Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for How The Grinch Stole Christmas
Avg. Customer Review (3.9 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this .
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews
 


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Delightful and Great Fun!, Dec 29, 2013
reviewer: Desiree from San Antonio, Texas
The characters, costumes, and sets were captivating!! This performamce is ageless! We attended the performance with my parents, who are in their 80s and they laughed all the way through the show. Having the story narrated by Max, the dog, was unusually entertaining! This show provided a nice alternative to seeing the Nutcracker again this year!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Great play, Dec 29, 2012
reviewer: Anonymous from Detroit, Michigan
We took our son and granddaughter to this play as a Christmas gift. She loved it and we loved it. It was a great time! The cast was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

The worst!, Dec 25, 2012
reviewer: Ron Buckbee from New York, New York
This show was HORRIBLE. It is, without a doubt, the worst live performance I have ever seen. I would sit through Tarzan (the 2nd worst live show I have ever seen) a 100 times before I would watch this mess again. The musical score is forgettable as are the sets. The elder dog character is poorly done. I could not believe the amount of people that were complaining about the show upon its completion. People were walking out and my 6 year old begged to leave. What a mess! I would not recommend this show to anyone. Great dinner at Becco afterwards though.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

I'd take the seasick crocodile..., Dec 20, 2012
reviewer: Ethan from New York, New York
This was a first for me- I've never walked out of a play 20 min in before. I hate when "it's for kids" becomes an excuse for doing a piss-poor job at something. They butchered the story- went way off from any grinch story line I know- and rewrote it so carelessly even the 4 year old next to me heckled "thats not how the grinch goes!". The musical numbers reminded me of the snl skit where Fred Armiston and Kristen Wig are supposed to be musicians but it is obvious they are making up the lyrics as they go.. Max the dog narrates as an old dog, with plenty of scenes where he duets with a younger version of himself- suddenly we are in a bad tribute to time cop (only segal was a better actor than the dog). We were bored and pissed, the kids were bored and not interested, and even they knew this was a hack job. My advice? Find a high school performance of a christmas carol and save the $.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing!!, Dec 17, 2012
reviewer: Horatio from New York, New York
I saw this show a few years ago at the St. James Theater and (because it was so much fun!) had to go back this year at MSG. I'm still blown away by how well done it is. They really bring the entire "Whoville community" to life in a modern and thoughtful way without ever sacrificing the original intent of the adorable Dr. Seuss methodology. I left the theater humming "You're a Mean One!" Don't miss this show this year!! Although it should be a perennial favorite, who knows when it will play NYC again?? (PS where's the cast recording!?!?!?!) HB

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent!, Dec 16, 2012
reviewer: Heather from Columbus, OH
Drove from OH to Chicago to see this show & definitely no regrets. Whoever casted for this play couldn't have done a better job. The scenery, costumes, & actors were all perfect & actually one of the best shows I've seen. I definitely recommend this show to all ages!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

The Grinch, Dec 09, 2012
reviewer: Vanessa Baez from Boston, Massachusetts
Loved it! Great fun for the whole family! The Grinch was beautiful, and the cast was outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic, Dec 02, 2012
reviewer: Sandra from Boston, MA and Maine
Fantastic cast, superb costumes and my Granddaughters loved it! To be enjoyed by all, young and not so young! Bravo!,

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

best show ever, Dec 02, 2012
reviewer: natalia from Boston, Massachusetts
it was funny yet heart warming! a tradition that should live on for years to come! for ages old and young! small and tall! go see the grinch and have the best time of your life !

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

OK, Dec 02, 2012
reviewer: Michelle from Boston, Massachusetts
Definitely a cute show for kids under the age of 10. The sets were beautiful and the story very close to the book. The advertised run time was 90 minutes and we were out of the theater within 75 minutes. My only complaint is the price. $85 for 65 minutes of theater seems overpriced. We ate at Rustic Kitchen after. Excellent meal!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review