Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Monty Python's Spamalot
Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 23
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 26 of 26 reviews
Back to Paged View  


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

Be VERY Cautious of the Partial View Tickets, Sep 29, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
We purchased partial view tickets for Spamalot from Telecharge. The were located on the front row of the Mezzanine, so I didn't think they could be too bad. I was really wrong. Sets of stage lights almost completely block the view. In addition, the staging includes large sides made to look like a castle. These completely block the view of the back part of the stage. I would say that we saw 50% of the show at best. I wouldn't buy anything but center section tickets at the Schubert Theatre again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

FUNALOT, Apr 22, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I loved this musical. Yes, I had seen all the films, but the live version is also superior. I felt there was a pact between the audience and the players that we were in on the jokes and ironic sentiments of the songs. Although the song, "I'm All Alone," is played for laughs because King Arthur is definitely not alone while he sings, the song is an excellent example of the beautiful music in the show. This song highlights the string section of the pit and offers, well, existential lyrics in the middle of all the silliness. The Shubert is definitely cramped seating; however, my view of the stage was excellent. I went to a matinee and the afternoon included an excellent lunch at Trattoria Trecolori on 45th Street. The show is all in fun; the program recommends children over eight to see it; however, I did have a conversation with a five year old during intermission who loved the French scene! Spamalot takes its own advice: it leaves us laughing as we go.

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Laughalot, Apr 24, 2006
reviewer: Bill from Miami
I nearly died laughing - we had such a great night on our recent trip to NY. I would highly recommend it. We had seats in the Orchestra row L in the center section and we had a great view.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Great (yet expensive) Fun on a Saturday Afternoon, Jul 09, 2006
reviewer: Michael Psutka from Granby, CT USA (almost Massachusetts)
My 24 year old son and I went to the Saturday July 8th matinee (we're both big fans). Great references to other Python movies and sketches (Always Look on the Bright Side of Life). You can tell the performers are having a blast. For example; Lauren Kennedy (the Lady of the Lake) overly scatting and cracking up the audience. Also the Knights that formerly said "ni" when they improvise the word they say now, got one of the knights of the round table to start laughing. It's good to know that they are having fun. The pit orchestra was fantastic! Peace, MikeJP360@AOL.com

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Unprofessionalism on Broadway? True, sad to say, Jul 10, 2006
reviewer: mp62358@hotmail.com from New Jersey
This was my second time seeing Spamalot and it was as much fun as the first. Or would've been: What's stunning is that one of the "diva" chorus girls and one of the lesser knights--a gaunt, smallish chap--would be having a chit chat--seemingly bored to tears--and completely out of character during the show's otherwise delightful final scene. On a Broadway stage. During a performance. Nothing will burst an audience's bubble and bring us back down to earth faster than such amateurism. Perhaps it's time for these two "pros" to move on. There are lots of hungry young equally-talented performers out there imbued with a professionalism and a respect for the stage and for their audience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Funniest Musical on Broadway!, May 06, 2007
reviewer: Philip I. from New York City, NY
I've seen this twice and everytime I was crying from laughter! No matter who the cast, this show is incredible, everything you'd want from a Broadway show, and a Python movie! Plus, its a total Broadway satire that successfully entertains any audience! Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

A Little Bit of Fun that turns into a Whole Bunch of Laughs., Jan 17, 2008
reviewer: Margaret from Lethbridge, Alberta
Since viewing the clip will be the closes I will get to seeing this production I watched it intently. I found the humor enchanting as all Monty Python productions have in the past. Clay Aiken is super in his role as Sir Robin. I would adore to be able to travel to Broadway to see the full production. A good laugh is needed in all of our lives.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

I understand the hype! Great Show!, Oct 30, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
One review I read before seeing the show stated something "That I laughed so hard I almost died.". I can't quite agree that it was that funny, in fact, one experience that I could relate to such a statement would be the first time I viewed the film "Monty Python and the Holy Grail". "Spamalot" certainly is funny though, so it goes along. After the show I read another review that discussed certain personalities that would not find it funny. I agree. Only a certain minority would not enjoy this show. It was one of the best experiences I have had in a long time. Talent on stage of the highest character and professionalism. Great set and special effects. Just all around Fantastic. You Will Love It. The only thing I could be critical about are seats in the mezzanine are a bit cramped but you will forget you are uncomforatble once the show starts. Just a note that is also an indication to how good the show is, there was not an empty seat in the house and this was a thursday night

