Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Lion King
Avg. Customer Review (4.8 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 68
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 71 of 71 reviews
Back to Paged View  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Third play in three days, Jul 14, 2014
reviewer: Mike from jackson ms
And no doubt saved the best for last. Pure and simple MUST SEE. No words can describe it. WOW

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

A complete disappointment, especially from the music perspec, Jan 21, 2014
reviewer: CutePug from New York, New York
We were a group of eight people who had never seen Lion King Broadway show before but had watched the movie and listened to those delightful melodies from CD many times. We paid top $$$ for the tickets hoping and expecting to finally enjoy the famous Broadway show and fantastic live music just as in the Lion King movie and CD. However, we were totally dismayed to find out 99% of the music were African folk tunes which sounded like chanting mingled with shouting in a way without much pleasant melodies except for the first and the last songs in the show that sounded familiar to our ears, so to speak. As far as the stage sceneries, there was nothing astounding or anything spectacular to see. In many scenes, there were just blank stage, no effort was put into force on the stage sceneries whatsoever. In general, this is a mediocre Broadway show at best which does not deserve its famous reputation in my most humble opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome!, Sep 09, 2013
reviewer: S. Davis from Alabama
I saw this in London and was so enthralled I saw it again in New York. Fantastic costumes! Inspiring.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing Show!!, Mar 10, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York
I saw this show 4 years ago with my family, and we were all just blown away. I thought it was the best Broadway show I'd ever seen (out of a dozen or more). Now I'm bringing a favorite cousin to New York. She has never seen a Broadway show, and this is the one I picked to bring her to see!! I loved it and can't wait to see it again. Yes, I would take children to see it...my grandchildren were 6 and 10 when we saw it, and they loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Deception, Dec 22, 2012
reviewer: Llyce from Brazil
I watched it on november,21st.Great expectations! Dancers were terrible. Musicians=play back? Scar was a joke. I really appreciated the kids and Mufasa. It was good,but too much money for only an acceptable entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

INCREDIBLE, Aug 06, 2012
reviewer: Amy from Wales, UK
first you do not no what to expect because of the transition from screen to stage, well all I can say is this is the most inspiring heart warming incredible Broadway experience from beginning to end. Laughter, Happiness and I was moved to tears, the whole cast and people behind it were incredible, the vision and the depth of the stage and performance, I would recommend this show to anyone, a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Moving!, Feb 19, 2012
reviewer: Chris M. from Pittsfield, ME, USA
I sit here composing this review in the final hours before going for my THIRD time! Only this time, I am taking my 5 & 3 year old daughters who are absolutely so excited they can barely keep it together. This show is the most absolute amazing collections of costume, cast, music, and story telling I've ever seen. This is a show that I tell everyone about, beg them to go see and think to myself why anyone wouldn't want to see it! The first time I went, like most men ("stereotypical" men) didn't really have a strong desire but now I sit here awaiting my third show, and couldnt be more excited than a 6 year old on Christmas Eve!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Beautifully done!, Dec 30, 2011
reviewer: Amanda from New York, NY
I splurged to take my daughter to the show for her 7th birthday and neither of us were disappointed! Spectacle was not just for spectacle's sake, Taymor did a wonderful job of bringing the story to life without it being "over the top". Overall a birthday she will not soon forget!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

WOW, Oct 14, 2011
reviewer: Marcella from Delaware
I cried during the opening selection. It just moved me. Excellent cast, excellent singing, excellent costumes and excellent acting A must see.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Our first theatre date ! 2006, May 26, 2011
reviewer: Ross and Julie Simpson from Michigan
This was the best first theatre date EVER ! My then boyfriend/now husband took me to see this play. Words could not describe how beautiful we both felt it to be ! We had both recently lost our fathers, so this play could not have been more poetic. It really touched our hearstrings ! Thank you!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A LIFE LONG MEMORY!!!!, Apr 02, 2011
reviewer: Gabriel DeMaria from New York
From the opening curtain to the final call, emotional, riveting!!! Truly a show for the ages!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

lion king, Mar 07, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I WOULD TO COMMENT ON THE LION KING AS IT WAS ONE OF THE GREATEST EVER.ALSO WOULD LIKE TO EXPRESS MY APPRECIATION & GRATTUDE FOR ALL THE PERSONAL &STAFF FOR BEING SO POLITE & HELPFUL AS TO GETTING ME AROUND THE THEATER AS I AM 75 & HAVE A BAD BACK & CANNOT STAND AROUND TOO LONG.I LOVE NEW YORK & THEATER WHICH WE DON!T HAVE MUCH OF IN PORT CRANE,N.Y. SINCERLY BEVERLY WHIDDEN

