Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Curtains
Avg. Customer Review (4.9 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 20
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews
Back to Paged View  


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Great fun evenings entertainment, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: Geoffrey and Pauline Wanstall from England
We saw the show on our last night in NY and we are so glad we did! We are great English fans of David Hyde Pierce in Frasier and he was quite amazing! We had no idea he could sing and dance so well too!! The cast are all so talented and the story quite different for a musical but very entertaining. We could only get seats in the rear of the mezzanine but the view was perfect and (so importantly) we could hear every single word spoken and sung. If you like musical theatre don't miss this one!

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Curtains way up for 'Curtains', Mar 05, 2007
reviewer: Patfrancis@mybluelight.com from new york
What one would look for in musical comedy, they will find in "Curtains." Mix together terrific acting-dancing-loads of laughs- two (not one two) show-stopping numbers ("thataway" and 'its just business')ad you have a smash musical comedy. If your'e not laughing out load, you're smiling all the way through. David Hyde Pierce and Debra Monk are, as always, outstanding. But you can't take your eyes off Karen Ziemba, shes that good in the "thataway" number. There should be a bigger pause so the actors get the proper applause for that number. All featured players are excellent. Hint: Speed up the ending bows. It takes to long and ruins the quick action fun of the evening. This is the type of musical that Broadway used to have before we went Opera-or Miz. Its fun and I hope it has a healthy run. I, for one, plan to see it again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

One of the best Broadway shows ever!!!!, Apr 01, 2007
reviewer: Linda Gengaro from Bloomfield, N.J.
I didn't think it possible, but David Hyde Pierce surpassed his performance in Spamalot with his brilliant portrayal of the detective in Curtains. The entire ensemble was outstanding, with singing and dancing that rivals any other Broadway production I've ever seen. The witty script kept everyone entertained and laughing throughout. I had premium seats for the performance I attended, and although I'm definitely not sorry I did, I think even those people seated in the Mezzanine had a great view of the stage. Can actually say that it is a show that I would see and enjoy a second time around. I highly recommend it to any fun loving person looking for an entertaining night on the town. I rate this as one of my favorite Broadway shows ever, right up there with Wicked. Would be suprised to find anyone who sees this show to say they didn't love it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

AWESOME PURE ENTERTAINMENT, Jun 01, 2007
reviewer: Claire from Wales, UK
I came all the way from Wales, UK to see the show, all I can say is it was worth it. It was so great to see a funny show, with fantastic songs, so many of the new musicals are dark & miserable. The cast was outstanding, Debra Monk was phenomenal, it has prompted me to write my first ever fan letter at the age of 38!!! PLEASE come to London so I can see it again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

The Quintessential Broadway Show, Mar 11, 2007
reviewer: Denise from New Jersey
I go to about five Broadway musicals a year, so I'm pretty judgmental about the shows I see. I had no idea what to expect when I went to see Curtains in previews, but I came out of the theater smiling, humming, and excited about this wonderful show. It really has it all--incredibly appealing and talented cast (many of whom I recognized from TV), memorable musical numbers, awesome lighting, staging, and costumes. David Hyde Pierce and Karen Ziemba are incredible, but Debra Monk is my personal favorite. I would buy tickets again just to see her in the "It's just show business" number. I loved the way in which the stars came out for their final bows--I didn't want to leave the theater anyway! Thank you, Cast, for signing autographs after the show!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Great performances, wonderful music; pure fun!, Mar 22, 2007
reviewer: GAIL from Metuchen, NJ
If you are a musical comedy fan, treat yourself to a performance that is so much fun you'll be laughing and smiling for hours after the curtain falls. The performances are terrific and the energy of the cast is contagious. Four of us went and we all enjoyed it equally. Go and have a wonderful time!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

The Best Musical Comedy I Have Ever Seen!, Mar 17, 2007
reviewer: Carol from New Jersey
This was the most clever, at times tender, hysterically funny musical comedy I have ever seen! The entire cast was extraordinarily talented from their comedic timing to their sensational voices and dance numbers! This was entertainment at its finest. Even the final curtain call was a masterpiece -- paying attention to clever nuances that continued to entertain. (I don't want to give anything away.) I smiled all the way home! I am not one for seeing a Broadway show twice, but I can't wait to see this one again!! David Hyde Pierce, I love you!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Don't Miss This Show!, Mar 18, 2007
reviewer: Adria from Ocean, NJ USA
What a delight to see a broadway show that makes you forget about the outside world for a while... The dancing was incredible, the costumes spectacular, the sets superb, the singing and orchestra fantastic! Just a wonderful wonderful musical that you shouldn't miss!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Best show in town!, Mar 29, 2007
reviewer: Jennifer Fernandez from Norfolk, VA
I left the theatre in sheer amazement. It has been awhile since I have seen a musical that embodied all the elements that make it a hit. Curtains has captured not only those elements, but the audience as well. From start to finsh, Curtains is a delight!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

