Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for How To Succeed In Business Without Really Trying
Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 17
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 17 of 17 reviews
Back to Paged View  


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful:

How to Succeed on Broadway, Feb 06, 2012
reviewer: George Hood from Alexandria, Virginia
Nick Jonas was absolutely perfect in "How to Succeed In Business . . . " this past Friday night. A full house loved his interpretation of the key character as he sang exceptionally well. His sense of timing when hit by the big spotlight, highlighting his deviousness, was spot on. Congrats Nick. You are creating success on Broadway. Hope the ensemble member who accidentally flipped himself into the orchestra pit was able to get right back on stage.

Was this review helpful to you?  


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful:

How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Mar 02, 2011
reviewer: K.Nicholas from Indianapolis, Indiana
Flew in from Indiana just to see Daniel Radcliffe in this show. It was MORE than what our family expected. Our teenage daughter was just as thrilled as we were. It was lively, funny, right on the mark with entertainment. Thanks to the entire cast for one of the best nights. We left in a great mood and singing songs from the show. A great delight and Radcliffe had perfect timing for his humor. A MUST SEE!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant Comedy, Mar 03, 2011
reviewer: Jeanette from Canterbury, UK
My first Broadway Show and I wasn't disappointed! The whole cast were amazing as was the humour, music, dancing and energy they used and Daniel Radcliffe certainly shook off his Harry Potter mantle! My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed it and would heartily recommend it for a great evening out.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

He can sing and dance, Mar 07, 2011
reviewer: LRG from New Jersey
Saw the preview at the Saturday matinee. the good news is that Daniel Radcliffe can sing well enough (one flat, but overall good), and he can really dance! He's a natural! However, he needed better direction on his delivery. Somewhere in the second act he finally got some energy and caught on that the lines are supposed to be punched with a delivery to the audience. He's not playing with things enough. John Larouquette was good, but also seemed to be walking through. Tammy Blanchard as Hedy LaRue is more tough than dumb blonde, which is how I've always thought of the role. And the material is really, really creaky. Many of the bits (like the use of Rudy Valee's megaphone for "Stand Old Ivy") just fall flat. And the sexist treatment of secretaries is just scarily offensive. By the way, I was a secretary, not too long after, and typing with one finger would get you fired, fast. Not a bad theatrical experience, and certainly a nice stretch for Radcliffe,but flat on many levels.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Well Worth It, Mar 08, 2011
reviewer: BNS from Atlanta
This was a terrific production. The two name stars are up to the task. WHat's really impressive is the choreograghy. The audience loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Patty from Wisconsin, Aug 20, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I have to admit that we were not too familiar with Daniel since my kids were not interested in the Harry Potter series. We are BIG fans after seeing the August 10th performance of Succeed! Daniel has unlimited talent and floored us with his singing and dancing. Daniel, sorry we did not know you walking in, but my, we know you now! Thanks David for getting us backstage via Troy. You were also amazing and I am glad you got your Lead chance. Sorry about the crazy overlap of duties for Daniel but we are convinced he can handle anything. A late but forever fan, Patty

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

How to Succeed on Broadway!, Mar 19, 2011
reviewer: Barbara from Houston, Texas
Great show - from the first word to the final curtain call the energy is electric. Each cast member is spot on. It's delightful, hilarious, and delivered with joy. You may never get another chance to see a cast this perfect. It's a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Mar 20, 2011
reviewer: Eugenia from New York
I'm a huge fan of Daniel Radcliffe, which was the main reason why I saw this show. But it was much better than I was expecting! His singing was great, his dancing was great, and his performance was fantastic. The entire show was funny and enjoyable throughout, and honestly I didn't want it to end. It was way better than I could have ever hope for. See the show, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Very very fun!, Mar 20, 2011
reviewer: Jim Roberts-Miller from Austin, TX
I had my doubts early on during this show, but after a couple of scenes the cast settled in and I and my family were in stitches. Dan Radcliffe doesn't have most powerful singing voice but it is adequate, and he is otherwise perfect as Finch. John Larroquette is also perfectly cast as JB Biggley, and the two work well together in several scenes, especially a rousing and hilarious spoof of a school fight song. Really, the whole cast is winning and game for anything. I don't know how much staging and choreagraphy is taken from the original, but we saw was well done. We went on a Friday night during spring break, so there was a certain amount of "squeal factor" in the audience response, but in my mind this only added to the charm. The theater itself is lovely, the seats a bit close together but comfortable. I found the temperature perfect. They could have opened a couple more of the exit doors to make things easier after the show, but this is a small complaint.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