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The Lion King - Breath Taking, Dec 07, 2010
reviewer: SkiMom1 from Harrisburg, PA
My 24 year old daughter and I decided to see our first Broadway show and we picked The Lion King in NYC at the Minskoff Theatre. The Lion King has always been a family favorite Disney film. We bit the bullet and got seats up front. It was expensive but worth every penny. The opening act, Circle of Life, was the most spectacular thing we have ever seen. We both cried through it. Listening to the music and seeing the animals walk down the aisle gave us goose bumps. The costumes were engineering marvels and the actors who wore them were in character the entire time. There were so many small children in the audience and I was concerned that maybe might hear fidgeting and crying. You didn't hear a peep from anyone. Young and old were totally mesmerized. Thumbs-up for this day out. It will be one we will remember as one of those great “moments” in life.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

It is another world with splendid atmosphere.., Aug 30, 2010
reviewer: Kiran Babu from India
Broadway show in New York: I had an opportunity to watch The Lion king – Broadway show in New York. I have been on a high since I came home. It was amazing! It was flawless. I thought it would be like the movie. I was wrong. It is splendid. The costumes look so real. You will never forget this musical. The actors really sound like the real characters in the movie! Watch it, you will be amazed. I never knew the musical The Lion King would have such a profound effect on me. It's another world with a splendid . Thank you for the 'Awesome' experience of a lifetime. I don’t have to talk much about the show for the simple reason that the show was running since 1997 uninterrupted till date. Fifteen years - not out..

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

great show...noisy candy wrappers, Aug 07, 2010
reviewer: Wyona Mitchell from Dayton, OH
The show was great, but the second act was spoiled by the noisy unwrapping of candy. It was rude and extremely unnecessary. The ushers stopped the taking of pictures, why didn't they stop the noise????

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Patricia, Jul 27, 2010
reviewer: Patricia from Brooklyn, New York
This show is awesome, in my opinion it has put Disney in class by itself. I think everybody need to experience this show TWICE! I saw it in 1998 for my birthday and now my 7 year old daughter will experience the wonder of The Lion King for her birthday. Talk about Life coming full Circle. Go see this show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Emotion twister show, Jul 20, 2010
reviewer: R. Mora Marin from Monterrey,Mx
My kids grew up with the movie, watching them now as teenagers enjoy the show the way they did was quite an experience. Greatest show ever! We are looking forward to watch it once again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

RUDE!!!!!!!!!!!, Jul 19, 2010
reviewer: NEECEY from Phila, where we have manners
OK, let me explain myself, the show was FANTASTIC, but I was so distracted by the rude ushers and the obnoxious audience that I could not enjoy the show. PLEASE STOP allowing people to bring food into the theatre. The lady next to me was eating hard pretzels for goodness' sakes! And leave your cell phones at home you about 15 morons forgot to put them on vibrate and 3 actually answered the phone during the show!. Never again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Lion King Was Great!, Jun 12, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Colorado Springs, CO
Last August, 2009 my family and I flew to NY for my niece's wedding. I wanted to do something special on the day we got there, my husband and kids had never been to NY, so I booked tickets for the Lion King. I was able to get fantastic seats in the mezzanine. I was concerned, since we had had a very busy day, that my son and daughter would be too tired to stay awake for the whole evening performance. Was I wrong! They, along with my husband and I, loved the program and when we got back to the hotel that's all anyone talked about. We still do to this day. We still talk about the costumes, the music and the whole performance. My son and daughter especially enjoyed Zazu, the actor really brought the "bird" to life.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Apr 17, 2010
reviewer: James from USA
It was the best musical I ever saw. The actors were great and the music was awesome. Every seat had a great view. I have recommended it to many different people.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