If you liked Oklahoma! ..., Mar 23, 2007
reviewer: Jonathan Kutner from Dallas, TX USA
This is a fun show with lots of song and dance, a playful plot (which is a play within a play), and very good acting. There's one memorable song ("I Miss the Music") sung by a wonderful tenor; the others are nice but not memorable. My wife and I left the theater smiling and glad we went (on the spur of the moment) the night before opening.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Wildly entertaining!, Mar 18, 2007
reviewer: Valerie from Beachwood, NJ
This show is a definite must see for musical comedy fans... David Hyde Pierce is amazing, as is Debra Monk. I thoroughly enjoyed every single minute of this show. The theatre is beautiful and the show within a show premise is so wonderfully entertaining. The sets are all stunning... I especially loved the "dream" scene with Nikki and her Detective - it reminded me so much of the old Ziegfield days. Everything about the show is total genius... even the conductor is terrific!! All I can say is... don't miss this show. It is sure to get a Tony award... no matter what, in my opinion it is a winner!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Musical Comedy At Its Best, Apr 10, 2007
reviewer: John from Los Angeles, CA
This is a great and fantastic musical with a combination of boffo music, comedy and performances. David Hyde Pierce is the star and glue of the show but the show is well cast. Another great Kander and Ebb musical well directed and choreographed. There were several of us who saw the show and believe it should be a Tony contender as a show and David Hyde Pierce certainly as the lead male. It is a show you can see over and over again and the energy of the audience cannot help but draw you in.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Make this a must see if you visit NYC, Nov 02, 2007
reviewer: Biffo from UK
First time family trip to New York from UK. Decided to see this show - it is fantastic a glorious mix of comedy and musical. Certainly no shortage of laughter with the audience virtually queing up to give a standing ovation. This show and all the cast deserve your attention - you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Curtains are very up, Apr 18, 2007
reviewer: Seymour Tenenbaum from Oceanside, New York
What a joy to see something that is neither politically correct nor offensive. Just a silly musical that you can enjoy with a production number thrown in just for the fun of it. And it has a score that you can remember and actually hum. Thankfully, the cast plays no instruments; they can sing and dance and they do it extraordinarily well. The entire cast does an outstanding job with a special thanks from me to Karen Ziemba who is truly incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful Entertainment, Apr 27, 2007
reviewer: DB from Boston, MA
We so enjoyed this play. The actors were wonderful, professional, talented and funny. The time went by so fast and we just loved it. We were so glad we picked this play over all the others playing in New York at that time. David Hyde Pierce is just as wonderful as he was on Frazier, and Debra Monk; well she stole the show and all the other actors were so talented. It was wonderful and I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

comedy/musical at it's best, May 16, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
In New York recently on holiday, I decided to go and see this show and this proved a wise choice. What a fantastic show! The musical numbers were superb and there were a lot of laughs. David Hyde Pierce (Niles from Frasier) was superb and had great support from the large cast. Another actor from Frasier (Gill Chesterton!) had some great lines as well. The show was a bit Calamity Jane meets 42nd Street meets a traditional whodunnit. Well worth going to see.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic!, Mar 26, 2008
reviewer: Cate from TN
This musical was amazing! I went to see it and it was my first show on Broadway. Although my groups definition of family friendly didn't match the ticket place's, we all enjoyed it. I bought the soundtrack and can't stop listening to it. The songs are catchy and easy to remember. The acting was phenomenal! Everything was just great!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

the best ever, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: JUan Cervantes from Minneapolis, MN
we came all the way from minnesota to see this play and it was worth it..very professional. loved NYC

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

The Wedding Singer with Constantine Maroulis, May 29, 2007
reviewer: Kirsten S. from PA USA
I saw The Wedding Singer at the time when Constantine Maroulis was playing the part of Sammy. I'd say it was a very entertaining musical with excellent singers, especially Maroulis. :). This is a good show for any age in my opinion. I went with my mother. She's 40. I'm 14. We both adored it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Make this a must see if you visit NYC, Nov 02, 2007
reviewer: Biffo from UK
First time family trip to New York from UK. Decided to see this show - it is fantastic a glorious mix of comedy and musical. Certainly no shortage of laughter with the audience virtually queing up to give a standing ovation. This show and all the cast deserve your attention - you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review