Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Cat on a Hot Tin roof
Avg. Customer Review (3.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 11
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews
Back to Paged View  


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

March 8, 2008, Mar 12, 2008
reviewer: F. Strickland from Atlanta, GA
This play was simply awesome anyone that is looking for a great night out. I recommend this play as the one to see and have dinner at one of the nearby restaurants. My guest and I perferred a brazillian near 48th. I would not carry my children below the age of 12 due to some of the language and sex indications, But I would take my mother. The cast was really in character and demonstrated the effects of being there with them in each performance. We really enjoyed this as Brick avoided Maggie, the noisy brother and his wife. We had perfect seating in the orch level on the fourth row seats D 103 etc. I would take others to see this play as the opportunity arises. I live in Atlanta hope to see that it makes it South to the Fox. This play was so real!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Audiance Out of Control, Mar 26, 2008
reviewer: David del Gaizo from New York, New York
The play was wonderful and the acting superb, however, it was nearly impossible to hear half of what was being said (and I was sitting in 5th row orch.) for all the eating, talking, texting, and audience seating throughout the first act and long after both intermissions. Perhaps it would help if the management made a pre-curtain announcement instructing the audience in theatre etiquette. Unless something is done to rectify this situation it's not worth the $100.00 ticket price.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Cat On a Hot Tin Roof, Mar 27, 2008
reviewer: Toni from New York
Debbie Allen should sit in the audience for one or two performances so she can see that Brick could not be heard at all, not even from 5th row center. The entire audience was complaining. Shame on Debbie Allen for allowing this to continue-ruining a show that has potential to win all awards-this will hinder any chance of that happening. Poor directing.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Great Performances, Mar 28, 2008
reviewer: Bonita Butner from Kansas City, MO
Phylicia Rashad was wonderful as Big Mama! Her range of emotions was extraordinary. Tennessee Williams writes stories that are very complex and all of the actors provided nuanced performances that supported the script. Bravo! My only suggestion, TURN ON THE AIR! The theatre was very warm with a full house.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Brick-SPEAK UP!, Mar 27, 2008
reviewer: Claudia from Anytown, AT 55555
Brick's voice did not project well. The audience was quiet throughout the entire show. Brick could not be heard (13th row right). The audience missed the entire touching scene with his father and his entire dialogue. He should be given a microphone. Where's Ms. Allen - why hasn't this been corrected already? Tickets are expensive-we expect to be able to hear the cast.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Brick Speak Up - Count Stovall as Big Daddy - NOT GOOD, Apr 17, 2008
reviewer: Theater Lover from New York, New York
Ditto as other comments. We were in Orchestra seating on April 10th and could barely hear Brick. I saw Debbie Allen in the balcony - the pitch of his voice is too low. This is theater not a movie set - she should have corrected this by now. Further Count Stovall messed up his lines so much it drove Howard to start laughing. Not funny at over $100 per ticket. If you can't see it with James Earl Jones, lower your expectations. Everyone else seemed to be overacting to compensate for Stovall - perhaps Jones' stage presence was that missed? The gem was Maggie The Cat. Overall - not so impressed and expected to be!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Maggie Speak Up, Apr 20, 2008
reviewer: Louise Bell from Ohio, USA
My husband and I were familiar with the story. As classic theater, it was more dated than I expected. Hence the reason for the 3 stars. The acting was wonderful. James Earl Jones and Phylicia Rashad lived up to expectations. We could hear everyone but Maggie. Her acting was fine. She did not project her voice enough to be heard. We missed about half of her dialogue. The brother and sister were great and we would have liked to have seen more of them. They were especially good when their children performed for Big Daddy. A warning is in order for those not familiar with this play. Many in the audience apparently came for the stars not realizing the serious nature of the play nor expecting some of the language from these particular actors. During intermission, there were many shocked comments by others.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

WE COULD NOT HEAR!, May 01, 2008
reviewer: Jennifer from Upper Marlboro, MD USA
I sat on the 2nd row of the mezzanine level, 4/28. I and many of the fans that watched the show intensely could not hear many of the words that Big Daddy was saying. It looks like from the other reviews I read, others couldn't hear, at times, as well. I think the theater could use more microphones and speakers. I was upset to say the least. Also, theater goers need to have more theater etiquette and respect for others and turn "off" those cell phones! RUDE!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Performances, Disrespectful Audience, May 06, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Hartsdale, New York
Cat On A Hot Tin Roof Saturday 8pm, May3, 2008 A well acted drama by "all performers." Boris Kodjoe played the role of Brick. There was obvious chemistry between the characters Big Daddy and Brick. Brick showed strong disdain for himself and of Maggie. Maggie was on fire spilling her emotions for all to hear and see. Unfortunately, the audience in the the back orchestra where we were sitting was a huge disappointment. At times the women in front of us were talking above Maggie in the first act. After asking for quiet during intermission we were greeted with the response "we paid our price for these tickets just like you.'' Sad to see this behavior. It is disrespectful to the audience and the actors.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Cat on a Hot Tin roof, Jun 02, 2008
reviewer: Linda Sunwall from Little Rock, Arkansas
We attended Fri - May 30th, 2008 and was very disappointed in the sound in the Theatre. We could not hear the actors in the Mezzaniene -- some of their words were not enunsiated and volume was low. Others around us were complaining as well that they could not understand them or hear them. We would like a refund of our tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I can't hear you -Where is Terrence Howard?, May 19, 2008
reviewer: Theresa from Baltimore, Md
I was very disappointed - Terrence Howard and Phylicia Rashad did not perform on May 16th and I paid double the price on the secondary market. Had great seats but had trouble hearing Maggie - projection problems. The audience was not familiar with the classic and they were cell phone junkies. Help me ..I can't stop whining!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Cat on a Hot Tin roof, Jun 02, 2008
reviewer: Linda Sunwall from Little Rock, Arkansas
We attended Fri - May 30th, 2008 and was very disappointed in the sound in the Theatre. We could not hear the actors in the Mezzaniene -- some of their words were not enunsiated and volume was low. Others around us were complaining as well that they could not understand them or hear them. We would like a refund of our tickets.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Okay show, Jun 15, 2008
reviewer: Camilla from Maryland
Terrance Howard cancelled his appearance for the June 7th matinee show. I was so disappointed. The understudy was good but no Terrance Howard. Maggie's lines were spoken extremely fast and I had to really concentrate to keep up with her. Phylicia Rahshad was very good and James Earl Jones was fantastic. Being able to see many actors at the stage door after the play made up for the other disappointments.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review