THE KING OF BROADWAY, Apr 12, 2010
reviewer: jim from Hurleyville, N.Y.
The lion king was truly spectacular! I have been to several shows but this one takes it! the actors and actresess really lived the parts they played! They sounded like them and they took you right to africa as the show was preformed. each person was simply perfect the venue was good dont miss this one, i loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

absolutely beautiful, Feb 14, 2010
reviewer: Leila from New Jersey
What a fantastic play, everything was beautiful; from the lightining to the customes, from the musical to the performances, everything was absolutely magical. I recomend it to everbody I know, this is a good play for all ages. I went with my two daughters (11y and 7y) they were so delighted, that we want to go again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

carole, Jan 21, 2010
reviewer: carole from long island ny
The actors really sound like the real characters in the movie. This is one play you will never forget, especially enjoyed it since I love Lion King the movie. The costumes were amazing and worth seeing had great seats Orch. and they were worth every penny. Sat in row N and the seats were close enough to see everything. Make it a point to see this play the only problem nothing will ever compare to this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Still Very Good But..., Oct 01, 2009
reviewer: BD (Formerly from NYC) from CA
I was very fortunate and saw the Lion King when it first opened on Broadway in 1998 when it was staged in its original form at the Amsterdam Theater. It was nothing short of mind blowing. The theater was a jewel box, the costumes (as they still are) amazing, all TDF. If you see it now, at the Minskoff, as I recently did with my 8 year old daughter, a couple of things: It is still worth seeing, but if you saw the original, your mind won't be blown. The Minskoff has all the charm of an older Hyatt Hotel. The staff is primarily very nice, but some very rude. There are not nearly enough ladies' toilets for the 15 minute intermission. The line was at least 25 minutes long. I finally covered my daughter's eyes and took her to a stall in the men's room (followed by 2 other Moms w/ little girls). The slope of the Orch. sec. is such that you will need 2 kids pillows if your kid(s) are young. Disney has added 2 disruptive scenes w/Timon and the warthog that focus on flatulence. Stupid.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Lion King on Broadway, Jul 16, 2009
reviewer: Colleen Malone from Barre, VT
AMAZING!!! My 12 year-old daughter and I saw the production at the Minskoff Theatre on Broadway and it was like nothing we had ever seen before. Theatre was immaculate and the show was breathtaking!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

the lion king, May 26, 2009
reviewer: Matthew from New Jersey
the lion king on broadway is one of the best shows I and my Kids have every seen. The speacail affects were amazing, the hole theaters was crying

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

awesome!, May 19, 2009
reviewer: Dustin Behr from Lanesville, IN, USA
The performance was cool. I loved it. TLK IS THE BEST dISNEY SHOW EVA!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

SPELLBINDING, Mar 25, 2009
reviewer: Fiona Fraser from Scotland
From first note to last this was a spellbinding show. The costumes were amazing and so cleverly designed. The music, dancing and singing was out of this world. New York was the cake and the Lion King was the cherry on top. What a night!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING!, Jan 03, 2009
reviewer: Jill Hughes from Scotland
New York was a brilliant experience as a whole but The Lion King was the highlight of my holiday. The first scene is just out of this world, it gave me goose bumps and tears in my eyes. I new the show would but good but it was excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great performance, not so good seats, Dec 27, 2008
reviewer: Dennman from Wisconsin
The performance itself was wonderful. I don't know if there was a weak link. Truly a magical experience. My only complaint is the seating. We were in seats 13 and 15 on the far side. The balcony hangs over and the view is obstructed when the main characters are standing on Pride Rock. I found this to be rather disappointing. All in all a good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING!!!, Dec 05, 2008
reviewer: Logan J. Kelly from Sunrise, FL USA
When I saw this show I was amazed with the effects music and book plus great actors. Beautiful. Simply Beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

