Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for The Pirate Queen
Avg. Customer Review (4.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this .
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews
Back to Paged View  


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful:

The Pirate Queen, Oct 17, 2006
reviewer: Josh from Cincinnati
This musical is incredible. Several Chicago bloggers have been dismissing it, but I tell them that they don't know what they're talking about. (Just becuase you don't come out humming a melody that hit you over the head doesn't mean that the score is bad) On second thought, the score is one of the best I've ever heard even at this early stage in the preview process. It's blend of rock, musical theater, and celtic music create a cohesive yet diverse score that "Phantom of the Opera" only attempts to achieve. The production values are also incredibe creating a beautiful atmosphere, and the cast is magnificent. (Especially Grania played by Stephanie J. Block and Tiernan played by Hadley Fraser) It is definately one of the most talented casts I've ever seen. The story is entralling, the music soaring, and the production remarkable. I hope critics and audiences alike realize the magnificance of this work and appreciate it as much as I have.

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Great Cast, Great Music, Great Show!, Mar 06, 2007
reviewer: Gerard & Judy from Atlantic Highlands, NJ
A wonderful night out - Stephanie J. Block as Grace O'Malley is mesmerizing, she owns the show along with a superb supporting cast, beautiful sets and wardrobe, and incredible music. We particularly enjoyed Linda Balgordís performance as Queen Elizabeth I, and Hadley Fraser as Tiernan. We were very privileged to be at the 3/5 preview, and will certainly be adding this to our list of must see shows on Broadway when it officially opens in April. Our mid-center Orchestra seats afforded the perfect view and spectacular sound, allowing a full appreciation of this beautiful production. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Terrific show!, Apr 10, 2007
reviewer: Sue from Northern NJ
We saw a preview last month and really enjoyed it. The sets were wonderful the way they transitioned from land to sea and back again. The music was great, and the dance numbers were so much fun to watch. My favorite characterization was Linda Balgord's transformation from the newly coronated Queen Elizabeth to the over-the-top Queen she became by the end of the show. Watching Grace spring into battle on the ship just after giving birth was a little crazy, but the sword fights were great fun. I did shift in my seat a few times during the first act, but at the end of the second act, I was disappointed it was over. I think this show will do well and have a long run.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!, Apr 28, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
Bought last minute tickets for the show and had perfect seats. The songs/singing were wonderful! The dancing was excellent. The choreography was terriric! And the actors were great! Loved every minute of the show. Would highly recommend it and would go again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Hilton Theater who?, Mar 26, 2007
reviewer: Unhappy from Chicago, IL-USA
I went to New York on vacation for the first time and was extremely excited about seeing a broadway play. We decided on the Pirate Queen and bought Orchestra level seats. The play was awesome and I really enjoyed it but my night was completely ruined when at the end of the show one of the ushers came behind my sisters and I and very rudely made me delete a photo taken while in the theater. My sisters and I live in different states and can only very rarely get together. The photo (singular) wasn't even of the play or the theater but a group shot of us three in our seats 20 minutes before the show. Even though the play was great, I will NEVER go back to that theater because of the stupidity of that request and how rude the staff was. They said something about the architect having the theater patented or something along those lines...frankly I didn't see anything new of different then any theater I've been to in Chicago. It was one of the most ridiculous things I'd heard!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Les Mis/Miss Saigon creators fall short . . ., Mar 28, 2007
reviewer: musical fan from new york, ny & chicago, IL
I saw the show on 3.27.2007 (tues night) hoping to see a great combination of celtic dancing/singing blended into a new musical. However, this musical was more cheese than substance lacking the quality of the writers' past musicals (les mis and miss saigon). The dancing was awesome when it was there and even the elder woman singing celtic (gaelic?) solos was fabulous when she did come on. The Grace O'Malley lead was played by an understudy who couldn't hit the high notes that came across as squawking as others around me noted, too. As the show progressed at myself and watched others cringe and wince when she belted those notes. The male lead was powerful and outdid her. I assume had the original lead been there she'd have been much much better. The set was great though w/ some pretty cool costumes. Still, I would hope the musical will only get better considering this was more of a dress rehearsal performance with opening night just over a week away.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Last Minute Ticket!, Apr 13, 2007
reviewer: Scottish Tourist from Edinburgh, Scotland
We were a party of three from Scotland who bought last minute tickets to see Pirate Queen. First time show goers in Broadway. Loved the show. Great music and cast. Only problem we had was with seats. Way too little leg room and cold inside theatre. Air con on in March! Would go again. Good experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Sail on oh Pirate Queen, Apr 20, 2007
reviewer: NDR from Rochester, NY
While I do agree that The Pirate Queen could use some additional work (more context i.e. pirating by the pirate queen and more relationship based songs vs. plot songs), I found the show to be beautiful and truly enjoyable. The singing was incredible and the dancing was very cool (although I would have liked to see more of it!).

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Yes !, May 28, 2007
reviewer: Florian Sigmund from Rumeln / Duisburg / Nordrhein - Westfalen / Germany
I`m from Germany and I can`t belive this singing/dancig/acting ! Stafanie J. Block is the star of the night . The music is soooo great . I have other tickets and I will see this fantastic show at the 30th May . :-) And I hope thet Stefanie plays once more !

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

fun, May 10, 2007
reviewer: fan from new jersey
a really fun show, i enjoyed the dancing and the costumes, i would definately reccomend it

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The Pirate Queen: The Show that Could Have Been, Feb 19, 2010
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from New Jersey
The show that could have been is what I could call "THE PIRATE QUEEN". For this show has potential beyond imagination. Perhaps it can be done in another version. While I love this show very much, there were times where I felt very bored. The songs, dances and sets wer absolutley magnificent. But the story is very hard to follow. Some shows can be sung through such as "JOSEPH AND THE AMAZING TECHNICOLOR DREAMCOAT" but "THE PIRATE QUEEN" cannot be sung through. There should have been more dialgue. But I must say that the performers were terrific in their performances. Yes I will say that I had a night to remember. But the show itself needs to be looked at again if has to be performed again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review