Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Hairspray
Avg. Customer Review (4.9 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 15
Email a friend about this .
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
Back to Paged View  


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

WOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW, Nov 06, 2006
reviewer: Arthur & Yvonne Johnson from UK
We were bought tickets for this wonderful show when we visited NY, and it blew our heads off. We can't praise the show enough. All the cast were absolutely excellent, the settings were magical, the energy and vibrancy were totally infectious, the production is superb, and we - the audience- loved it. If anyone is wanting to see a show that will lift their spirits, that will inspire, that will add to the enjoyment of their life, then this is the show that they must see. We had the cd beforehand and so had heard and learned the songs, but to see the dancing/acting AND the singing was magnificent. I musy say though that to be able to sing along with Darlene Love about Pecan Pie was one of the highlights for me. Don't forget the Theatre Staff either. The guy in the booking office went out of his way to check about our tickets, and he epitomised the concern shown by all the staff. So folks, JUST SEE IT ! Bathe in the warmth of the show and feel the afterglow for days afterwards.

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 22 people found the following review helpful:

THE BIGGEST PLAY I HAVE EVER SEEN!, Apr 26, 2006
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from USA
IF YOU'VE SEEN THE MOVIE, SEE THE MUSICAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! If you are planning to see a musical pick HAIRSPRAY! It is a great play for petes sake!!! SEE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

HAIRSPRAY: What an experience!, Aug 16, 2006
reviewer: Grant Pastor from New York, USA
HAIRSPRAY is most deffinetly my most beloved musical ever, and trust me, I have seen many! HAIRSPRAY is always a new and fresh experience, time after time again I see the show. I have seen HAIRSPRAY 3 Times, Including at the Neil Simon Theatre. Lsitening to the Soundtrack, Playing the songs- whether be singing or clarinet, or listening to the soundtrack, It seems new and even more enchanting than the 1st! I highly rcommend this for anyone who likes to laugh, cry, and feel good in a show. If you like warm, big, splashy, and new things, try HAIRSPRAY!- and i tell you this now- You WONT Regret it!- Grant Pastor

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show, Sep 25, 2006
reviewer: Anita S. from Erie, PA USA
This is the best show I have ever seen. Its awesome if you're looking for that show were you just want to get up there and start dancing and singing yourself. Great for mothers and daughters. Two thumbs way up!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

A Spectacular to Remember., Jul 29, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
When I heard Good Morning Baltimore sung by Shannon Durig, I was in shock! The music is upbeat, the acting is wonderful, the singing is fantastic, the set design was amazing, and the costumes were colorful. All of the shows that I've seen were great, but Hairspray...was AWESOME! I couldn't believe how much work these actors and actresses put in to this show. If you are in NYC, and you are planning to see a last minute show, see Hairspray! Even if you get bad seats, you still are lucky to be seeing a wonderful show. I really do recommend it for all ages and our seats were great! SEE HAIRSPRAY!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Unbelievable Cast! Unbelievable Show!, Jun 21, 2007
reviewer: Amy Snow from Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
I cannot believe how incredible the show was! I had heard so much about the current Tracy (Shannon Durig) and was hoping she would not be on vacation or something! She was on and she was amazing! Her powerful and beautiful voice was incredible. The dance moves were great! There was so much energy on stage I was exhausted by the time I left, just watching them! Of course Ashley Parker-Angel was surprisingly exceptional! The entire cast just seemed to mesh! I know there are a lot of shows on Broadway, but if you have the chance to see this one, you really should. The cast came out after the show and signed autographs for about 50 fans! From what I have seen so far in trailers for teh movie due out in July, which I am sure will be good...but it so so much fun to watch it LIVE!!! You just Can't Stop The Beat!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

