Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for The Drowsy Chaperone
Avg. Customer Review (4.7 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 12
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews
Back to Paged View  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Don't miss this show!, Apr 10, 2007
reviewer: Sue from Northern NJ
The name may not be as well known as other productions, but it should be! A wonderful ensemble cast performs one of the best scripts ever written for a musical comedy. The musical numbers were a blast. Some you just have to see to believe (a monkey on a pedestal?), but 6 months after the show I still am laughing! We met a few of the cast at the stage door after the show, what a nice group of people, all saying they are having a great time doing this show. It is one of the smartest shows I have ever seen, even though it is very silly. There is no intermission, and the ushers told us this before curtain, which was much appreciated. I would see this again in a minute! It is definitely "Lovely in the end"!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Surprising Fun, May 30, 2006
reviewer: Emily from Ohio
I had no idea what to expect when I stumbled into this show last weekend. From the first few words spoken in the darkness, I knew I was in for a treat! Although probably more enjoyable for the frequent musical go-er, everyone can appreciate the witty writing and wonderful timing of this quirky little show. It's a terrific look back at when theatre was fun, and proves as silly and over the top as musicals can be, audiences still love them. Who needs vampires and vines, when you can have good old fashioned slapstick and a few spit takes?

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

I Left the Theater Smiling!, Jul 27, 2006
reviewer: Elizabeth Vyner from Connecticut, USA
I just saw "The Drowsy Chaperon" at yesterday's matinee. What a great show! Its very well written, with wonderful songs and music. The performers were all spectacular. It was fresh and original, and perhaps the best thing I've experienced in New York in years. The awards were well deserved, and I hope it has a long successful run. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

WONDERFUL!, May 01, 2006
reviewer: kathy from nyc, ny
one of the best broadway shows I have ever seen! I was laughing so much. And it got a standing ovation at the end. A must see!! PS- went with a theatre critic, and he loved it too! he plans to go back!! (so do I!)

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Great Entertainment, May 18, 2006
reviewer: Skip from Corpus Christi, Texas
What a wonderful escape, you can get into each character as the show develops. The acting is outstanding and leaves you laughing and talking about the wonderful time you just experienced after leaving the theater. Don't miss it !

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

A GEM!, Apr 27, 2006
reviewer: John from NYC, NY
What a fantastic little show. I went, knowing nothing about it, but had a hunch it would be good. It's funny, smart, and well done. It's short (1 hour, 40 minutes) with no intermission, which I LOVE! I liked it; I really liked it. I hope it's reviews are deservingly good and I really hope it gives "The Color Purple" a run for best new musical at the Tonys.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A GEM!, Apr 27, 2006
reviewer: John from NYC, NY
What a fantastic little show. I went, knowing nothing about it, but had a hunch it would be good. It's funny, smart, and well done. It's short (1 hour, 40 minutes) with no intermission, which I LOVE! I liked it; I really liked it. I hope it's reviews are deservingly good and I really hope it gives "The Color Purple" a run for best new musical at the Tonys.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Beautiful and hits all the right marks for Musicals, May 16, 2006
reviewer: Will from Washington, DC
funny, charming, colorful, well sung, clever, witty, different and fresh. Original. I LOVED THE ENTRANCE APPLAUSE --- for a few leads --- you never hear that much anymore

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

PURE FUN, Jun 25, 2006
reviewer: Mollie from CT
What a treat! The premise is appealing; the narration, clever. The music, lyrics, dancing, jokes, sight gages, sets, and costumes are outstanding. I'm surprised that it didn't win even more Tonys than it did. Don't hesitate. Treat yourself to some pure fun!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Smilling all the way!, Sep 20, 2006
reviewer: Dennis from Dordrecht, the Netherlands
We saw this show during our honeymoon. It made our honeymoon more special. Great acting, music, 'jokes'. Really, you must not miss this one...

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great, Oct 30, 2006
reviewer: Anonymous from Clearwater, Fl
excellent show, very funny. A comedy with a musical as the background. Came into this skeptical, left raving about the show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great Show, Feb 21, 2007
reviewer: Eric from Montgomery, AL
I too came in to this show not knowing what to expect, but what a great show! Funny from the get-go! Laugh out loud moments, and a really game cast made this show a real treat from start to finish. Go see it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Okay, Sep 28, 2008
reviewer: Alex Karpinski from USA
This musical isn't what I was looking forward to. I had a good time. But I think the show should have been improved. This show is funny and the music is great and it has a good heart. But they should have made it longer with an intermission. There should have been an intermission because after the show almost every person who saw, was on line for the bathroom. It was good but not good enough like "You have to see this show or you will never forgive yourself". It is not that. It is a musical I would recommend but not much. To sum it up, I enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review