres. Disney Theatrical Productions) took to the stage and apologised, confirmed refunds adding "We would like to have you back here at our expense". Taken literally for us in the UK that would be a brilliant gesture. I'm writing to ask him to expand on that so maybe there will be a more positive review to follow. This looked like a 5 star show -we give it full marks for the first half.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Beautiful new take on a magical memory., Oct 28, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
The old saying is stop a show three times and you've got a hit. Well, this one's a smash with four show stopping numbers ("Supercal" and "Just in Time" will have you out of your seats!) In addition there are very fine performances and stunning costumes and sets (if sometimes stubborn. Yes, I was there the night they stopped after Act One, but went back the next night.) My only complaints are poor Rebecca Luker just doesn't have enough to do, and lastly, the show ought to be called "Mary Poppins and Bert," because Gavin Lee simply delivers one of the most brilliant Broadway show stopping turns in a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

amazing, Oct 27, 2006
reviewer: andrea and mazzarine from union city, nj usa
we were on the show last night 10/26 , my daughter and I just can describe how wonderful it was, Amazing! , the songs better than ever, the dancing, the supercali...,full of fun,we love everything.We are big fans of Mary Poppins,we have wached the movie many many times.Seen it last night was one of our dreams come true.I will recomend it to everybody to see it . The show is unforgetable.The only thing we were a bit unconfortable were the theater seats.We'll go back and enjoy it once again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show even with the slight snafu and Scary Toys, Oct 22, 2006
reviewer: Gail Kelley from CT, USA
Loved this show! The sets were amazing. Though at the 10/14 preview there was a slight problem in the beginning with one of the sets... getting pass that was painless and the rest of the show had me in awe. The songs both new and old versions (supercali--- was better than before) were wonderful. The dancing was better than the original. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is the one scene where the toys came alive, scary for kids. I think this one will be a Tony winner for sure! It was a very positive experience in NYC from the train ride there, our restaurant, the Show and back to GC to take the train home.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing Show, Oct 21, 2006
reviewer: Lisa from New York
The show is amazing, there are hardly words to describe how wonderful it is. My review is more to advise theatre goers about the experience we had at the New Amsterdam Theatre. We went Fri. night 10/20/06. The seating can be precarious and tight, but the problem was that there was an entire row behind us, balcony level, where there were children, (appeared to be under 4 years old, which is prohibited in this show), crawling, banging, screaming and kicking seats in front of them. When several audience members asked the parents to please control them, parent(s) yelled back at everyone and began to sing along loudly with the songs and talk (shout) comments throughout the show. Several people attempted to find ushers for help, but they seemed understaffed. This was my daughter's birthday gift and she was almost in tears. Several people in our row were enraged..almost a fight. The theatre needs to enforce the rules and ensure that people are aware that this is not "Broadway" behavior.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Loved the October 14th Preview, Oct 15, 2006
reviewer: GB from Horsham, PA USA
We loved the play! Number 17 Cherry Tree Lane is a fantastic set, alternating between the downstairs, the nursery and the rooftop of the house. We really enjoyed Ashley Brown as Mary and Gavin Lee as Bert, and the Banks children are wonderful. The Mary Poppins in this play has more edge than in the movie, but you still like the character. Most of the songs from the movie are in the play, with some new material. We especially loved the singing and dancing during Jolly Holiday and Step in Time. This is not just a darker remake of the movie; some parts are from the movie, other parts of the story are different and reflect what it is like to balance raising a family and careers today. There are some laughs, but this is about the songs and dancing. We had great seats 4 rows from the stage on the right, and we will see it again with our children. Highly recommend it. We enjoyed this as much as Wicked, Lion King and Phantom of the Opera, and we love the original movie.

Was this review helpful to you?  


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful:

What you would expect from Disney, Oct 15, 2006
reviewer: K. Dakis from NY
My husband and I saw the Oct 14th preview show. It was one of the best shows we have seen on Broadway. Today we went out and bought the movie. The actors were brillant. The sets were magnificent. Children would love it. I hope it stays here because I want to go back. Our only complaint which has nothing to do with the musical was the theatre seats. They are very very tight and lined up were you sit directly behind the person in front of you. That was the most frustrating part because as much as we enjoyed the show the seating is terrible and if you get stuck behind someone tall (like my husband and I both did and my husband is 6 3') then the show is hard to watch comfortably. We were on the mezzanine level too. Aside from the seating obstacle we did love the show. I DEFINITELY recommend getting as good seats as possible especially for the little ones in order to really enjoy this magical treat.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

The Lion King, Oct 11, 2006
reviewer: Prue Halliwell from Northampton, PA USA
This broadway show is amazing. Its crative, heartwarming, a show you'll never forget. The actors and actresses were very talented at the arts. You have just got to see it now.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

We loved it, Sep 13, 2006
reviewer: sixduffs from NYC
I saw the show in London. I had read the review calling it a "darker version". I have seen that same phrase repeated in US papers. While it is not as cheery as the Disney movie, it is a great British nanny story. The children are a bit bratty, Mrs. Banks is a real person with feelings and they explain how Mr. Banks got to be a bit distant from the children. The magic is in the show, just keep an open mind and don't expect what you saw in the movie. You will love it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

London show, Sep 07, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I saw show in London. My whole family are huge movie Mary fans, so I was expecting to be disappointed. On the contrary! I'm not a theatre expert or anybody qualified to review a show professionally - I'm just a frequent patron and I know what I like and don't like! That said, It was fantastic! Magical! It was...supercalifantastmagical! New take on songs , esp. Supercali, was superb. Set and effects were mind-boggling. I literally sat there with my jaw dropping open - as the thrills continued throughout show! I kept thinking - can it get any better? And it did! Songs are extremely catchy - you'll leave the theatre humming and singing whether you want to or not. Great show for kids, but do them a favor, and prepare them by watching the movie or reading the story first. The will enjoy it so much more! Only the song 'Temper' seemed un-Poppins like and too modern, a bit scary for small ones. (Beware - Toys turn vengeful on children, scary music!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 89 of 89 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review