Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for In The Heights
Avg. Customer Review (4.5 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 10
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews
Back to Paged View  


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

Best Musical Hands Down, Jul 13, 2010
reviewer: William Apunte from London, England
Its very difficult to find a musical that you can truly relate to but this one touched every emotion posible as a latino immigrant. What a fantastic display of talent and charisma on show. Michael Balderrama and Alicia Taylor Tomasko have incredible chemistry with both demonstrating true heart and soul in their performance. Chris Jackson, Bianca Marroquin, Janet Dacal and Jon Rua simply sensational, the entire cast in this show are sincillating. I could not praise them enough for what was an amazing performance and a 5 out 5 show. A Must See For All Musical Lovers!

Was this review helpful to you?  


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful:

Need Subtitles on an electronic screen!, Jun 13, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
No doubt this 21st century "West Side Story" was very charming; but most of the audience did not comprende espanol de west indies. So accompanied by a friend from Michigan and Bombay, India; I kept on translating and filling in the gaps. Peope in the rows ahead had the same issue. I guess once someone goes home; who's going to tell a friend or neighbor that they did NOT enjoy a $100 show as well as they could have! But, hey, I guess that's life in the ciudad grande!

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic show, Jun 06, 2008
reviewer: Martin from New Jersey
saw the show in April 08 and loved it - just full of energy and hope, unbelievable performances from all the cast - standing ovation at the end! Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent family entertainment, May 28, 2010
reviewer: Matt from Bonita, CA
The actors are talented and he story line is entertaining. Perhaps it's changed since the 2008 review, but had no problem understaning the diaglog. Took our 14 and 15 year old daughters and they also loved it. The mix of salsa and rap was outstanding...this from a middle-aged white guy. Would highly recommend it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Bravo, Apr 01, 2009
reviewer: Patricia Pimentel-Galarza from New Bedford Ma.
I am of Cape Verdean decent married to a Puerto Rican who has passed on just recently I saw the show I cried so much because he would of Loved it and he was there in spirit he was brought up in Brooklyn he showed me all of Brooklyn and the Bronx,s the show was amazing the best Musical I have seen the talent in the Latino,s It is about time that the minoritys get a chance to show just how talented they are I am looking forward to seeing a whole lot more one thing I will say I am so happy that I got to visit Puerto Rico with my husband Puerto Rican are wonderful people it made me proud to be married to Heriberto from Aqadilla

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

See What you can do about it, Sep 20, 2010
reviewer: Valentin from Queen\'s, New York USA all the way!
Let me begin that the City of New York is raving about this show. As a fellow minority, I wish the prices of this show wasnt so expensive. I want to so much take my husband and family. My husband that has been serving in the military just returned from a tour in Iraq. I wanted to take him for which he has been wanting to attend this show. I know it would take him back to his Puerto Rican roots. So let us know if there are any military specials. Im there in a heart beat!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Superb Music & Lyrics, Jul 02, 2010
reviewer: Morgan from Dallas, TX USA
The music and lyrics is genius. I've seen this musical twice on tour and once on Broadway and I would go see it again in a heartbeat!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Just as Alive as Breadway's Stage, Sep 09, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
I was so anxious to see the show and songs on the live stage once again. I was so impressed with the layout of the theater and acoustics, regardless of where your seats are. (Surprisingly enough, the further up I imagine the dance numbers were more powerful!) The story line is forever fond of family values, cultural strides, and the anticipated love story.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

spectacular, Sep 15, 2013
reviewer: Bob from Aurora, Illinois
I can't begin to tell you how much we enjoyed this production. I had no idea what the story line was about prior to coming to the show. This cast is extraordinary, one more talented than the next. If there is one drawback, however slight, is that we felt the orchestra was a little too loud in some scenes, and we say this only because you couldn't hear the actors above the score. Either way, it is certainly worth seeing. The music, acting, set design and choreography were terrific and will certainly keep us returning to the Paramount in the future.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Just OK, Sep 20, 2013
reviewer: anonymous from Aurora, Illinois
I am a pretty seasoned theater goer and wasn't impressed with this musical. The singing and acting was average to good, but a slow moving story line. After reading the reviews, I guess if you are Hispanic, you can relate. Not a "must see".

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 10 of 10 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review