Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Shen Yun Performing Arts
Avg. Customer Review (3.8 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 47
Email a friend about this show.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 47 of 47 reviews
Back to Paged View  


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

It is a wonderful experience, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Alice from Seattle, Washington
This show is not only speak to my intellect, but also speak to my heart and soul.

Was this review helpful to you?  


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun reconnects us to the traditional Chinese heritage, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Jenny from Seattle, Washington
Shen Yun is reconnecting us to the traditional Chinese culture heritage. Since 2006, our family has been watching the Shen Yun show each year. We are amazed by the beautiful costumes that show the richness in China's past. Our kids love the stories, from journey to the west to legends of mulan, it is the best way to learn the 5,000 years of Chinese civilization.

Was this review helpful to you?  


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun visually spectacular, awe-inspiring, brilliant..., Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Portland fan from Portland OR
I just want to post a quote from the interview with Gary Behrmen, professor and Dean at St. Louis University, “I am breathless. It is visually spectacular, awe- inspiring, brilliant, and amazing. It is a planetary experience that there is hope in the air. What I have seen on this stage is that expression of hope. Having an event like this brings me hope that … all cultures can recreate the planet in a harmonious way.” Actually, there are thousands of enthusiastic reviews from media and audiences around the globe! Please watch http://www.ntdtv.ca/gb/2012/05/14/Art62031.html and read http://www.wmagazine.com/w/blogs/editorsblog/2011/ 06/24/after-hours
-shen-yun.html

Was this review helpful to you?  


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

I love Shen Yun, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Seattle, Washington
I find this show to be a truly remarkable production. I have watched it several years in a row and find it amazing that each year they create a whole new show. The technical abilities of the dancers in Shen Yun is far beyond any other Chinese dance performance I have seen. Their ability to dance in perfect synchronization just blows my mind. How do they do it? To make all the costumes is its self amazing. Such delicate fabric has to be hand sewn. They are truly gorgeous. As a musician that loves classical music I am transfixed by the way they have blended Chinese and western instruments in such a flawless fusion to create a new sound. It is like whole new way to express music that is at once contemporary yet ancient. The scenes from contemporary China are so moving. Such great traditions have been lost to the communist rule. I am always left with a great sense of hope for not only China but all of humanity after seeing Shen Yun. I say its a must see show

Was this review helpful to you?  


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Never seen any show like this!, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Ellie from Snoqualmie, Washington
Last year I went with a friend, a 60 year old real estate broker, to see Shen Yun. Before seeing the show, he did not quite know why he wants to watch a show that "revives the 5,000 years of Chinese culture". But when the curtain rises on the 1st program, he knew. He told me afterwards, "I have never seen a show like this! I had tears in my eyes just listening to the music, and I don't know where it's coming from!" Another friend of mine, a 50 year old scientist, watched Shen Yun last year too. On his spare time, he practices and teaches a meditation from India. His story was even more amazing to me. He told me that he had neck ailment for a long time. But as soon as he entered the theatre, his neck pain was gone. He said, the energy field is that strong in the theatre! Well, I am not too surprised given that in ancient China, traditional music was used for healing, and even in battle to fight the enemy. The 5,000 years of ancient Chinese culture is just that astonishing!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun Really Touch My Heart..., Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Rachael from Seattle, Washington
My husband and I have been seeing Shen Yun show together every year, and we have benefited a lot from many uplifting and positive stories in the show. My family lives a harmonious and high quality life more than ever before...

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Extraordinary, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Seattle, Washington
This is not to be missed - very high quality performance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

My family was enchanted, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: CW from Eastern Washington
I went to Shen Yun two years ago with my family. They were enchanted, even my rather macho son-in-law and 9 year old grandson. which rather surprised me. What a remarkable group of young people, and the story of the troupe itself is inspiring. My aunt was so impressed with the professionalism of the performers, and I love the costumes.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Superb, Mar 19, 2013
reviewer: Michael from Boise, Idaho
Saw the performance last year in Seattle—very, very well done. Top notch in every respect. A genuine glimpse into China's ancient culture.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 24 people found the following review helpful:

Shen irresponsible, Feb 08, 2013
reviewer: Peter from Boston, Massachusetts
Why are you not cancelling! Do you think so little of your patrons?

