Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for The Color Purple
Avg. Customer Review (4.5 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 19
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews
 


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful!, Jul 14, 2006
reviewer: Charlotte from Hammond, LA USA
Oprah has done it again. The Color Purple musical was wonderful. It was well worth the trip to NYC to see it on broadway. Listening to the soundtrack brings it back to life for me. Again, simply wonderful- the acting was superb. Loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Words Don't Do Justice, Jul 17, 2007
reviewer: Beryl Dixon from Grifton, N. C.
Being a fanatical (well almost) Fantasia fan, I knew going in I would probably enjoy this play very much. However, I was not really prepared for how much I enjoyed it. Until I learned Fantasia was starring in it, I really had no interest in seeing the play. I was just one of those people that felt seeing Color Purple once (movie or otherwise) was enough and I had seen the movie. Well, that opinion has drastically changed. I now am planning another trip to New York, specifically to see the play again. This time I would like to take my daughters and several of my friends. It was incredible! It made me laugh and cry. I didn't imagine it would stay so true to the movie version, but it did and the entire cast was unbelievably talented. I have raved so much about this play since I returned home, that several of my friends and acquaintances have bought tickets and finalized their plans to go to NY to see it (they won't even wait for me) (:->)

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

FANTASIA IS FANTASTIC!!!, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: Tam from DALLAS TX
Probably my favorite movie of all time was even better on Broadway! The cast is unbelievable... and I was delighted with the performance of Fantasia as Celie...she captured the essence of the character from the movie played by Whoopi Goldberg... down to the silly grin!! Fantasia should be extremely proud of all her accomplishments since American Idol! Take everyone you know to see this play...and see it yourself twice...OR MORE!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome, Jul 23, 2006
reviewer: Emily from Jackson, Al
this was my first time visiting New Yourk, and i went just to see this play. It was awesome, i am already making plans to go again. Everything was perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

BEAUTIFUL, Apr 30, 2007
reviewer: MRS.2 U from BALTIMORE
BEAUTIFUL!!! I CRIED I LAUGHED BEAUTIFUL!!! FANTASIA WAS GGGGGGGGGGGGGREAT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Fan(tasia)astic!!!, Jun 08, 2007
reviewer: Tim B from Downey, CA USA
I took my 14-year-old daughter to see this show and we both thought it was great. The music and singing was as good as anything I have heard. Fantasia did an excellent job as Celie. She was totally believable in the part. The others were super too. Sophia was a blast! Well worth seeing. Peace.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome!!!!!!!!!, Jan 18, 2007
reviewer: Noel from Bronx, NY
This was the Christmas gift my girlfriend gave me. The cast was phenomenal. I enjoyed every moment. I have bought two tickets for my friend and his wife and I will be taking the choir to see it in February. The music, the set, the cast couldn't be better. Well done.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Color Purple, Mar 26, 2007
reviewer: Brenda Gauvin from New York, NY
Honestly, I was not really at all enthusiastic about seeing the Color Purple (as a play). I had already concluded the play could not possibly stand of to the movie. Well, to say the least, I was proven wrong, with a capital W. The Play was superb!! The adaptation from movie to play was so entertaining, I had to restrain myself to stay in my seat. My hands were red from clapping and my throat sore from laughing. The musical scores just glided right in time to the characters and the plot. The Color Purple is certainly a play I will remember for a long time....And I want to see it again!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show, May 06, 2007
reviewer: Annoymous from NY
It was great . I laughed I cried and it was so good . Just like the book . The message was clear and Fanstasia was great.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Disappointed, Nov 01, 2007
reviewer: Tammy Harris from Beach Park, Il
I saw the musical in chicago, but I wanted to Fantasia play the part because of the reviews that I was hearing. When I heard the show had been extended until Jan, 08', I booked tickets. I got forth row seats. I flew all the way from Chicago to New York, got their and she was not their. I spent alot of money for this and I was sooo disappointed because the people did not know anything. I spent my Anniversary in New York(first time there) in hopes of supporting the person I have supported from day one with American Idol.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

please bring the show to the west end uk, Feb 17, 2007
reviewer: Gerard Bergin. from United Kingdom
Having visited Newyork last year I had to see the show. It was an amazing production with an excellent cast.Please bring it to the UK.!!!!!! if not I hope to return to Newyork and will certainly go to see the show again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Just sayin!, Jun 17, 2007
reviewer: Victoria from North Carolina
I've never seen this play yet and I want to tell you I just CANT WAIT!!!!!! So soon I will be writting you back telling you all about it!!!!!!Thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

EXCELLENT!, Feb 06, 2007
reviewer: Buffy D. from Palmdale, CA
The musical was so superb I was almost in tears. It was great to see such talent on stage and in an intimate setting. There are no bad seats. I was in Philly for a convention last August when I was blessed to get to NY for this musical. I am returning in March '07, from CA, with my husband and son because it is such a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

High Point University Student, Jun 17, 2007
reviewer: Mrs. S.T. from North Carolina
fantastic fantasia, enjoyed it to the utmost.......

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

FROM FLORIDA, Oct 30, 2007
reviewer: Susan from Lake Wales, FL USA
The play was EXCELLENT. Disappointed that Fantasia was not their but my friends and I enjoyed it still. Planning to go again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING!!!, Dec 04, 2007
reviewer: TAMMAR from WPB, FLORIDA
THIS SHOW IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING. I LEFT THERE WITH A F FEELING THAT WAS UNDESCRIBABLE. ALL THE CHARACTERS ARE WELL PICKED AND SO VERY TALENTED. A MUST SEE AT LEAST ONCE IN A LIFE TIME.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A SHOW TO REMEMBER, Dec 10, 2007
reviewer: Denise from Hatboro, PA
The show was everything I hoped for and much, much, more. The entire cast was on the money. And what can I say about Fantasia? She brought Celie to life and gave her a place in the hearts of many!!! It's gonna be a tough act to follow, but I hope she does.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Not A Happy Participant, Feb 11, 2008
reviewer: YOLANDA from Bronx, New York
I really did not enjoy this production. Both of the TWO headliners Chaka Khan, and Bee-Bee Wyan did NOT show up for a sold out performance on Saturday Night! February 9th to be exact. I understand they bailed out of the show a few weeks ago. I mean come on now, stop the false advertisement! The music and singing was sad, long and boring. 2 hours and 45 minutes of pure torture. I would not recommend this play to anyone. I can see why it is closing. I hope someone will read this and save themselves the $118.00 un-refundable fee. U N B E L E I V A B L E.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent, Jun 15, 2008
reviewer: Camilla from Maryland
Great Show. The set was beautiful. Actors were excellent. Chaka Khan did not perform but Lakisha Jones was wonderful. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

EYE OPENING, Aug 28, 2010
reviewer: Dean Middleton from Memphis, Tennessee
The play was really grand. It was an eye opener for me. Being a married woman and seeing how you can not know the real love from your husband. Looking at life from the eyes of someone who did not want to live because of her circumstance. Her life was in the hands of others. She had her own body but she didn't have any control over it. Imagine being used all your life as if you were a commodity. Every living being need to be shown appreciation and love. Without love life is lost.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review