Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Of Mice and Men
Avg. Customer Review (4.8 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 9
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
 


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Great Play, HORRIBLE Audience, Jun 02, 2014
reviewer: Anya Marlin from New Jersey, USA
While Chris O'Dowd as Lennie was completely captivating, James Franco's acting range consisted primarily of raising the volume of his voice now and then. His acting style just doesn't translate to the stage and didn't match the realism and intensity of O'Dowd's. George is solid, but not stiff. However, none of this seems to bother the many bimbos in the audience who, raised on reality shows and video gaming and social media, can't seem to tell the difference between comedy and tragedy.....no, it's really not funny when Lennie snaps the neck of Curley's wife, or when he's shot by George. A gasp would be more fitting than giggles, which completely ruined the mood and play for me. This generation who can view blood and gore on Game of Thrones every week can't seem to handle a pretend staged gun shot...who knew? I want to apologize to all the fine actors, especially Jim Parrack as Slim, Jim Morton as Candy and Ron Jones as Crooks. You deserve a better audience!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Best spontaneous decision , May 14, 2014
reviewer: KATERINA from ATHENS, GREECE
I visited NYC last week and walked pass Longacre Theatre. I bought a ticket on impulse, mainly because I like the actors playing. I have rarely enjoyed a play so much,, excellent acting and stage setting. An extra bonus during my visit.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Best spontaneous decision , May 14, 2014
reviewer: KATERINA from ATHENS, GREECE
I visited NYC last week and walked pass Longacre Theatre. I bought a ticket on impulse, mainly because I like the actors playing. I have rarely enjoyed a play so much,, excellent acting and stage setting. An extra bonus during my visit.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Better Than Expected, May 08, 2014
reviewer: Rebecca Hall from New York, New York
Was thrilled to be able to see this show on May 3rd. All of the cast were great and Chris O'Dowd did not disappoint in any way. He pulled you into the story and was perfect in the part of Lennie After the show he graciously met with his fans and a young girl requested a picture with him which he willingly supplied with a kind smile. The only drawback was difficulty hearing at times. Great play. See it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Exquisite, May 08, 2014
reviewer: Joe from Maryland
Do not miss this play. Even though I had read 'Of Mice and Men', seeing this play was like hearing the story for the first time. This, to me, is a true indicator of how great this performance was done. The cast did a wonderful job. Chris O'Dowd was amazing. I'm sure, somewhere, John Steinbeck is beaming with pride over this fantastic portrayal of his novel. I would easily enjoy seeing this play again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

OF MICE AND MEN - WOW, TICKED ALL THE BOXES !, Apr 30, 2014
reviewer: Lisa Smith from Cannock, England
This was our first ever Broadway play and I must say it definately didn't disappoint. All the cast were brilliant. James Franco's portrayal of George was excellent and the on-stage chemistry with Chris O'Dowd was electric. Chris O'Dowd portrayed Lennie just how I envisaged it should be and, for me, he stole the show with an amazing performance. Thanks to the cast also for taking time out after the show to acknowledge their fans. All in all an amazing experience. The only down side, as echoed in another review, the seats were very small and tight but then again it is an old theatre with lots of character

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Highly recommend this show - Loved it!, Apr 27, 2014
reviewer: KV from Canada
My wife and I saw Of Mice and Men with our 14-year-old son and we all loved it. All the cast were terrific, but Chris O'Dowd was mesmerizing as Lenny. Stole every scene. Our son has been talking about the performance ever since we saw it. Fabulous production of a classic story. Try to see this show!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

James Franco and Chris o'Dowd worth every penny, Apr 06, 2014
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York
Excellent acting and on stage chemistry created a wonderful broadway experience. My daughter (16) is a HUGE James Franco and John Steinbeck fan- I know crazy, right? This was an incredible gift for her. She even gave $20 of her birthday money to the broadway cares bucket. Thanks James Franco for playing it up for the adoring audience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Phenomenal, Mar 27, 2014
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York
Saw the show on 3/22/14. In the past 25 years I a average about 8 broadway shows a year. By far this show was the best. The chemistry between all actors was perfect it made all the characters so believable. .I went to go see it because of James Franco - who was brilliant, but Chis O'Dowd stole the show. I cried, I laught, and loved every minute of it. When it was over I found myself wanting more. So I'm going back to see it again...I can't wait!!! YOU MUST SEE THIS SHOW!!! The only complaint was the theater is small and the seats are tight.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review