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 24 people found the following review helpful:

A different side, Feb 23, 2013
reviewer: Rae from Minneapolis, Minnesota
This show was political. The dancers and dance was beautiful, clothes wonderful but the purpose was doubtful. Would not see it again and after some research will not suggest for others to see it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Deceptive marketing, Feb 24, 2013
reviewer: Sue from St Paul, Minnesota
I have seen great classical Chinese performances by other companies. I expected the same superb quality from Shen Yun, especially for the exorbitant price. Sadly, although I appreciated the instrumentalists and the costumes, most of the dances were unimpressive. The compulsory Falun Dafa propaganda spoiled the show. I have a bad feeling about who is profiting from the ticket sales.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Astounding Performance, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Weichu from Seattle, Washington
I watched their performance in 2012. It was really nice experience. I feel dancers were all like flying to the sky and landing on the pillow... it was really amazing! Furthermore, I especially love their colorful costumes and animated backdrop. They perfectly match together. Through their story based beautiful and graceful dance with unique live music, I can realize the ancient Chinese culture and its realm. I was even like one of them immersing in a profound universe.. It was really a inspiring show! Strongly recommend it for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

6 years in a row, enjoyable, inspiring, and educational, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Steve Lee from Portland, OR
I have seen this shows 6 times, and I brought my family to the show 5 times. Just check those pictures, those backdrop, the dancers' movement and facial expression, the beauty is stunning, and the culture they presented is inspiring. No group can present something as pure and as sincere as this group.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Most wonderful show I have ever seen, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Seattle, Washington
I enjoyed the show so much that I hope it never ends! It's great that Shen Yun comes to Seattle again. I can enjoy it one more time. :-)

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Something You Can't Miss, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Yun Lau from Everett, Washington
I spent over 30 years back in China, never watched a show like this. It is soooo spectacular and unique! I have tears in my eyes when I watched it and my heart was so deeply touched by the music and story. It is something not only for Chinese, it is for everyone. Once you watch it, it is something unforgettable in your life time!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun is awe-inspiring, Mar 22, 2013
reviewer: Sandy from Seattle, Washington
I have seen this show three times in Seattle, and am returning to see Shen Yun again this year. Each year there are new dances and the backgrounds just keep getting better and better. I have never been disappointed. It is quite uplifting to see all the beauty and colors presented in the show, especially when the days are grey and rainy outside, it is a breath of spring in winter and I always come out with new inspiration and my spirits uplifted! I would definitely recommend to someone planning a great night out in Seattle.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Magnificent, Mar 24, 2013
reviewer: Quan Liu from San Francisco, Washington
I just watched it in San Francisco today. You have to go to the theatre by yourself to feel its magnificence.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

The Best Show in the World!, May 02, 2013
reviewer: William from Peoria, Illinois
I have seen this show several times, since they develop totally new programs every year. I would say it's the best show I have ever seen! It's just so exciting, inspiring, and also educational. I like it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 19 people found the following review helpful:

sunday schedule, Feb 09, 2013
reviewer: Paul former ticket purchaser from Boston, Massachusetts
I am disappointed that the Opera House is showing so little concern for their patrons during this emergency. To hold a performance on Sunday is shameful. I will certainly reconsider any future attendance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

truly unique performance , Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Lily from Oregon
My family watched the performance at Seattle last year. It was amazing and awesome. We will definitely watch it again this year.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

I would like to watch it again!, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Ethan from Seattle, Washington
It is absolutely wonderful! I like it so much. I will watch it again this time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Welcome back Shen Yun!, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Donna from Seattle, Washington
I love the Shen Yun performances! They are so beautiful and touching-- they give me chills, bring tears to my eyes and inspire me. I now go every year to the Seattle performance. Because they tour around the States, my family members around the country have had the chance to see performances as well. It's great that we can all share what our favorite piece was. I am always amazed how the performers can move in such synchronicity. And, they sometimes seem to be able to defy gravity! McCaw Hall is such a beautiful venue as well. A perfect place to showcase such a magnificent performance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Worthy performance; rare gem from the US, Mar 21, 2013
reviewer: Ava from Seattle, Washington
I have been hearing about Shen Yun for quite a few years now. As a fan of Cate Blanchett, when I realized she took her entire family to see the show, I thought this show must really be something. I was watching Lord of the Rings reruns and I thought, "Hey, she watched Shen Yun!" At last, I convinced my husband to go see this; I am so glad I did. All I can say is that you must watch it at least once to get the full experience. I heard afterwards this show isn't allowed in China. I can see why... because they are not fake like everything else the communist does. This show is Made in the USA, and not Made in China. I am sold.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun, Feb 16, 2014
reviewer: Anonymous from Minneapolis, Minnesota
We were extremely disappointed. This show is NOT about Chinese performing arts, it's about a hidden political and religious agenda that is forced on the audience. My wife and I will never see this show again nor will we ever suggest others to go.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Why are these reviews even here?, Feb 14, 2013
reviewer: Ward from Albuquerque, New Mexico
It helps no one to complain about bad weather (in Boston and it actually snowed too). Review the show don't whine about the venue. Is the show any good???

