Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for rodgers & Hammerstein's Cinderella
Avg. Customer Review (3.7 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 19
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews
Back to Paged View  


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

UPDATED FOR THE 21st CENTURY AUDIENCE, Feb 15, 2013
reviewer: It's possible and it was! from Newark, NJ
Calling Baby Boomers who remember the TV version from 50 years ago, yes 50 years ago. It was slow moving, with some comedy, and would have probably been considered boring to the 21st century audience. So what is one to do? Update it, leaving all of the wonderful original music of course because afterall THAT is what makes this Rogers and Hammerstein's Cinderalla, not Disney Cinderella, add some 21st century humor, and expand the story by giving the 'kingdom', and all of the main characters more depth. I thought this rendition was great, especially Lord Pendleton and the Fairy Godmother. The singing was crisp, chorus right on point - a few of the dancing performances of the chorus were complex and were executed with appropriate vigor without pause or (obvious) error. If you have not seen the ORIGINAL Rogers and Hammerstein's Cinderella I do not think you will truly appreciate this remake. Sorry, but you had to be there.

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

????????, Feb 12, 2013
reviewer: Disgruntled Fairy Tale lover from New York, New York
The only reason I am giving this play 2 stars is because the performers, sets, and costumes were wonderful. I can't for the life of me understand why anyone would butcher this story! I took my 20 year old daughter to what we thought would be the story we both grew up loving. This IS NOT that story it has been completely changed into some kind of political statement. Do NOT bring young girls to this play they will be bored and confused. Without giving away everything, I can only tell you that NOTHING is the same. How they got away with calling it Cinderella I don't know. The only reason we didn't walk out at the intermission was because we wanted to hear the beautiful songs of Rogers and Hammerstein!

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 20 people found the following review helpful:

She needed to not be flying in the finale., Feb 10, 2013
reviewer: Bonnie G from New York, New York
First of all your prince was lackluster and although they taught him the dance steps and he did them - he is not dancer. There are so many talented performers, it is odd that they settled. He is cute and charming but that is not enough. Cinderella was adequate but again there is better out there. At least she could dance. The last scene was a travesty. Everything about it was ridiculous including the fairy godmother hanging up there.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 22 people found the following review helpful:

4 year old totally disappointed , Feb 11, 2013
reviewer: Rain from Long Island, New York
Took my 4 year old daughter to the show. She dressed herself in the blue Cinderella gown and was so excited to see the show! Well my daughter complained the entire time saying Cinderella isn't dressed like her (her gown wasn't blue, it was white and the other was gold, "she looks like Belle" my daughter said) or looks like the Cinderella she has come to know and love. The story was so different from what she knows also. In the very beginning there is a big tree monster that terrified her to bits and she is still scared about it 2 weeks later! If I didn't take her I would probably give the show closer to 4 stars. We both loved the dresses and and the singing but again if I knew that they would change the story so much and make a political statement in the story as well I would have never taken her and just went with friends.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Why mess with enchantment?, Feb 11, 2013
reviewer: A.N.P. from New Jersey
In all its previous incarnations, Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella was a charming musical with a gently humorous book and glorious, lyrical songs (orchestrated with a subtle homage to Richard Strauss). The current Broadway version is still largely charming, beautifully sung and danced, imaginatively staged, and remarkably, magically costumed. However, the story is now bogged down by political messaging, and the score, reorchestrated without the Viennese flourishes, has been sullied by uninspired additions from the R&H canon. Producers, if you want social messaging, stage South Pacific. I'm grateful this production retained enough of Cinderella's original magic to deliver A Lovely Night of theater.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant, Feb 10, 2013
reviewer: Melissa L. from Thornwood, New York
Everything from the opening scene to the curtain call was fantastic. The costume changes on stage were great, as I'm still trying to figure out how Ella changed into her gold dress in the blink of an eye. I thought that the cast was wonderful and Osnes was brilliant. My mother and I are huge Cinderella fans and this show had us entertained from start to finish. I would recommend this to men, woman and children of all ages. Well done!!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Captivating MUST SEE, Feb 24, 2013
reviewer: Larry D from New York, New York
This "updated" version of Cinderella is enchanting and beautiful. Rodgers and Hammerstein's winning score is delivered wonderfully by the vocals of Laura Osnes, Santino Fontana, Victoria Clarke, Harriet Harris and a strong supporting supporting cast. The costumes and sets are amazing; vivid, captivating and you will definitely wonder how images change before your eyes! I loved the story "updates" which give Cinderella a new life and a very joyous ending. If you are a fan of the TV version of Cinderella (I've always enjoyed the Lesley Ann Warren version) you will not be disappointed. Great and well worth the price of admission!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