One of the greatest events of my life, Oct 16, 2008
reviewer: Barbara from Greenwood Lake, NY
I thought I was the only one brought to tears by the incredible first act as they all sang that hauntingly beautiful African song and appeared with their fabulous and intricate costumes, but after reading the reviews I see that I am not alone. I wish my mother was alive to see something so very beautiful. I will go again. This is a must see for every man, woman and child. I think if Elton John and Tim Rice never did another production, they would still go down in history for this incredible event they created. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Lion King AMAZING!!, Aug 06, 2008
reviewer: Lion King from Midwest, USA
Good seats, great acoustics in the theater.. The costumes were simply stunning!!! Amazing music and acting! Such a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Tearfully Overwhelmed, Jun 14, 2008
reviewer: Michelle Edwards from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
To The Cast of The Lion King on June 4, 2008 @ 2pm. My daughters 8th grade class came to see the Lion King for their graduation from Phila. I had never seen or had ever been to a play in my life. When you came to philadelphia I did not get a chance to come so being an escort for my daughter and her friends was my excuse to come. I can trully say i am a big kid at heart and the Lion King was one of my favorite movies. What I am trying to say is that when I looked up and saw the cast members coming down the isle at the start of the show I actually started to cry, that was how touched I was. I am so blessed to have been given the opportunity to see this remarkable play that I would suggest it to anyone. On top of seeing the lion king coming to New York was my first as well so I did not know where to start and not enough time. I only wished that I had gotten a chance to meet a couple of cast members so they could have autographed my program. Words could never express my heart Chell

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

First Seen Broadway Show, Jun 10, 2008
reviewer: Michele Loppnow from Watertown, WI USA
This show was spectacular. You can appreciate the effort put forth by all that were involved in order to make the show successful. The amount of detail put into the play is unbelievable, the costumes, props, lighting, and sound bring pride rock to life. Would recommend this play and theatre as a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Aboslutely AMAZING!, May 28, 2008
reviewer: Corey Bastarache from Saint John, NB, Canada
When I first heard that my group that was traveling to NY was going to the Lion King, I was a little nervous, becasue I figured it would be a childrens type play. But as soon as the show started, I knew that I would enjoy it. Some of the scenes were so breath-taking and amazing that tears came to my eyes, and I got goose-bumps. The whole thing just went by so fast, but it was still, by far, the best musical that I have seen. The cast did an great job, and I have been telling everyone that I know that they have to see it for themselves. Thank you so much... for the preformance... a memory that I wil never forget.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

FRANTASTIC, JUST FANTASTIC, May 20, 2008
reviewer: D. Rivard from Canada (Gatineau QC)
I have never seen such a magical, superbly presented show! Once again, the team Webber/Price has surpassed themselves. The opening alone moved me to tears and it seemed the whole production lasted only a few minutes. The signing is out of this world. The costumes are incredible. And our group had the great pleasure of meeting one of the singers, Ian Yuri Gardner. What a wonderful artist and so generous. He gave us a very informative (and much appreciated) tour backstage. All of it was a grand experience. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Jackie, Dany, Bugs, Madeleine, Don, Joyce and Louise

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING costumes!, Apr 10, 2008
reviewer: Cris from Westchester County; NY; USA
I found The Lion King on Broadway, NYC to be true entertainment! The costumes were absolutely incredible; most likely the best of any show you'll ever see! Cudos to all the actors and actesses -- magnificently done! The music was very moving as well. This is a must see show! Looking forward to seeing it again in the future!

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

The Lion King Musical, Apr 07, 2008
reviewer: Israel Joseph from Usa\'\'.
The Lion King Musical Brings Out You Inner (Lion)''. The Music / The Dances / The Amazing Broadway / The Songs : ''He Lives In You'' & ''Circle of Life'' (also) : They Live In You'' & ''Rafiki Mourns''. Arcoss the World : Disneys Der Konig Der Lowen, Disney's Le Roi Lion, the Lion King (Dutch musical) And THE Winner Of SIX tony awards (This Is The Lion King''. ) The Lion King : Takes you Into A World of a Great broadway Musical !

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The Lion King (Broadway), Apr 07, 2008
reviewer: Israel Joseph from USA
Disney's The Lion King - Brings Joy To New York City Being the Best of Disney On Broadway : the lion king on broadway Is Insperational or Astonishing, Brilliant !!! Go To www.disneyonbroadway.com/ For More Information !

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

The Lion King, Apr 05, 2008
reviewer: Israel Joseph from USA
The Lion King On Broadway Is The Winner of six 1998 Tony Awards , Including BEST MUSICAL''. , The Lion King tells The story of Simba, A Young Lion Cub'' ! who Struggles to Accept The RESPONSIBILITIES of adulthood and his Destined Role As KING !

