Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown
Avg. Customer Review (2.5 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews
Back to Paged View  


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant stage adaption with 5 star Laura Benanti, Oct 18, 2010
reviewer: Steve from Portland, Maine
Being familiar with the Pedro Almodovar movie probably helps but is not necessary. The stage itself is as much a part of the success of this play as the music and acting. They have done a fantastic job bringing the Spanish atmosphere from the movie to the stage. There are a lot of scenery changes giving the stage a frantic pace. Sherie Rene Scott does a great job carrying the lead and has a tremendous voice. Patti LuPone and Brian Stokes Mitchell each have an opportunity to show off their powerful voices and style and add enough star power to warrant seeing this show. The play seems perfectly cast and with a few minor changes and tightening up this should be a major success. The star though is Laura Benanti. She is perky, gorgeous, has perfect comic timing, and has the voice of an angel. "Model Behavior" is sung brilliantly. To hear her sing is one of the most pleasureful experiences to be had anywhere on any stage. Plus she is as nice in person as she appears. She is a major talent.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Terrible Play, Oct 10, 2010
reviewer: Jennifer Hirseland from Farmingdale, New York
I bought these tickets for my mom's birthday and we were both very disappointed; this play is terrible. We were looking forward to seeing Patti Lupone and Brian Stokes Mitchell but there parts are so small and neither one really does not have a chance to sing. The story line is too long and mismatched. There was a technical mishap and the play stopped for a couple of minutes. I would not recommend this play. I have seen many plays on broadway and this is the worst one I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Fun evening, Oct 11, 2010
reviewer: Maxine Ross from Silver Spring, MD
I saw Women on the Verge's "opening night" preview and thoroughly enjoyed it. A bit of tightening could help - perhaps cutting the dancing, which serves no purpose. All the voices were great, especially the depth and tone of Stokes' voice. Wish the songs were more memorable but it was a fun time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown..., Oct 10, 2010
reviewer: Susan Wenzel from New York, New York
....understanding this was only the second "preview"....the talent was very good, however the story line was very very slow....could have cut an hour off and would have walked away with a better feeling....it was just ok for me

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

rent the film instead, Oct 25, 2010
reviewer: Danielle Barry from West Hartford, CT
Laura Benanti was excellent and embraced her role with conviction, but the other very talented actors and actresses just seemed (understandably) embarrassed to be in this silly production. In an apparent effort to mimic the frenetic pace of the film, everyone just walked around really quickly. Not surprisingly, that didn't quite work. The play is in English, but all actors sing and speak in Spanish accents. I can't remember any of the songs. At the end of act one, several of the main female characters descend from the air on ropes. Why? Such a stunt would add excitement to a good musical. In the context of this one, it just seemed like a pathetic plea for the audience's fading attention and waning approval. On the positive side, the sets are very striking.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Grand fun!, Nov 05, 2010
reviewer: Jim from Briarcliff, NY USA
It's a whole new take on what a musical can be, and the cast's energy is phenomenal. We had a wonderful time!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Worst I've ever seen, Nov 28, 2010
reviewer: Disappointed Fan from New York, NY
I rarely if ever walk out of a show. And I did last night at intermission on this one. A mess of a show, and a colossal waste of time and talent.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great Version of an Almodovar Classic, Nov 28, 2010
reviewer: Hard To Please from New York City, NY
We took a risk with the mixed reviews. I must say as a New Yorker, I'm rarely captivated by Broadway shows these days. However, we loved this fast paced show with colorful characters, catchy tunes, and great visual movement. Lots of fun! It may be easier to follow the show if you've seen the film in advance. We enjoyed it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Challenging and Entertaining, Nov 30, 2010
reviewer: jbf from NYC
Saw the Belasco performance and it was a great experience. Hard to describe; did not leave humming a tune, unable to classify it other than a visual feast with lots of wit. I loved the constant action and leaps in the story and especially the imagery constantly changing. Broadway productions are in a special class and this one certainly is. No need for coffee before this show! Curiosity caused me to then see the film. Belasco is streets ahead of the movie.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Women on the Verge, Dec 26, 2010
reviewer: Craig Shontz from Washington DC
Belasco Theatre would not refund or exchange our tickets for a show that took place during a blizzard on December 26, 2010.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review