Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Grease The Musical
Avg. Customer Review (4.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 11
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
Back to Paged View  


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful:

Must see for Grease fans - a great time!, Jul 27, 2007
reviewer: Dana T. from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
After watching the show on tv, we had to see the production on Broadway and were there for opening night on Tuesday, July 24, 2007! It was so exciting to see two characters who seemed like friends (after watching them on tv) play the roles of Danny and Sandy. You could tell the whole cast had such a terrific time together and there was a lot of mutual respect among the characters. I would highly recommend this show to anyone and everyone looking for a good time and great music! Highly recommend Thalia, just around the corner around 49th street!

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

dress code, Jul 30, 2007
reviewer: taytayfree from MI
My daughter and I will be attending Grease soon, this will be our first show ever. Was wondering how to dress Your info will be very helpful Thank You

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

July Preview, Jul 30, 2007
reviewer: MS - grammar correction from NJ
There are a few comments I have for several cast members. Laura: Every solo Laura sang, the audience saw her profile most of the time. She sang most of the time to the side of the stage regardless if the stage was light up or in darkness instead of singing to us (the audience). Laura head was down too many times as well. I hope in the future shows she connect with her audience. She is an excellent singer & can act the part, but she needs to put her heart and feeling out there to the people watching her. Max appeared not sure of himself. Relax Max and let it happen naturally for you. Best to Laura & Max on future shows. Relax. Jenny & Matt - you carried the show! Great work! Excellent chemistry! Ryan, enjoyed for guitar playing. Nice voice. Daniel, Kirsten, Lindsey - enjoyed your humor. Robyn, performed well. Believable! Jose-well played T-bird. The show was entertaining. I enjoyed the changes of sets & costume.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show! Glad we went., Jul 29, 2007
reviewer: Jason Watkins from Philadelphia, PA USA
I am not a big fan of Broadway shows because I just tend to find the environment crowded and uncomfortable. Our seats were way way up on the mezzanine, but ironically, the view was great! We could see everything going on stage and in the orchestral area instead of the back of another patron's head. The music was well played and conducted if a bit fast. The vocals and performances were top notch, in my opinion, and well portrayed. The surprise was the orchestra conductor. She started the show rockin and dancing to the entire score. I think I watched her more than the cast. All in all a great show. If you go to this performance expecting to watch a live version of the movie, you will wind up disappointed. The scenes and songs are switched up a bit, but in good order. Max and Laura are not John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, but great in their own right. Would I recommend it, yes. Would I take Mom, yes. Broadway shows are not for kids in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Loved it!!, Jul 30, 2007
reviewer: Cheryl R. from Clarksville, TN
Just got back from NYC. The sole purpose was to see Grease and I LOVED it. The opening number was awesome and I would recommend it. It's well worth the $$$, long lines and hassle of getting around NYC. I thought Max and Laura did superb jobs, no one will ever top John Travaolta and Olivia N-John but these two shined! The cast was equally great. Great sets, all of the seats were good and the dancing and songs were well done. The "Beauty School Dropout" Angel was great! The ending was my least favorite part (sort of goofy lines) and I thought Sandy was left out of a few important songs she should have been in; however, it did not dampen the evening. The beginning act gave me chillbumps-it was sooooo good!!! It would go again and again if I could! I rooted for Max and Laura on TV every week and I was not disappointed. Thanks for a memorable time!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Scintillating Show, Nov 02, 2007
reviewer: Patricia Kappes from Melrose, NY 12121
I've followed the progress of talented Max Crumm and Laura Osnes on TV the Winter of '06, cheered for them all along, and was thrilled to be able to see them on Broadway on 10/13/07. The show was FANTASTIC, the singing and acting beyond words! I think Max and Laura, and the entire cast, are extremely talented, the music and the entire ambience of the show, was breathtaking. I would see it again and again, whenever possible. Am so proud of them, and all they've accomplished! The theater is charming, the seats were great, and I would definitely take my mother and/or children to see this show. The cast received standing ovations, and my friend and I walked out dancing on clouds!! God Bless Max, Laura, and all. Pat Kappes/Melrose, NY

