Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for The Vertical Hour
Avg. Customer Review (3.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 12
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
Back to Paged View  


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

possibly the worst, Nov 16, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
this was perhaps one of the worst plays i have ever seen. We anticipated a solid evening, based on the very talented cast and director. However, not only is the plot flat and basically 2 hours of a political argument about the Iraq war, but Julianne Moore is flat and totally unlikable. THe only bright spot was Bil Nighy. Four of us went together and 3 of us actually FELL ASLEEP at one point. Dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Loved Nighy, Nov 29, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Jersey City, NJ
Went to see Bill Nighy and was not disappointed - he was his typical spectacular self. Julianna Moore's character had lots of "deep" thoughts but there was an emptiness to some of them. She was delightful in her typical way, but the character was flat and all the great lines were written for Bill. Her character/acting just didn't generate much response in me - I felt pretty neutral about her. Overall I was happy with the content and direction. Set was gorgeous and simple. Had a fabulous prix fixe dinner at the 21 Club before with free parking. Monday night was a great night to go because the city was quieter.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Gets better and better, Dec 26, 2006
reviewer: Beth from New York, NY
I've seen this play three times so far, and it gets better and better. The cast has definitely settled in since the third preview, and there are little touches here and there that help. Seeing it again, it becomes clear why Nadia (Julianne Moore's character) so often comes off as "flat" in the first act...but to reveal why would give away a good deal of the second. It's not an easy play, and there is a lot of subtelty, but there is SO much in there. And yes, now that it's opened and Julianne's settled into the character, when she lets fly, she lets fly. Just not in Act One...for reasons that, like I said, become obvious in Act Two. I love this play...but then I've never been one who likes easy answers all tied up in a bow.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Almost there, Nov 15, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from New york city
There was much anticipation of seeing the great julianne moore and bill knightly on broadway. And, with director Sam Mendes- how could it miss? It's a very smart, topical play- it hits home to many of us and challenges our thinking and our politics and actions. However, Julianne Moore comes across very flat....so little emotion that even when she screems, it has little effect. We were all hoping for more from her- brilliant as she is. Bill Knightly was a star.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

missing, Nov 20, 2006
reviewer: blondie from new york city
Mendes was brilliant as always. The staging and the movement were masterfully done and at times I felt as if I am on the lawn with the group and almost wanted to chime in. Especially when all the actors were in full gear. Oliver was phenomenal, but it almost felt as if he was playing himself. Couldn't help but feel I've seen this character before. Philip was very good, though smug at times, emotion which seemed a little unnecessary under the circumstances. I would opt for indignation. Nadia was a little lost. I felt she lacked confidence someone like her should have. At times, it also felt like she was simply saying lines, not acting, which was annoying, because her counterparts were actually acting. She has the strength and the power for stage, but she has not implemented it fully. Hare's text needs a little revision. There were a lot of lines that were simply out of place. For example, statements like yes would be followed by an explanation. Americans don't speak like that.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

In search of a good editor, Nov 27, 2006
reviewer: W Moonan from NY NY
On the positive side, it's great to have a play with such timely discussion of the war in Iraq. On the negative side, the Moore character doesn't have enough subtlety written into it. Play is at least a half hour too long. Too preachy. First act has wordy, didactic speeches that could easily be cut. Second act is better,but the entire ending should be pared WAY down. Final scene should be cut altogether. Music, lighting and sets are good. Acting is good. The play is the problem.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Skillful execution, Feb 09, 2007
reviewer: Eric M. from New York, NY
I admit I went to see Julianne Moore and I'm glad that I did. Bill Nighy gave a spectacular performance and I daresay one of the most expert displays of acting that I've ever seen. His engagement of the audience and complete immersion in the character had me actually feeling that this was truly his story. Andrew Scott showed a remarkable talent for playing across the text and allowing the words of the play to stand on their own. He filled out his character with NEW information and created a full 3D character that you could connect with. Julianne is a phenomenal actress but I think her Movie chops got in the way of a great performance. When it was time for her "close-up" she evoked strong emotion and truly made my heart feel the pain of the character. But...It wasn't a complete portrayal. She can learn about "constant" character from Bill and textual analysis from Andrew and turn a hit and miss performance into a masterpiece. Play:Topical, interesting, smart, funny.Cast A+

