Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for The Book of Mormon
Avg. Customer Review (3.6 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews
Back to Paged View  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Sad Man Sad Entertainment, Jul 25, 2014
reviewer: Bobby Dias from USA
Designed to put the audience into mind of being losers so that the man onstage is the hero of whatever happens. Cannot you be happy so that the cast makes you even happier?!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Don't Underestimate Your Kids, Jul 13, 2014
reviewer: Elder Price from New York, New York
I'm 13 years old. And honestly, this show isn't anything your middle schooler hasn't encountered by now. Yes, it's raunchy, and rude, but to a kid, it's hilarious. For many kids, we understand that this is satire. We get that this show isn't literal. Yes, there are a boatload of sexual references and f bombs. But honestly, the kids at school are just as bad. If I were to worry about anything with kids and this show is that some kids will get the music stuck in their head. But we all have the sense not to sing Hasa Diga Eebowai in church. There is violence, but not major. If your kid watches PG13 movies, the violence isn't too much to handle. If anything, this show will open up discussion on many issues, such as AIDS, religion, warfare, and homophobia. Also, this is an amazing show. It's hilarious, and if doesn't take itself seriously in any way. (I've never seen the show live but I listen to the music and have watched the show online.) Just make sure your kids don't take to banging on doors and starting a chorus of Hello. Trust me. This is a not to miss show for MATURE kids 11 and older that know about sex and can take rude and offensive humor. But your kids may feel uncomfortable seeing this with their parents, so let them know that you think they are mature enough to see it, and DO NOT make your kids leave. It will only make them feel like little kids. Letting a kid watch this kind of show will tell them you know they are growing up and you are ready for them to grow.

Was this review helpful to you?  


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

VERY OFFENSIVE, Oct 24, 2013
reviewer: Heather A. from Olympia, WA
I feel that I have to warn people of faith (not mormon faith) that there is some very offensive humor directed at God and Christians in this play. I enjoyed the first part of the play immensely...poking fun at the idiosyncrasies of the mormon faith...very funny...however, it took a very sharp turn against faith of any sort and then went vulgar (violence against babies - yes, babies and women) and kept on going. The parts where they poked fun at mormonism were what I expected...fun, good natured...but I did not expect the vulgarity and utterly offensive ("f*** you God" was the theme) direction the play turned and never quite came back from...I enjoy irreverence...this was far beyond irreverent...just a warning... it was a $200+ per ticket mistake.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Worst EVER!, Sep 10, 2013
reviewer: JR from New York, New York
Do not waste your time or money on this show... Childish and totally non entertaining, we left after 30 minutes which seemed like a life time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I love this show!, Jul 22, 2013
reviewer: Richard from New York, New York
Best new musical I've seen since Wicked

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Big impact show, Jun 11, 2012
reviewer: Sandra from Miami
Saw Book of Mormon last Friday and loved it - the theatre was packed and the audience were in hysterics from the opening doorbell number. In true south park style the show gets pretty close to the knuckle on some of the gags, you have to be open minded to enjoy the show, but the comic timing of the lead actors was just brillant. Excellent show!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

fantastic!, Jun 15, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from New York
As good as it gets! Laugh-out-loud hilarious.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing show/venue, Jun 02, 2011
reviewer: Chip Tamplin from Cambridge, Maryland
Saw Book of Mormon during its previews in February and it was incredible. Coming to NY to see it again this weekend and I can't wait. One of the funniest shows I've ever seen. The theatre was also very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?  


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic, Apr 11, 2011
reviewer: Michael from New Jersey
Saw Book of Mormon last saturday night and loved it. A refeshing change on Broadway - a musical that really is new and has something to say. Worth seeing for sure.

Was this review helpful to you?  


59 of 66 people found the following review helpful:

O-M-Gosh, Feb 24, 2011
reviewer: Scott Watson from NYC
This performance was completely irreverent, only to be outdone by the atypical and no holes barred humor of Trey Parker and Matt Stone. This is most definitely a performance that I will be attending again, and soon! I generally avoid Broadway shows, but I would have regretted missing this one!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review