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Danny is the real thing, Jul 28, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from California
I grew up with Grease, and John Travlota was amazing. I watched the tv show and it was so disappointing when the Danny and Sandy was selected. Now I'm coming to NY and I REALLY want to see the musical, but I dread being disappointed again. The wrong Danny and Sandy got the part.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

be open minded, Jul 29, 2007
reviewer: Jake from Harrisburg, Pa.
If you're traveling from Ca. to NYC to see Grease and are already disappointed, please stay home..I doubt if you'll like anything that doesn't involve John and Olivia. Also the original Sandy was not a blonde..why does everyone think she has to be? Sandra Dee is for Dumbrowski..why they changed it in the movie, to Olsen, is beyond me. I'll be attending in August and am going in with the hope Max and Laura are as good as they appeared on TV. I'll let you all know what this old fart thinks then..I did see the original..am anxious to see how they added songs from the movie.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Not disappointed, Oct 17, 2007
reviewer: J Fischer from Norco, CA
Traveled to NYC from CA to see Grease. Watched all of the eliminations on TV. The play was fabulous, however i felt the wrong Danny (for sure) and Sandy (not too sure) were selected. The proof was in NYC. The supporting cast carried the show, however at the end, Danny and Sandy finally came alive and performed to the audience. Sandy is very "lack lustre" and Danny was not believable as the "LEADER OF THE PACK" Just not "macho" enough. I feel both runners up on the TV show should have won. The orchestra was the "top dog" the conductor kept us smiling and taping our feet. All in All thanks for a wonderful evening at the show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Ashley Spencer and Derek Keeling, Sep 06, 2008
reviewer: NYC Theatre from Florida
Wow! What a performance by these two! Ashley and Derek are wonderful and the best fit for these roles. The producers got it quite right by casting these two in the show! Also, the rest of the cast was superb! Get on a bus, train or plane and see this show. You won't be sorry. So much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Grease IS The Word, Sep 28, 2008
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from USA
Amazing. I can not tell you how much I loved this show. It is one of Broadway's best rock and roll musical! I can simply not descirbe how good it was. It was that good. It was great seeing the band up ontop of the stage! The cast was one of the best Broadway cast ever. The show was great. The dancing, spectacular and the songs were above awesome! This is a show I would recommend to everyone. Grease is the Word!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

A Disappointing new Danny, Jul 29, 2007
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I'm 37 and have managed to avoid seeing any version of Grease until the first Saturday night show of the new revival. Not having any other point of reference I was distinctly disappointed. The supporting cast was excellent and Laura Osnes as the new Sandy was passable. (They are stretching when trying to compare a brunette to Sandra Dee, but she plays innocent well and her singing was adequate.) However, Max Crumm as Danny was not very good. He does not fit the role and his singing was poor (The actors playing Doody and Roger had much better voices.) The supporting cast salvaged the evening for my wife and I. She is a devoted Grease fan and loved it becuase of the supporting cast and was upset with the choice of Crumm as Danny. I would be curious to see it again without Crumm as Danny to see if it was him or if this production is just lacking the chemistry between Danny and Sandy which can make up for a lackluster performnce from the new Danny.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic show, Jan 06, 2008
reviewer: Leah from USA
I went to go see Grease today and the show was fantastic. I would go back to see it again. The music and the scenery were wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Ace Young as Kenickie, Nov 04, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Florida
I saw the show 4 times in one week and I couldn't get enough of seeing Ace Young as Kenickie! He is SO perfect for this role. If you can make it to see Grease before he leaves on Jan 18th...DO IT! You won't be disapointed!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Preview, Jul 30, 2007
reviewer: MS from NJ
There are a few comments I have for several cast members. Laura: Every solo Laura sang, the audience saw her profile most of the time. She sang most of the time to the side of the stage regardless if the stage was light up or in darkness instead of singing to us (the audience). Laura head was down too many times as well. I hope in the future shows she contacts with her audience. She is an excellent singer & can act the part, but she needs to put her heart and feeling out there to the people watching her. Max appeared not sure of himself. Relax Max and let it happen naturally for you. Lindsay & Matthew - excellent pair together. Love them together - good chemistry. Best to Laura & Max on future shows. Relax. Jenny & Matt - you carried the show! Great work! Ryan, enjoyed for guitar playing. Nice voice. Daniel, Kirsten, Lindsey - enjoyed your humor. Robyn, performed well. Believable! Jose-well played T-bird. The show was entertaining. I enjoyed the changes of sets & costume.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review