Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for 25 Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
Avg. Customer Review (3.8 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 9
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
 


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

VERY FUNNY!, Nov 22, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
This show was absolutley hilarious. Though there was no meaning or plot the humor surpassed that. The language of origin and definition parts were very funnyas well as all the songs, and the gym was cleverly designed. It was definitley a show the whole family would love.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome show!, Aug 02, 2006
reviewer: Lyndsey A. from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Awesome show, absolutley histerical... very interactive and definitly something the entire family can enjoy. Younger audience members can participate and the erection song is hardly tasteless, it turns into a funny ode to the trials of puberty... most definitly worth seeing

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome!, Sep 28, 2006
reviewer: Sherry B. from Belton, TX
Went with my 17 year old daughter - she loved it - we both did! Had us crying we were laughing so hard! Absolutely hilarious. Can't wait to have the opportunity to see it again!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

More Fun Than a Real Spelling Bee, Apr 17, 2006
reviewer: Carolyn Andersen from Doylestown PA
A very clever and sweet show. The whole family will enjoy the experience. Clever words and tunes. Go for this original rather than a tired remake.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic, Fun Show!!, Jun 09, 2006
reviewer: Lorie Neighbors from Salem, OR, USA
We saw the show on June 4 and loved every minute of it. I got to be a contestant and that was pure FUN! I loved the smaller venue and cast. Every performer was equally talented and some played multiple characters. I disagree that this is a completely family-friendly show, because of the "Erection" number. My husband and I agreed that we would not want children ages 6-10 (old enough to understand) there. I thought some of the "definitions" and "use in a sentence" were hilarious--definitely took what could be a stuffy and boring theme and made it extremely comical and clever.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

intimate sweet and edgy, Jun 01, 2007
reviewer: Cam Sawzin from Boston
I was the cellist who played the Boston run of Spelling Bee. I've played many runs of "big hit shows" and am here to tell you the musicans never were bored or tired of participating in this very magical production. It was never quite the same each night, and often came close to performance art. Funny, gorgeous score I loved playing and talented actors who were child-like without pretence. This show never got old in 3 months of performances. You will love it! Best, Cam

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Disrespectful of American Symbols, Nov 23, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
They begin the play by being disrespectful of both the American flag and the National Anthem. If American do not display respect for our National symbols, why should other nations? Then in the middle they insert political putdowns that have nothing to do with a spelling bee or young students. The teacher sings way too much not to have a better voice. She attempts to carry the play and simply is not a strong enough singer.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Way funnier than I expected!!, Jul 16, 2007
reviewer: Tyler from Fort Wayne, Indiana USA
Seeing that I saw it in Chicago and not NYC, I'll just do a review on the show. I'm a teenager who loves musicals but I didn't know if I was ready to see a bunch of nerds spell in one. I was baffled by how they preformed and loved how the whole show was put together. They stayed in character the whole time! Marcy kept a straight face through all of the funny words, Logainne's gay dads were hilarious and Will Barfée and Leaf Coneybear were both funny! The audience interaction was pretty neat! Poor Robin Alexis Childress (Olive Ostrovsky, Chicago) almost tripped over my Dad's backpack and ended up leaping over it! All of the cast members autographed my second playbill and were very nice. I would recommend any musical fan to see it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Boo to unexpected "Adult" version of Bee show, Jan 23, 2007
reviewer: mec from nyc, ny
We had tickets for a recent Sunday evening and arrived at the theater to find many groups of parents and children huddled in bewilderment outside because when they went go in with their previously bought tickets they were met by a sign that said: "This show is for adults only". I asked what that meant and was told that the language was going to be a bit racier than usual. Although I was dismayed for those parents who had traveled far, eagerly anticipating a fun family night at the theater; we adults, no prudes, went in. None of us had seen the lauded show before and although the first 15-20 minutes were funny we all soon found ourselves bored and uncomfortable with the predictable, gratuituous, sophmoric jokes. Where were the sweet characters, the touching story we had paid to see. Buried in somebody's idea of a joke on the audience because they got bored of playing the show as it was originally presented? If I'd want burlesque,I'd pay for it. Foul play. Boooo, Who can I complain to?

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review