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great!, Mar 18, 2008
reviewer: Aleix!!! from Barcelona!
Very Good and cool!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Wow Wow Wow, Feb 19, 2008
reviewer: julian from southampton UK
i took my wife to new york for her 40th birthday and part of the trip was to see the lionking i have never been much of a theatre goer but this show just blew me away the songs the costumes the set are FANTASTIC the hole show is a Must see. It is such a captivating show that moved me to tears its so beautiful ,Well done to you all who brought this show to life.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The KING of all Kings..........THE LION KING!!!!!!!!!, Jan 18, 2008
reviewer: J.H.Okonkwo from Maryland
I saw the Lion King 5 times in New York and once here in Maryland. I simply loved, adored, and cried each time I saw it. Very moving, with a deep spiritual message. The beginning scene and the 'Cirle of Life' along with each and every performer captured my heart. My only regret was the uncomfortable chairs in the New Amsterdam theather. None- the-less, it didn't stop me from seeing it over and over. I tip my hat and bow to everyone involved in this superb musical. .

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

fell asleep, Dec 09, 2007
reviewer: tony from hawaii
We went to the honolulu show and my kids loved it, unfortunately I lost interest around morning report and slept till the intermission my kid kept tapping me to stay awake but it didn't work, I thought little simba and his partner should've had headpieces also, it felt incomplete. also we paid premium prices for seats that we're too far and too high. the best parts were the opening ,the can you feel the love tonight,and the very end. those were the only moving scene's of the whole play

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Breathtaking, Nov 24, 2007
reviewer: Logan J. Kelly from FT. Luderdale, FL, USA
What a Amazing Show! Everything was wonderful go and see it. I Love It!

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Fabulous!, Nov 05, 2007
reviewer: Honora Daly from Falls Church, VA USA
I attended the November 3rd matinee with my two great nieces who are 7 and 4. We thoroughly enjoyed the performance. The 4 year old was sitting on the edge of her booster seat just about the entire performance. The 7 year old was enthralled, and has asked to attend another show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

A NEW YORK LOVER, Jul 26, 2007
reviewer: carla from buenos aires, argentina
EXCELLENT! marvellouse site and beautifull scene. If you ever visit New York dont loose the opportunity of watching no only an emotional but unforgettable view. Two thumbs upfor this lovely broadway display.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Nasty Ushers-Bad Tourist Groups!!!!, Jun 25, 2007
reviewer: Liz from Basking Ridge, NJ
How unfortunate to have my viewing of this play interrupted by a obnoxious Usher who apparently thought I too, worked there! During the finale she came over to my seat to tell me to tell some one not with me to put away her picture phone! She actually screamed at me! This was after enduring the tourists from hell who apparently do not go out much or are not familiar with the story and laughed during the death of Simba's Dad. What trash. My mistake for not going at night to Broadway as I usually do. The costumes, music and dancing were fabulous when not being interrupted by idiots from out of town. And ushers who seemed to not know their function. The young ones were fine it was the creepy middle aged women who were unprofessional and sorely lacking in manners.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome, Marvelous, Spectacular, Jun 04, 2007
reviewer: B.Miller from USA
We went June 2, 2007, 8pm. My older sons, ages 23 and 20 rolled their eyes when I got the tickets, thinking they were too old for this show. Well, they were totally in awe, as was my 12 year old! My husband and I loved it as much as the kids! We all left on a cloud, the show is so uplifting! The talent was second to none. The two children in the show were absolutely AWESOME. Everyone in the show was. And....such beautiful scenery and props. Very cleverly done! Would love to go again! I just can't rave enough about this show! My first Broadway show ever, and what a way to begin!

Was this review helpful to you?  