Disappointed!, Mar 08, 2007
reviewer: Lisa from NJ
I seen this show with my two daughters ages 17 & 21 and I have to say it wasn't as good as I expected after reading the reviews posted. I found the vocals were pretty weak except for Ashley. We all thought the mother being played by a man didn't work and was a bit ridiculously overdone. The dancing was great fun to watch but didn't love all the music. I found myself a little bored during some of the acts as did my two girls. They actually gave this show 3 stars and I was a bit more generous. We have seen several shows thus far and enjoyed this one the least. I also must add the Mezzanine seating at this theater was very tight and uncomfortable. There was very little room for your legs and do not recommend these seats for any adult. You are touching arms with the next person. A woman next to me had on perfume and it got me quite sick with a headache thats's how close we are. When the show was over my scarf actually made it underneath her. I

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

You Can't Stop The Beat of Hairspray, Sep 04, 2008
reviewer: Mike from USA
Hairspray is one of my favorite musicals. The music is happy and upbeat (which is great for a Broadway show) and the show is hilarious! It's another must see! After all, it won BEST MUSICAL AWARD at one of the Tony's. The sets are great and after the show, I can garuntee you leaving happy. Which brings us to the equation: YOU+HAIRSPRAY=FUN This is a show for the family!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I Was Drawn Right In to the Performance!, Feb 04, 2008
reviewer: Terry Kennison from Boonville, NY, USA
Exceptional performance -- the theater came to a life of it's own -- people were moved with excitement and involvement of the show and especially the cast -- well done -- I so wanted to meet the performers after the show to say how much I appreciated their energy, zeal, commitment, compassion, and joy -- it was the performers that made us a part of their performance!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing., Feb 18, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I saw Hairspray on 1/19/08. Let me tell you, I did not have the best seats in the house but the show was still incredible. Shannon Durig was very impressive as Tracy Turnblad, as was the rest of the cast. The show is just so much fun, you can't help but leave the theatre in a good mood. After the show, I got to meet some of the cast members at the stage door, and they were all friendly, signing autographs, taking pictures, etc. All in all, I would HIGHLY recommend this show, and it's also very kid-friendly if you want to bring the kids along.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

alsome, Aug 03, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from usa
hairspray was one of the best shows i ever saw i loved it

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I Would Rate this show Ten Stars if there were, Jul 24, 2007
reviewer: Liv&Beebs from Mtl,Qc
This show was absolutely exceptional! I've never seen a brodway show like this one, the cast were simply amazing, fantastic vocals, and breath-taking dancing! I was left speechless and with a gigantic smile on my face. This production was spirit-lifting and was just so happy. I would watch this show again in a heart beat, and trust me the movie isn't anything compared to this show! This is not a show you would want to miss! It's perfect for everyone, you will not be disapointed!!! Hairspray the Musical puts the F in Fabulous!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I thought I'd rather see a tractor pull...., Nov 25, 2007
reviewer: Robb Niebeling from Atlanta
I've never seen a Broadway play before. Our standing joke was "I'd rather go to a tractor pull." I was roped into going to Hairspray while in NYC for a conference. It was INCREDIBLE! I've never had so much fun in my life! Our seats were 3rd row center on the mezzanine, and they were great. The star-studded cast was incredible. Mark Shaiman is a GENIUS! I want to go again. I'm trying to talk my wife into flying up (from Atlanta) just to see the show. We rented the movie, and it's good, but it's not Broadway good! I want to tell the actors, crew and everyone involved how much they touched me. THANK YOU TO ALL.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

One of the best, May 29, 2008
reviewer: Karen Lozano from NYC
I have never been to a broadway show I was amazed on how awesome the show was I highly recommend it.*****

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

You Can't Stop The Beat of Hairspray, Sep 28, 2008
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from USA
This musical is my favorite of all time musicals. Well, I did see the show five times. So that must mean something. This musical is funny, upbeat, and has a great message. The show is funny of the funny writers. The song writers and the book writers are four funny writers, I'll tell you that! The show is upbeat from the music. It is a relief that the roof of the Neil Simon Theatre is still standing. Just like the New York Times writes, "The show will bring the house down, it is a wonder the theatre is still standing!" I agree with them so much. It has a great message too. Never be afraid to stand up for what you believe in. There will be good times and there will be bad times. See the original movie, then the Broadway show and then the new movie that is wonderful! Thank God that John Waters ever created Hairspray!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review