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I love the double string violin!, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Everett, Washington
I love the live music Shen Yun orchestra presents, which is a combination of western and eastern musical instrument. I especially adore the double string violin.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

It were amazing, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Tony from Seattle, Washington
It is so colorful and beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

beauty beyond imagination, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Jan Ran from Seattle, Washington
Their artistic value and beauty was beyond my imagination, I was impressed from the beginning until the end. The costumes were so beautiful and the backdrops so splendid. They are amazingly fantastic and beyond my imagination! They are truly remarkable.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

It is a fabulous show, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Kathy from Seattle, Washington
My familfy have seen this show for recently two years and it is really a abulous show. My fail is exciting to see this year's show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Can't wait for this year's performance , Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: S.P. from Seattle, Washington
I've seen the Shen Yun show for the last 2 years, and can't wait for this year's performance. I love all the vibrant colors and the beautiful music. I've never seen a performance that uses an animated backdrop like this before.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Beautiful, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Anonymous from Seattle, Washington
With all of the uncertainty and difficulties faced in China right now, it is great to see such a celebration of Chinese heritage and true traditional culture. I loved seeing the show last year. Beauty and grandeur like I had never seen before.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Beautiful, brought me to tears., Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Forrest from Seattle, Washington
This is the most beautiful show I have ever seen. I was moved to tears more than once. The dancers are world class and the stories are very deep. Excellent show for children as well.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Feast for the Eyes!, Mar 20, 2013
reviewer: Michael from Renton, Washington
This is such an beautiful, amazing performance. The colors and visual back drop are dazzling, truly a feast for the eyes. If you haven't seen this, you need to go!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

I love this show, Mar 21, 2013
reviewer: Yang from Seattle, Washington
It is beautiful. I will watch it again this year.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

An unintentional unfunny Chinese Monty Python experience, Jan 29, 2014
reviewer: AvidTheatreLover from Charlotte, North Carolina
The use of a massive background movie screen showing cartoon characters literally bouncing around during a series of repetitive dance routines, 5000 years of Chinese history is not. I kept thinking a Monty Python type cartoon character of God was going to pop up and make some farcical statement to us. The male and female MC's were uninteresting and boring while constantly referring back to their Falun Gong religion - which this show is essentially all about, and which no mention is made prior to arriving. I am not accustomed to having to Google and verify a ballet performance prior to attending it, but after this experience, I realize I will now have to do so. There were a couple musical pieces that helped avoid making this a total waste of time and money. We have attended and enjoyed ballet, opera, comedy, plays over the last 30 years - Over all this was simply awkward and unimaginative with few bright spots - none of which came close to the quality of past theatre experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

God-awful awful, Feb 23, 2014
reviewer: PT from Providence RI
You'd have to experience it, to accept how numb this affair is. Mix equal portions of dance from any classic Broadway production (Oklahoma!, Seven Brides for Seven Brothers) with the spirit of Dan Akalroyd's old SNL "Bad Theater" with.... nope, the words fail. Try this... The absolute best Cirque de Soleil performance you've ever seen, translated into Saturday morning made for TV cartoons...and you have to sit through two hours. A "traditional ethnic dance" called "Mongolian Chopsticks"?? Don't get me started...