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

One of the most amazing things I have ever seen in my life, May 06, 2007
reviewer: Luke S. from New York City
First off, I would give this 100/5 stars if I could. I was so moved by this musical. Everything about the show is absolutely amazing, but the music is why I wish I could see it again. The songs "Circle of Life" and "They/He Lives in You" will bring out some of the strongest emotions you will ever experience. I was fighting back tears of sheer amazment and joy for the entire performance. This is a show for all ages and all people EVERYWHERE. If I ever am in NYC again, or anywhere else where this is playing I would not hesitate for 1 second to buy a ticket and go again. The show was just amazing. I cannot say enough good things about it. I bought the soundtrack after the show because I enjoyed the music so much. The songs mentioned before, especially "Return to Pride Rock/Circle of life (refrain)" will bring you to tears if you just sit and soak in the beauty of the music. Also, the chorus of singers dressed in traditional African clothing, were breathtaking. See it! Then see it again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

The most amazing thing I have ever seen!, Mar 23, 2007
reviewer: Floobagop from Tennessee USA
You have to see this musical. The set, the lighting, the props, the acting, the singing, the music - it is all simply amazing. There is no better way to put it - you must see The Lion King on Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

OH !, Feb 27, 2007
reviewer: Florian from Duisburg ,NRW Germany
I`ve had the chance to see the show in Hamburg .That`s in Germany and in New York and I must say that`s the best show on Broadway and in Germany.This sound ,this costumes and the scenes.Fabulous . You must see this show to beliv it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!, Feb 12, 2007
reviewer: ashley from New York, NY
i saw the show in february '07 and it was awesome. I never experienced anything like it in my life!!! It was amazing how everything just flowed. I LOVED IT!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

The most awesome experience, Nov 22, 2006
reviewer: Cathy Walker from Virginia
My daughter and I experienced New York for the first time Nov. '06 I have been on a high since I came home. I never knew the musical The Lion King would have such a profound affect on us. We will never forget that show or the lights of New York City!! It's another world with an atmosphere of greatness. Thank you for the 'Awesome' experience of a lifetime. Cathy Walker

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

My Favorite Film is also my Favorite Broadway Show, Nov 18, 2006
reviewer: Lavender from Ann Arbor, MI USA
Ever since I was a little girl, The Lion King was always a favorite. When I heard Broadway made it into a show I was tickled pink. But then I realized it may never come to my town. However three years ago, my dream had come true. And it wasn't quite what I expected. It was phenomenal. The first thing that catches the audience's eyes are the costumes, puppets, set, choreography, and make up. While all of these are beautiful to behold, the best parts in my opinion are the songs and score. All of the singers, dancers, and actors. And of course the ever-lasting story. The music is exotic, energetic,powerful and at times even spiritual. The performances are full of joy, passion, and heart. They all bring to life the characters we know and love. And last but not least the story. The tale of a naieve but energetic child who has everything but is soon shattered. Now he must face his responsability and take his place in the Circle of Life. Get ready for all your emotions to pour out. A must see

Was this review helpful to you?  


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Theater charity pleas, Nov 05, 2006
reviewer: Steve Barker from Garden City, NY USA
Yesterday I took my family to see The Lion King. It was a truly exhilarating experience. The creativity of the costumes, sets, choreography, and acting absolutely blew us away. All of that exhilaration was immediately dampened at the end of the play when we were held captive for 5 minutes by several actors making a plea for contributions to the Theaters favorite charity. We lost the buzz that cost us almost $700 (6 tickets) to achieve. I have nothing against charity pleas; but do it before the play begins so that it doesnt interfere with the real reason we attend theater.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Unbelievable!, Nov 05, 2006
reviewer: Michael from Pennsylvania
This musical was he best thing I have ever seen. I went to New York for a funraiser for school, and got to see it. The cotumes, scenery, sets, and especially the specil effects were awesome! The actors did an excellent job. My main opinion: Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?  


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful:

Te Best Musical Ever!, Oct 05, 2006
reviewer: Hyebina from Anytown, AT 55555
It was amazing! I thought it was like the movie. I was wrong. It it awsome. The costumes look so real. You will never forget this musical. The actors really sound like the real characters in the movie! Watch it, you will be amazed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Sep 20, 2006
reviewer: Denice from Denmark
This show is just amazing, the costumes are fantastic, the actors are perfect, the music is wonderful - it's like being in another world, the show totally absorbs you. It's just absolutelly great!

Was this review helpful to you?  