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

contemporary political divisions find universal truths, Mar 12, 2007
reviewer: Nubby Alpern from New York
All you could possibly expect from the theater. Great acting, intense plot, beautiful and imaginative sets and challenging ideas. Iraq, yes or no? Responsibility, loyalty, committment, freedom, and taking action all issues dealt with. The vision of a still imature U.S., brash and idealogical compared to a staid Europe, cautious and jaded makes for great dialogue and lots of humor as well as some heavy emotion. Bill Nighy, Jullianne Moore are superb with a great supporting cast and David Hare once more demonstrates his skill with words.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Hurry!!!!, Nov 27, 2006
reviewer: disgusted from NYC
If you don't, you'll miss it. It'll open, get absolutely devastating reviews it fully deserves, and will promptly close in total disgrace.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Lackluster, Nov 30, 2006
reviewer: cliff from New York
This play seemed to come from a freshman dorm room where the charachters are naively discussing politics of the day. It is condesending. Julian Moore's character is one dimensional and I was completly bored. Definetely a miss.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Very Disappointing, Nov 30, 2006
reviewer: anonymous from Brooklyn, NY USA
I looked forward to seeing sparks fly, and I saw none. I am not sure whether it's the play or the acting but I tend to think it's the latter. Bill Nighy is so charming, interesting and sexy -- but apparently Julianne Moore doesn't feel the same, judging by her performance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

confused, Dec 04, 2006
reviewer: Tiffany Amspacher from York, PA
I just saw this show on saturday. I was not as anxious to see it as I had been when I bought the tickets because of all the bad reviews. I expected to see what everyone had written about...a dull play that lacked emotion. Boy was I in for a suprise. I have see many broadway shows and this is one of my favorites. I thought the script was phenominal and the acting superb. Not only was it dramatic, but hilariously funny (which suprised me). The chemistry between the actors was very tangible. I was on the edge of my seat to see where the relationships were going. I thought the first scence was a little dead, but as soon as Nadia arrived at her boyfriends father's house the play took off. I would reccommend this play to anyone. I'm actually buying another ticket to see this show again. I am so dumbfounded by all the negative reviews that I have read. Julianne Moore was great (not the best that I have seen her, but it was a great performance) and Bill was just amazing!!! Tiffany

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Surprisingly good, Dec 23, 2006
reviewer: E from New York, NY, USA
Most summaries of the play mentoned this huge sexual chemistry and romantic issues. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was in fact a political drama. While Moore's performance is somewhat lacking, Nighy is wonderful and Andrew Scott is amazing. Another interesting aspect is that both sides of the debate about the Iraq war are equally debated. This is a show that is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Please, not to softly., Feb 04, 2007
reviewer: Anthony Annunziato from Garden City,NY 11530
I enjoyed the play and obvious artistry of the performers.Julianne is a very beautiful lady and shows such grace and stage presence. Bill Nighy is so magnicficent in language and speech. His hand gestures are incredibly important to what he says and how he moves on stage; also he seems to bring forth the pathos of the spoken word by his very movements. The cast is very talented. The only negative thing was the audio aspect of the play. Julianne and Bill at times could not be heard in the rear right wing(orchestra) section of the theatre But I certainly loved the thrill of the moment ..great cast....GREAT PERFOMMANCES! Sincerely, Anthony Annunziato( the gentle and humble critic) Please explain what the term, Verticle Hour means? No one about us could hear her explanation.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

subtle enjoyment, Jan 24, 2007
reviewer: paul from US
moore's character builds on you during the play from a rote professiorial academic to someone who finally realizes what is important to her both personnally and professionally. and bill's character and performance is truly admirable; its a wake up call for what's really important in our lives as inhabitants of the planet. and phillipp is a up and coming star who performs quite well with a role that is direct and consequential. worth seeing .

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review