I Was Laughing The Whole Time!, Apr 03, 2011
reviewer: Ali from Hoboken, New Jersey
This broadway musical (being my first) was amazing! The actors and actresses were amazing especially John Larroquette and Daniel Radcliffe! Me being a Harry Potter fan, helped add to the fun because I got to see Daniel in a whole different way! He is an amazing dancer and average singer! All of the cast was well picked and fit into each part so well! I was literally laughing the whole time! Some of the jokes I didn't understand, but that didn't take away from the overall experience! The audience was wonderful and everyone was so into the show! Me and my friends loved it! AMAZING SHOW!!! A must-see! It is defintely worth the trip!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show!, Mar 23, 2011
reviewer: KD from Ketchum, Idaho
Fabulous show. The entire cast is great. John Larroquette, in particular, is fantastic. Costumes, sets, choreography - all incredible. A must see.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

"Harry" can sing and dance!!!, Mar 30, 2011
reviewer: TLR from Oklahoma City
Our expectations were more than fulfilled in Daniel Radcliffe's exceptional performance! What a multi-talented young man. We would recommend to all. Entire cast was outstanding. The entire audience left feeling happy!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Fun, Fresh, Fabulous!, May 15, 2011
reviewer: Pat Alder from Hudson Valley, NY
I'll admit, I have a dog in this fight. Rob Bartlett, friend and mentor was the reason I went to see the play. Yes, I was the only one in that audience who cheered his first appearance, but after that, I was not. Everyone was cheering! The play, the characters are classic and fun! The audience is caught up in the adventures of the little window washer who connives his way to the top. The costumes bright and very fitting the period of late 50's early 60's. The set, astounding in its mobility and creativity. Rob is of course, fabulous in his dual roles of Willy Womper and Mr. Twimble. John Larroquette, in his debut is all Mr. Biggley should be, feisty, Old School and a knitter to boot! And there is that Radcliffe fellow. His hard work in learning a play, dance and American accent is to be appreciated by all, he's that good! Go see this again and again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Mar 20, 2011
reviewer: Eugenia from New York
I'm a huge fan of Daniel Radcliffe, which was the main reason why I saw this show. But it was much better than I was expecting! His singing was great, his dancing was great, and his performance was fantastic. The entire show was funny and enjoyable throughout, and honestly I didn't want it to end. It was way better than I could have ever hope for. See the show, you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

PLEASANTLY SURPRISED, Jul 21, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from cleveland,ohio
my daughter had had 2 surgeries and we wanted to treat her to something. She asked to see Daniel Ratcliffe in HTSIB and so we drove the 9 hours to NYC. We loved it! While I have only see a handful of shows in Toronto and London, this was excellent, funny, and I had no problem with the singing or dancing. Actually RAdcliffe was perfect for the role as he was so believable in the part as someone trying to work their way up without the football star advantage. I recommended it to our friends and would love to see it again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Surprised, Jul 29, 2011
reviewer: Phil from Johnstown, Pennsylvania
I went to this show because my kids wanted to see Daniel Radcliffe. Boy did I become a fan quickly. From the first number through the last it was fun and great to watch. Our seats were up high but it didn't matter we all had a great time and we thought the entire cast was excellent. I would definitely go again if I was in NY.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

SO WORTH IT!, Oct 29, 2011
reviewer: Marsha Spears from Memphis, TN
I came to New York specifically to see this show. It was fabulous. Daniel sang and danced his heart out. The cast was great. I wish I had bought tickets to see it again while I was there!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 17 of 17 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review