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Spamalot Guarantees You a Great Time!, Feb 08, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
Saw the show on December 29, 2006, with relatives who hate musicals (and none of us had ever been to a Broadway show or NYC before) and my brother actually left the Shubert Theatre humming a Spamalot tune! Great performances by all--the company really appears to be having a blast--so it easily translates to the audience. See it soon to catch Marin Mazzie's spectular turn as the Lady of the Lake! Not only is she breathtakingly beautiful, but when she entered the stage for her fist number, her voice was so incredible that the rowdy New Year's Eve weekend crowd automatically became still--it was an astonishing moment that my entire family will never forget. Also, kuddos to the Shubert Theater management--there was a small "fire" backstage just before intermission, and all patrons were ushered out of the theater witin 90 seconds without any incident, and the cast made joking references to the "fire" for the remainder of the show. (A fake fire and complentary drinks during intermission!)

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Great for ADULTS, Apr 06, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Naples, Fl USA
I thought the show was great, and have no feelings good or bad toward the theater staff... however i feel like people should be warned that this is at the least a PG13 rated show and though the website says not appropriate for children under eight i was a litle uncomfortable with my 16 year old being there!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Loved it so much I have seen it Twice!!, Nov 10, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I have been along time fan of the film, and seeing it on Broadway was a very special treat for me. I was in stitches the entire time. While I didnt get to see Hank Azaria in it, Curry and Pierce and the rest of the cast were Amazing!!! I also got the chance to see it again when it came to St Louis while I was visiting friends there... And I must say it was as good as it was on Broadway, even without the original cast. Even if you are not a Python fan, (and most of those I went with werent) you will LOVE it. Oh... and dont forget to buy some coconuts and the killer rabbit slippers at the gift shop :)

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Love the show!, Feb 20, 2008
reviewer: Cindy from Canada
I saw the show this past weekend and it is one of the funniest things ever! I enjoyed it so much I went right back and saw it again! It pokes fun at so many cultural icons, including themselves. There are moments I literally laughed until my sides hurt! There are a (very) few 'potty humor' jokes that might offend the (very) faint of heart, but overall it's a funny, funny show. And the music is fabulous!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Hilarious!!, Mar 15, 2007
reviewer: Lorraine Zigman from Vermont USA
Just saw this March 7, 2007 and it is "OVER THE TOP", incredibly funny, a laugh a second, couldn't have been any better. It is correct to say it isn't for small children. However, for those of us who are adults with a delight in the rediculous, a wacky sense of humor, and who love to laugh it couldn't get any better! I was delighted to learn that John Cleese does the "voice of God". He was always my favorite in "Faulty Towers".

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

SPAMALOT - Fantastic Show !!!!!, Mar 26, 2007
reviewer: Tony J. from New Jersey
We went to the show in costume in NYC. (5 of us) Eric Idle came out to take a picture with us, inside the Shubert Theater, when we went to the show, he is an incredibly nice guy! (and the photographer at the theatre gave us copies, cool dude) The Actors in the show itself did a wonderful job and I wish them a never ending run! They are funny and talented actors, singers and dancers! They were all nice and personable after the show signing autographs and taking pictures. The Staff at the theater were GREAT PEOPLE who made us and everyone who was there comfortable. It was a very well run production. Seating and views were great, bring the family and friends. Spamalot was fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Clay is a revelation!, Feb 04, 2008
reviewer: tss from Mass.
I attended the show last Thursday (I also saw it 1 1/2 years ago with Tim Curry and David Hyde Pierce, Sara Ramirez, and Chris Sieber)- and I must say- Clay was a revelation! He took on each of the three characters he portrayed with perfect comic timing, impeccable different English accents, and fantastic vocals. Mike Nichols is no dummy-he knew that Clay was perfect for this role and must of kissed the ground the day Clay agreed to take on the role! Professional critics where are you???? Why have there been no reviews in the NY papers and trade magazines?????? You don't have anything to bad to say about Clay in this role??? Well be big about it and PRINT YOUR REVIEWS ALREADY!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Why end the best laugh of your life, Oct 28, 2008
reviewer: Pam and Madison from Winslow Twp, NJ
the best time, the best laugh, the best show ever. please don't put an end to the maddness