What Show was this?, Feb 18, 2013
reviewer: shore33 from lavallette, new jersey
I grew up with every version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella and I've always been partial to the Lesley Ann Warren version. The current Broadway production is so far off from every previous version I've ever seen and at one point I was wondering if I was watching the right show. The sets and consumes were amazing. I hated the addition of characters, the subtraction of old characters, and the political aspects now involved in the show. It was like the French Revolution plus Aladdin equals Cinderella. Also, there were some songs that were changed, which I didn't care for, and some new ones added from the Rodgers and Hammerstein catalogue. The first act was really rough, but the second act started to have potential. I think with some tweaking, Cinderella could be a fabulous addition to Broadway. Cut the unnecessary characters, reinstate the old ones, and tell the Rodgers and Hammerstein story that made people fall in love with Cinderella in the first place.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

if you wanted same old...., Feb 23, 2013
reviewer: JC from Chicago
then watch the tv version. The updating was smart, lighthearted, and overall charming. The casting and acting were all top notch Broadway. Truly inspired sets and costumes. The show got better and better as it went along. Brilliant scene changes as well. Never thought the least compelling part of the show would be the occasional clunker from R&H songbook. Give up your expectations for a stodgy rerun and have a good time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

All Ages Astonished, Feb 26, 2013
reviewer: Scott from York, PA
I saw the production with my family this weekend -- all of whom are familiar with the 1950s/1960s versions of the R&H production -- and from 11 years old to 73 years old, we all absolutely LOVED it -- my 11-year-old niece sitting next to me actually gasped in awe countless times throughout the show! Laura Osnes was born to play the role of Cinderella, and Victoria Clark's fairy godmother was sung and acted beautifully. Harriet Harris and Ann Harada were charming as the "evil" characters, and Santino Fontana was great as the prince. I'm not sure what show some of the negative reviewers saw, but it certainly wasn't the same one I saw. This show should be around for a long time -- one of the best family-friendly shows running in New York right now.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

What Show was this?, Feb 18, 2013
reviewer: shore33 from lavallette, new jersey
I grew up with every version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's Cinderella and I've always been partial to the Lesley Ann Warren version. The current Broadway production is so far off from every previous version I've ever seen and at one point I was wondering if I was watching the right show. The sets and consumes were amazing. I hated the addition of characters, the subtraction of old characters, and the political aspects now involved in the show. It was like the French Revolution plus Aladdin equals Cinderella. Also, there were some songs that were changed, which I didn't care for, and some new ones added from the Rodgers and Hammerstein catalogue. The first act was really rough, but the second act started to have potential. I think with some tweaking, Cinderella could be a fabulous addition to Broadway. Cut the unnecessary characters, reinstate the old ones, and tell the Rodgers and Hammerstein story that made people fall in love with Cinderella in the first place.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

