Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Spiderman, Turn Off The Dark
Avg. Customer Review (4.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews
Back to Paged View  


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

Broadway is exciting again, Jan 02, 2011
reviewer: MJ from CT
Wow! This was so much more than I expected. All the technical work put into this show made for an explosion of fun! If you can only go to one show this year, this should be the one.

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

A Spiderific Experience, Dec 24, 2010
reviewer: Spidey Number One Fan from NYC
Oh what a night. I was thrilled that after Wednesday closures my Thursday night performance went on as planned. Nothing on Broadway in my many years as a theatre buff can compare to the thrill of this production. it had all the "s" components- super songs,sets, stunts(that were flawless and took my breath away) and story. My once negative was a more definitive stronger ending is needed. I loved Mary Jane and Peter musically and romantically. May Spidey live and run on Broadway forever.

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

FUN FUN FUN, Mar 11, 2011
reviewer: paul jackson from Pittsburgh PA
Visiting with friends from Pittsburgh and we had tickets for the show. We absolutly loved it, tremendous fun, and fantastic sets. i believe reviewers in NY cannot understand this is not the typical broadway show, it's out of the box, but so much fun. If you expect the standard play and musical scores this is not for you. if you want some great rock music, outstanding sets with flying stars and campy this is for you. I hope the crew realizes they gave me and friends a wonderful afternoon of entertainment. Thank you to all, it was great and I hope you all enjoy a long sucess, do not give up!

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Beyond Expectations ..., May 22, 2011
reviewer: Erly R from Miami
In choosing a musical to introduce a 21-year-old to the theatre (and also a first-timer in NY), I suspected "Spiderman" would at least keep him entertained, but I was very pleasantly surprised when I enjoyed it more than most of the other 'top' shows I've seen in a while. The sets were refreshing with a classy cartoonish quality about them and the music was vibrant and kept all ages riveted, especially the original "Behold and Wonder" with T.V. Carpio and her mesmerizing voice. All-in-all, well-cast, with excellent talent (ALL of them), incredible and innovative (and exhausting) athletics (in both the Spiderman 'flight' and Peter 'fight' scenes), and sets that make you wonder what could possible come next! Well-worth experiencing (rows k-t, side-orchestra seats close to center provide excellent viewing) - the best investment on Broadway!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Go see before it gets ruined, Mar 16, 2011
reviewer: Pat from new Jersey
Run, run, run and see this show before Julie's work is destroyed. If anyone is replaced, too bad it can't be Bono. Wonderful and entertaining and audiences pleasing. Ignore the out of touch critics and hoopla surrounding this show. Just go, know what you are seeing and enjoy the show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

From spiderman fan perspective, Aug 13, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from New York
The story is so bad. The songs are boring. The final scene is the only good thing about this. I am an avid marvel fan, and I hated this.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic. Out of this world!!!, Apr 12, 2011
reviewer: Beryl from Pitlochry, Scotland
I've been to many West End shows in London and also in Edinburgh but this was the first on Broadway. What an incredible experience. I never expected Spiderman to be SO spectacular. I wish I'd had a seat on the first balcony to appreciate it even more instead of the "best" seats in the grand circle. Only criticism - Mary Jane's singing could have become more edgy and "rocky" as her character progressed but that's nit picking - Go see it before the nanny state says it's too dangerous.Thank you to my son for a wonderful present. xxx

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Unbelievable., Jul 25, 2011
reviewer: KB from Alabama
We traveled a 1,000 miles to see this production. I was expecting a great performance. It was beyond anything I could have imagined. The leads were played by the alternates - they were fantastic. If we lived closer we would see it again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Spiderman - turn it off please, Jun 30, 2011
reviewer: Stephen Green from Frostburg, MD USA
DO NOT BUY TICKETS CLOSE TO THE STAGE!!! From my perspective, it was hard to see and it got annoying fast. I must say, the performers really worked hard and gave maximum effort, it showed. This musical was all about the acrobats, other aspects of content seemed weak. If you have kids and want to introduce them to broadway, go. If you want something with substance, just read a comic.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fun! Great for kids, Jul 13, 2011
reviewer: Linda G from Philadelphia, PA
This was a FUN show! Sure, not the best live musical/play I've seen. But fun - like watching The Hangover instead of Inception. And it's a great introduction to live musicals for kids. We took a bunch of 8th graders and they loved it! I sure wouldn't want to be a member of the stage crew, though!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review