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful:

!!!!!!!!!! WOW !!!!!!!!!!, Sep 09, 2006
reviewer: Laura from Point Pleasant, New Jersey
Wow! Amazing! Fantastic! Loved It! I had chills from the opening number! This play is phenominal! The costumes, the singing, and the dancing kept our entire group (there were 7 of us) riveted the entire time. This is a must see -- I can not put into words how great this was. I wish I could contact the cast to let them know how much I enjoyed each and every talent on that stage. Don't miss this one -- you will not be disappointed!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

The King of musicals, Aug 26, 2006
reviewer: Julie Tykskov from Copenhagen, Denmark
I saw The Lion King for my 30th birthday my sign is the Lion so of course it couldnt be any other show. It was magnificent and i enjoyed every moment of it. My favorite has alwasy been Phantom and Jesus Christ Superstar but this show has totally taken its place way up there. I think its so much better than the cartoon - maybe its because the show is for all ages. but really thumps up. LOVE

Was this review helpful to you?  


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Incredible, Jul 20, 2006
reviewer: Mark Perez from Phoenix,Az Usa
The Lion King is a prime example of both insperation and pure genious. I saw it when I was with my drama club and i enjoyed every single second from the time Raffikii came out to the time mustafa died to the time simba triumphed over scar. For me it just shows how good can triumph over evil and it enspired me to be an even greater actor.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

A NIGHT TO REMEMBER, Jul 08, 2006
reviewer: LeiLani from Aotearoa, New Zealand
WELL LION KING FOR ME IS DEFINATLY A NIGHT TO REMEMBER!! I WOULD GO BACK AND WATCH IT SO MANY MORE TIMES!! I NO THE'VE DONE THIS PERFORMANCE SO MANY TIMES, BUT THE WAY THEY PRESENT IT IS JUST AWESOME! GREAT WORK YOU GUYS!

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

great show but very poor air condition, Jul 02, 2006
reviewer: nelson vasquez from usa
the show was great but the aircondition inside the theatre itself is poor when i conplain they said they would correct the problem the second was the same you could see the audiance fanning themselve with the playbill booklets and whatever else the could find i reccommend skipping it with the price i paid for three tickets plus what they charge for a bottle water you would think the can give some air condition i gets they wanted to make you feel you are in africa

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent show...., Jun 28, 2006
reviewer: Janet from Sale, Cheshire. United Kingdom
What can I say...an excellent show with an outstanding cast. My sister-in-law saw the same show in Florida and it was staged completely different, enjoyed this more. You must go and see this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Marcus and Gloria, April 15,2006 show, Jun 20, 2006
reviewer: Gloria Rico from Miami, FL USA
Spectacular- still does not do the performance justice. I cryed in the opening scene, and ending. The costumes will take your breathe away, the performace left nothing to the imagination. This was a birthday gift to my 9 year old son, and he reminds me every chance he gets, that this was the best present he ever had. This is a definite must see... for all age!

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

This is the best show that i have ever seen!, Jun 06, 2006
reviewer: Bradley and Mom from Memphis,TN USA
We love this show!it rocks better than the one at Walt Disney World.this is a most my fav character is young simba.

Was this review helpful to you?  


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome show, May 03, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Springfield, MA
I went with my family to see the Lion King on Broadway honestly not overly enthusiastic about it. I've never really cared for the story and only went since all my family was going. I'm so glad I did! I was totally blown away by the music, acting, costumes...basically everything! The cast was tremendous and did a terrific job of telling the story. I've seen many plays in my life including other Broadway shows but this was by far the best I have seen. My advice is go, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

The King is a Lion, Apr 26, 2006
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from USA
The Lion King, How should I put this? It's more, understandable than the movie because they follow everything, they never miss a line, I mean.. it's a childrens theatre spectical. I went with my two sisters, my mom, dad, and grandma. I can tell you, there is no show better than Lion King. Better than Beauty and the Beast it was wonderful. Please pick Lion King to be your favorite. I LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?  


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

Beautiful!, Apr 18, 2006
reviewer: Ash from OH, USA
Lion King is my favorite Disney movie, and I didn't think it could get any better -- until we saw the musical. The costumes were beautiful, I loved all the bright colors! And they added a few songs, which were all amazing! I love Kissy Simmons, she's such a beautiful performer. The entire cast was magnificent, and I was very impressed by the kids playing young Simba and Nala especially. I bought the soundtrack at intermission, and it's still one of my favorites... besides Phantom and Wicked. :) The costumes were my favorite part, but the entire show was brilliant! 10 stars!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 71 of 71 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review