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Bring Broadway Back, Nov 30, 2008
reviewer: Mike from USA
As much as we hate, we must wave good-bye to Spamalot this January. In these economic times we must " ALWAYS LOOK ON THE BRIGHT SIDE OF LIFE!" Hopefully, when we're out of these troubling times, we will enjoy the hilarity of Spamalot. See my good-byes in Hairspray, Young Frankenstein, and 13 reviews.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Best Knight of my life!, Jul 24, 2006
reviewer: Colin Drum/Sir Python from L.I., NY USA
Best Show ever. Better than Lion King, Rent, Little Shop of Horrors, and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. Loved it! and... ugh, stomach full of Spam...Alot! NI! Peng! Neewom!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Fun and Found an Earring, Jan 21, 2007
reviewer: Linda Levering from Long Island
On Saturday, Jan. 20, 2007, a very COLD day, we saw this GREAT show, and laughed all afternoon. On the way out we found a really beautiful earring on the floor. We don't know how to get in touch with anyone other than ticket sellers, etc., so we are contacting you. If you hear from someone who lost an earring, contact us.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

great show, terrible customer service, Mar 16, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Kansas City, KS USA
This musical was phenomenal- the only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that almost every staff person I interacted with at the theater was extremely rude! I met some amazing people in the city today and had a quite positive impression of New York, until I went to this theater. I am not kidding, from the person who sold us our tickets to the people who were directing us to our "seats" in the standing room only section, to the jerk who returned the bag I paid to check in- it was terrible! I think it is unfortunate that the brilliant cast & crew should have their show's reputation tarnished by a bunch of nobodies with giant chips on their shoulders. Very unprofessional. I would still say that it was worth putting up with all of this to see the show, but be prepared to be offended! And no, I would probably not bring my child or my mother to this show, partly because of the content but mainly because I would not want them to be subjected to the rudeness I experienced.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Physically Disabled Unfriendly, Feb 14, 2008
reviewer: Vicki from Windsor, Colorado
My physically disabled friend and I had to cancel our tickets because the NY Shubert Theatre did not have handicapped accommodations for her. My friend could not climb the 90+ stairs to get to our 3rd balcony seats, so we had to cancel and select a theatre which had handicapped accommodations. I'm surprised and dismayed at this. I thought all NY theatres would have the best handicapped seating of all cities!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

More Than Expected, Apr 20, 2008
reviewer: Louise Bell from Ohio, USA
My husband and I saw the show this week and loved it. It is a fun show with a lot of energy. The entire cast is a delight. This will be my only chance to see the show. A DVD with the current cast would be fabulous and I would not hesitate to purchase it. Hint: It would raise a lot of money if used as a vehicle for Broadway Cares. A couple of scenes were not to my taste, but I have to say the show was far more tasteful than much of what you see on TV these days. The show is a true ensemble piece with a great cast of actors and characters.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

It Made Me Look On The Bright Side of Life!, Apr 24, 2008
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from Verona, NJ USA
The musical "Spamalot" is w great show for people ages 10+! The reason why I said 10+ was because the show had a couple adult themes. For the Laker Girls, they had small costumes on. There was also some cursing. The Lady of the Lake showed her twins and that is innapropriate for little kids. The show was so funny. I laughed alot at Spamalot! The show was so great! If you haven't seen it, see it today! The show really did make me to always look on the bright side of life! See it! You will laugh alot it "Spamalot"!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Spamalot, Jul 15, 2008
reviewer: Lisa Martinez from Orlando, FL
Marin Mazzie's singing was superb! And Stephen Collins and the whole cast were funny and entertaining. But one thing that was irritating and distracting was seeing a stage hand walking about in the background, and a dancer behind the prop waiting for her cue. They killed the illusion for me.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A Birthday present to die for/but I'm not dead yet!, Dec 17, 2008
reviewer: Bette Amsler from Staunton, Virginia, USA
My son brought me to New York for my 65th birthday and took me to Spamalot!!! What a fantastic show and what a great gift. The Pythons are the best! Thank you Chris.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

EXCELLENT!!!!!, Jan 06, 2009
reviewer: Anita Pearson from London,UK
This is the 2nd time I have seen it in New York and it was even better than the 1st time. I took my father as a treat as he loves Monty Python and I have never heard him laugh so much, he spent the rest of the week singing ' always look on the bright side of life'. It's an absolutely fantastic show and the cast were AMAZING!! I would highly recommend it to all.Well worth the long flight from UK just to see this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 26 of 26 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review