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Post-script on my , Feb 23, 2014
reviewer: PT from Providence, RI
After entering my review, I scrolled through previous reviews. Overwhelmingly favorable are the reviews written in March 2013. The show changes every year, so maybe this year tanked. Or, maybe, last year's reviews, all effusive, were artificial... Don't know. The only 2014-written reviews on this site were also negative. "MontyPython-like", right"" SCTV's Chiller Theater", for another. All I know is this...$250 for two tickets last night in Providence (last minute gift) , and applauding as if I'm back in the day of my son's Little League years, saying "good job" all the time. Whatever this was, it was NOT as advertised.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

OK, but too heavy-handed., Feb 25, 2014
reviewer: Alex K from Toronto, Ontario
I enjoyed many of the dances, and the costumes and music could be very pleasant. However, the show was far too heavy-handed politically, and the advertising did not give an accurate picture of the kind of show we would receive. Some of the dances told a fun story and I especially enjoyed some of the instrumental content, but the opera singers and several dances were quite preachy. The CGI backdrop was cheesy, and a final dance of Buddha wiping out Falun Gong persecutors in a wave of judgment was, well...not what I came to see. The price of the tickets did not at all reflect the quality of the show. Beware of Shen Yun!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Beauty in its most enjoyable form, Mar 06, 2014
reviewer: fredy wolfe from Rochester, New York
When I first experienced shenyun I knew its was the most heartouching blessing that I have ever received from such dedicated talented young people . This show deserves every single half star or star rating that it has received and once you sit in the theatre you will not regret what you have seen. You will leave the theatre with tears of joy from the beatiful message sent from the from the smiles:-) on all of their faces. Hope fully you will leave that theatre feeling refrreshed and reborn fom tthe show and I promise you that every year they come you will run to the theatre like a child running down stairs to reciev their christmas presents. IHighly recomend this show and I hope you will too. Even if you don't see this show more than once it will be an experience you will never ever forget and you will appreciate the day that you were showed in great detail and beaty the importance of ancien tasian civilizations and others too.SHenyun is truly the best

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Duped into paying to watch propaganda, Jan 24, 2014
reviewer: SB from Vancouver, British Columbia
Not worth $. Misleading ads: it's sponsored by Falun Dafa. Despite my belief in the value of freedom of religion, the overwhelming impression made on me was I was duped into paying to watch propaganda. Feeling deceived does not make one more sympathetic to their cause. Were the glowing reviews in the ads genuine? Was the constant smile plastered on the face of the white emcee genuine? Maybe his fixed smile was natural, which would make it creepy. Neon costumes & cartoony video backdrop added to the artificiality. Soprano's über wide vibrato & proselytising lyrics were cringe-worthy. The emcee popped onto stage to say something like: Wasn't that wonderful? We need an encore from her! Another uncomfortable point, he asked the audience to repeat in Chinese, "I love Shen Yun." Dance was OK in a repetitive & Disney-esque way & at least they had a live orchestra, but not worth $. Unless you wanted to pay to experience an evangelical & tacky blend of art/politics/religion. January 2014

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Magnificent and unique, Nov 18, 2013
reviewer: Kevin Liu from Vancouver, British Columbia
It's a show I have never seen before, considering the full-stage large digital animation backdrop- it extends the stage not only to high above the heaven, but also transport me back to thousands of years ago. Impressively beautiful !

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Shen Yun Great!, Mar 31, 2014
reviewer: Ann from Burneyville, Oklahoma
Saw the show in Oklahoma City on March 25th this year. It was a great experience and a very enjoyable evening. A show every age will enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Stunningly Beautiful, Mar 23, 2014
reviewer: MaLisa from Fernandina Beach, Florida
I took my mother and sister two years ago. It was amazing! The talent of these folks really shines through in their performance. The show was beautiful and we sat at the edge of our seats the whole time. I am so excited to see that it is coming back to Jacksonville this year. I can't wait to take my kids too.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

The BEST show I've EVER seen, Apr 14, 2014
reviewer: Legend from Austin, Texas
I am a lover of classics, music and dance. Ballet attracts people for its movement, symphony touches soul through tones. But, this show comes to a perfect match for both. I have seen it in Austin last December, and couldn't help to spend the next day seeing it for the second time. Many of the bad comments here are pretty misleading, how could you feel satisfied for a classical Chinese dance only expecting a ballet? It is DIFFERENT genre! To clarify some common misunderstandings, say, all programs are repeating. They are about totally different stories, but meanwhile all 20 programs manifest an integrity of spirit, compassion and braveness. Believe me or not, you gonna never see shows of this level anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

America's got talent on steroids , Mar 09, 2014
reviewer: Judy marlborouh from Boston, Massachusetts
Totally boring. Acrobats doing the same thing over and over. Left after 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?  


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

bad show, Apr 06, 2014
reviewer: maria star from Springfield, Illinois
The show was very disappointing. All the dances seemed the same. The anouncesr between the dances were so monotonous. The show was slow moving and boring. Would not recommend it. People were leaving in the middle.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 47 of 47 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review