Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Bengal Tiger At The Baghdad Zoo
Avg. Customer Review (2.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 11
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews
Back to Paged View  


9 of 26 people found the following review helpful:

See something else, Mar 13, 2011
reviewer: David hines from New York
What a piece of garbage. Robin Williams seemed hesitant and not well rehearsed. I had the choice of this or Chicago. I got suckered by the guy in the TKTS line. Zero people were buying shirts. The theatre was 3/4 full. I guess the atheists liked it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

loved this show, Mar 19, 2011
reviewer: V.Stoltz from Virginia
I saw this show - without Robin Williams - in Los Angleles last year, loved it, and jumped at the opportunity to see it again in NY. If you are looking for something upbeat, or are expecting an evening of laughs centered around the light-hearted comedy of Robin Williams, you will likely be disappointed and perhaps shocked by some of the seriousness and dark humor of this show. But if you are looking for a probing look into how war can alter and slowly erode one's values, or gain some sense of the chaos and absurdity of those who have no choice but to live in a war-torn nation - and yet have room for the glimpses of true beauty that do sometimes emerge among this chaos, then you will likely gain considerable insight from this show. The play is a wonderful mixture of imagination, magic realism, philosophy, and yes, bleakness and horror. The acting is impressive, haunting, and memorable, and yes, Robin Williams does make a very good philosopher/tiger

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Mar 16, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from New York
This play took my breath away. What an amazing story about the relative nature of good and evil. The example used to illustrate this concept were some the brutal realities of the war in Iraq. I enjoy documentaries and that is what this play felt like. It had strong language and adult content, making it seem even more authentic to the situation. If you are looking for something light, this is not the play for you. I thought the acting and depth that the actors brought to the characters was amazing. I would highly recommend this show for all adults.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

waste of money, Mar 18, 2011
reviewer: barblongisland from New York
What a disappointment - we left at intermission. The language, the plot development, the lack of continuity - and how uncomfortable for my 80 year old mother to listen to the F word said approximately 57 times in the first act.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Political - Not funny satire, Mar 14, 2011
reviewer: Jan from PA
This play looked promising but ended up being depressing and full of political and religious references/satire. I was expecting an intelligent, well thought out and funny performance. It wasn't worth going to Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful!, Apr 03, 2011
reviewer: Chris from New york
Most of the negative reviews seemed to be written by people who either missed the point of the play or went expecting a Robin Williams stand-up type performance. We saw it last night and found it to be engaging and fast moving. If you are going to see a stand-up comedy show you will be disappointed. Check your political or religious ax at the door, open your mind and enjoy the ride!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Horrible experience, but at least we saw Robin Williams live, Mar 20, 2011
reviewer: Samantha from New York
With high expectations we decided to spend a Saturday night watching this play. Both my husband and I were shocked with horrible actors' performance in the opening act. Further scenes were random and pointless. In the end we caught a few laughs and the performance was over. The entire experience was not worth the money, very frustrating and disappointing! Hey, but at least we saw Robin Williams live!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Don't Waste your money or your time!!!!!, Mar 30, 2011
reviewer: Nino Russo from Brooklyn NY
This is the WORST play I ever saw. Any side of the political spectrum you are from will not jusity what they tried to create in this play. I loved HOOK, Dead Poets society, Patch Adams, Good will Hunting and most of the other great works by Robin Williams. If you Hate the war, Hate this country and Hate God, You will love this play! .

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Dark comedy, beautifully acted and thought provoking, Jun 11, 2011
reviewer: Betty Corista from New York
Robin Williams is excellent as a tiger looking for redemption in one minute and the next satisfyieng his wild desires:food mostly. The entire cast plays a wonderful disfunctional group of losers in extraordinary circumstances. You either hate or love this play. We loved, it is real theater in our opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Not worth the money - very disappointing, Mar 14, 2011
reviewer: Maureen from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
I saw this the first night. It was not worth the time or money. There was some strong acting and some good lines, but they were few and far between. Some scenes rambled on for a long time without advancing the plot. Robin Williams was alright, but it wasn't the role for him, so don't go just to see him. There was no emotional impact felt throughout the audience, despite the heavy subject matter (War, Iraq, rape, etc.). The audience applause was polite and very short. The play itself (not the production) seems very weak....lots of things thrown out there but not answered or dealt with. In a play everything is there for a reason. Not here. The previous reviewer mentioned it may be good for atheists. The atheists with my party did not like it. I definitely recommend not going. I bought full price tickets and wasted a rare night in NYC. I have a wide range of tastes and can usually find something positive to say about plays. This will not last that long. Save your money or go see something

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

dont go see this, Jun 28, 2011
reviewer: Fran from New York
it was the worst i have ever seen and the only draw is Robin Williams

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review