Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me
Avg. Customer Review (3.9 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 7
Email a friend about this Musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews
 


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Worst ever!, Mar 12, 2007
reviewer: T. Aultman from Conway, AR USA
I "thought" I was a fan of Martin Short until I recently went to see him in his Broadway show. I have NEVER been so blown away by outright blasphemy in my life!!! If you claim to love God, this show is NOT for you. Mr. Short goes way over the top in making fun of faith and family. There are some things in life that should be made fun of, and some things should never be touched. Mr. Short, I was great dissappointed and now find myself that even when one of your movies comes on TV I change channels. I was greatly offended as were the others of us that left the theater long before the show was over. There were seven in our group that left and I noticed we were not the only ones leaving. It was definitely the biggest waste of time and money on our trip to NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Don't miss this show !!!!, Aug 15, 2006
reviewer: DJL from New York
Saw this show on Sunday afternoon. It was hysterical !! Felt like we never stopped laughing the whole time. Other times we were crying as we were laughing so hard the tears came down our cheeks. Martin Short is so talented and his supporting cast is just as good as he is. Lyrics, dancing and songs were soooo funny and at times touching. Can't wait for the cast recording to come out. Added to our enjoyment was the fact that Nathan Lane was the celebrity guest. He was crying on stage as he was laughing so hard during the Jiminiy Glick segment he was involved in. Go and get tickets as they are going to be gone once it opens. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Good, but not great., Aug 07, 2006
reviewer: SusanA from Philadelphia
Martin Short is incredibly talented and entertaining. He has a great cast that supports him especially the ladies who do Joan Rivers, Ellen, Jodie, etc. Some of the routines are a little stale, like Elizabeth Taylor/Richard Burton. He interviews a person from the audience which was quite funny the day we saw it, as the person was interactive, but this could be risky. The whole thing was fun, but lacked spark, even with the "Big Black Lady" singing at the end. The show is still in reviews. I hope they do some adjusting to make it a really great show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Hilarious, Sep 20, 2006
reviewer: R.Burke from New Jersey
Martin Short is simply one of the funniest and most creative talents around today. Loved this show. A non stop laugh from beginning to end. The cast was also perfect and very talented. The ensemble was witty, and seemed to enjoy every minute of the show. It showed!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant, Oct 09, 2006
reviewer: Abbadei from Norway
Funny and talented it just blew me away and i am not a musical theatre man

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

It was good but not as good as I thought from reviews, Dec 18, 2006
reviewer: Sarah from Illinois
There were scenes that were funny but over all just okay.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I knew it would be good; it beat my expectations. . ., Sep 26, 2006
reviewer: A Theater Lover from Massachusetts
. . . and was great. Marty is a standout and his cast of players could each star in their own "one person show." The writing is cleaver and witty and Short's delivery is tops. It is a comfortable show in that you feel at ease to roar with laughter. Colin Quinn was Glick's guest at Saturday's performance. He seemed to have as much fun as the audience. Stage door fans who waited to meet Marty and the cast were not disappoined. Short was gracious and patiently signed autographs and posed for pictures. The show is a physical one and must take its toll on the cast, yet they welcomed the applause at the stage door. I have seen many other Broadway performers with less fame avoid the attention of the fans. I know some theatergoers feel that a one-man show doesn't pack the enjoyment that the full-blown musical does. This show will change your mind. Marty closes at the end of the year. A trip to see his show would make a great holiday gift. Marty, fame DOES become you!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

my 15 minutes of fame, Oct 06, 2006
reviewer: dennis@bergenjaguar.com from new jersey
my daughter and i went to see Mr Short this past weds. matinee..i've been a fan since his sctv days and thought he did a great job on law and order really scarey ...we thoughly enjoy the play and cast ...i'm the jaguar dealer who got to go up on stage and get interviewed by glick...highly recommend it great show...

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review