its possible, Feb 23, 2013
reviewer: D. C. from Brick, New Jersey
If you loved the original with Leslie Ann Warren, you will love this show. Costumes are great. Especially changing from rags to a beautiful ball gown. Stepsisters were very funny. Fairy godmother wonderful voice. The only thing i wished if the actors portraying Cinderella and Prince sang a bit louder. It is not the Disney version. I wouldn't recommend it for young children. I loved it, just like the original.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Feb 25, 2013
reviewer: Loved it from Lubbock. Texas
We have watched numerous broadway productions and loved this one! While I went with my husband, we remarked numerous times how much our 4 year old daughter would have loved it. It is not the exact Disney remake and I didn't expect it to be. The performers were amazing and the set was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A truly magical Broadway musical!, Feb 25, 2013
reviewer: Tony from Washington DC.
This show was amazing. The actors were top notch, the sets and costumes were amazing, songs were amazing, of course from R&H, the choreography and direction was very well done, and the updated book by Douglas Carter Beane was funny and lighthearted in the right ways. The transformations alone are worth the ticket price. Take your children and take them with you to see what a real Broadway musical looks like. Run don't walk

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

If it ain't broke why make flawed atttempts to fix it, Feb 27, 2013
reviewer: Paisley from Long Island, New York
I saw the show opening night with a friend, a generation gap between us. The costumes,cast, singing voices (the announcer: The Prince is having a ball... was a standout.)sets, orchestra, lighting and special effects truly rated a 5! However, the needless "updating" was ridiculous. The "updates" were stolen from Harry Potter,(yes, the Brothers Grimm did it first and best)It was a nice touch that one of the step sisters wasn't much of a bad egg after all, but the scene stealing Ann Harada's step sister was a rip off of Melissa Mc Carthy's "Bridesmaids' character. For young girls growing up with this version of the prince, I feel sorry for them. The Prince is clueless, and needs Ella to clue him into what's really going on in his kingdom.Rodgers and Hammerstein, people not Disney. If being a 21st century sophisticate means stealing from other works and throwing in political garbage, count me out. Cinderella is a FAIRY TALE, don't we live with enough reality these days.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

If it isn't broke, Feb 28, 2013
reviewer: Sharon from New York, New York
I went to see the show last night. The orignal book by Oscar Hammerstein which I knew and loved was barely there. This version tinkered too much with the original story. Gone were the King and Queen replaced by Lord Pendelton and Jean Michel. Neither character is worthy of being included in the story. Pendelton competes with the Evil Stepmother to see who is more evil. Jean Michel is a bore. Ella as she is known here never "looses" her slipper and the scene of the trying on of the slipper was bland. The political add on was awkward to say the least. One star for the young lady who played Ella with such poise. Ella's dresses were more like a little girl's dress up trunk than a costume befitting Cinderella. Singing and dancing were good but the story line change was a big disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Mr.Magical Ramsey, Aug 09, 2013
reviewer: Cassio Lopes from Jundiai Sao Paulo Brazil
Dear Mr.Ramsey I hope this message can be reach you. My name is Cassio Lopes from Brazil and during our stay in NY you could help me and my family to see the show because I made a mistake and I bought tickets for a wrong date. I would like to thank you again and just to say that you really know how to overcome customers expectations. You are really a good manager. Cassio Lopes and Family

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Lovely!!!, Aug 12, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York
Thanks to the entire cast and all those who worked on this marvelous production! As a child, I watched the t.v. version with Lesley-Anne Warren so many times that I know the lyrics to all of the songs. The new Broadway version is enchanting, lighthearted and the set and costume changes nothing short of enchanting. Beautiful singing, dancing and those glass slippers - sigh! Thanks for a magical night - my entire family loved it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Fran Drescher is amazing in this!!, Mar 13, 2014
reviewer: Nicole D. from New York, New York (I actually live in San Antonio Texas)
When I was deciding what show to see I picked this one along with some other shows at random not knowing about the fact that my /the Queen of comedy Fran Drescher was gonna be on stage just a couple feet in front of me!!! In her own words from her hit show the Nanny I was "Plotzing". Other than me totally "fan-girlling" over Fran, I can honestly say that her performance and the performance of the rest of the cast and everyone involved in the production was absolutely wonderful and truly captivating to the eyes, of course my eyes were glued to Fran, but I mean the rest was just as captivating.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review