Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for La Bete
Avg. Customer Review (3.1 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 18
Email a friend about this comedy.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 18 of 18 reviews
 


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful..., Sep 25, 2010
reviewer: M. Piazza from Brooklyn, NY
Wow. Um...I...couldn't disagree more with the reviews thus far on this page. Stellar performances, smart production and direction...so much better than the original production. The play itself is fantastic; the best play / performances / production I've seen on Broadway in a long time. If your coming to see celebs, than yes you are wasting your time, money, hotel room. However, if you're coming to see famous people on broadway, perhaps you should stick around to the end of the play and absorb its message into your thick skulls, and then (maybe) we'd have less garbage calling itself theater on broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

LOVED IT!, Sep 26, 2010
reviewer: Connie from NYC
This show was a Pleasant surprise. Absoultely out loud funny! Great performances by all but I must say Mark Rylance was a scene stealer ....I would see it again! Loved it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Simply brilliant, Oct 03, 2010
reviewer: Eric from Melbourne Australia
Yes, you have to like theatre to like this show. No, if you are there to see the TV stars do something familiar, or have an all-singing all-dancing special effects spectacular, you won't be happy. So that's fine, go see Cats again. Really: to those reviewers who didn't like this, I say: you didn't get it. Honestly, complaining about a lack of set changes...? Not all Broadway is Wicked you know. Rylance is one of the finest actors of his generation and here is in virtuoso form, and the others do a fine job of providing things for him to bounce off, the verse dialogue is ingenious and brilliantly delivered, and if I'd been in New York three more nights I would have seen it three more times. So: if you love theatre, rather than Broadway, you will love this play. If you want cheese and helicopters, there's always Miss Saigon.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Excellent, thoughtful, smart, Sep 30, 2010
reviewer: april black from NYC
I just got home from seing this play. It was enjoyable and so entertaining. All of the performances were excellent, especially that of Mark Rylance, so natural and flowing and the way the play is written to rhyme is great & surprisingly easy to follow. Great message too.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

MARK RYLANCE!!!, Oct 01, 2010
reviewer: SOLEDAD from Germany
La Bête is an absolute rarity: an american comedy a la Moliere, playing in 1654 in France, and in verse. The play is a true festival of geniousity and talent and is profounder as it seems. Mixing extrem vulgarity with extrem rafinesse. Rylance brights in all Valere´s registers: an excessive character, egotistical, vulgar, pompous, showy and insensitiv beast: La bete It was worth to be one week in NYC only to see him!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Finally! I got the message!, Oct 04, 2010
reviewer: Toots from New Jersey
T totally agree with M. Piazza. The ending hit me right in the chest!Anyone who's engaged in mediocrity should stay home.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Boring & drawn out. DON'T SEE THIS!., Sep 27, 2010
reviewer: Steven from Princeton, NJ
I was at the 2pm sat. show this past weekend & WOW what a waste of my travel time. Between not hearing hearing Mr. Pierce voice clearly (I was 5 rows from the stage) & listening to that boring dialog, dealing with no intermissions & no set changes to liven it up & then hearing the cackling & giggling planted flaming theater guys to give the impression that the play is actually funny was too much... This is 1 long, boring scene... I don't know who funded this but it was a huge waste of your money..

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

The best kind of theater, Oct 03, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Philadelphia PA
Wonderful social and political satire with first class actors who seemed to enjoy the performance as much as the enthusiastic audience did. It was a treat to see such talent in a play of current history played out in a century now past. I'll watch for future plays by Mr. Ryland.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

La Bete, Sep 25, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
At 9:20 pm I could not stand another minute of this show and I had to leave. I met women in the ladies room who felt the same way I did. We just sat there waiting for the show to end. I walked outside waiting for my husband to come out. I met a couple and asked how they enjoyed the show. "They said they did not want to walk out on the performers but it was so awful that they finally left. The actors were not the problem it was the show itself. I give the actors a lot of brain power to memorize what they did. I did not feel it was worth the drive and the cost of a hotel for this show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A waste of time and money, Sep 26, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
If writing in rhyme and having the worlds longest monologues is the only measure, then this piece of garbage would surely rate 5 stars. As it is I am amazed that such fine actors would waste their talent on it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Laughed till I cried!, Oct 04, 2010
reviewer: Ken from Redlands, CA USA
I went to the very first preview of this show and sat in the 11th row. It was delightful from beginning to end. Mark Rylance was off the charts hilarious. I was in NY for a week, and this was the 5th show I saw, and by far one of the best. To those who didn't like the show, you evidently didn't get it. I have never seen anyone funnier than Mark Rylance, but unfortunately for everyone else onstage, he stole the show. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

carolg, Oct 05, 2010
reviewer: carol gunter from UK
Saw it in London and was absolutely entranced by the acting and the play itself. I hope that New York loves it as much as we did.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

This play failed the last time it hit NY, Oct 19, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from New York
I can't believe they brought this play back. The last time it was in NY I think it lasted all of 29 performances.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Dull, Predictable, Sleeper, Oct 19, 2010
reviewer: limom3 from NY
Sleeper....Saw the play Friday night what a boring play!!! It took 1hr and 45 mins to convey a message that could've taken 5 minutes. The main actor just babbled on, and on, and on....that's it. Jokes were predictable and dull!! Literally, the whole play entailed three actors who stood there and one who talked the entire time for an eternity. oh, and 15 minutes at the end a few more actors came on stage. That was the whole play in a nutshell!! Had to keep myself awake. Begged husband to leave but he said it has to get better....NOT. Thank goodness we didn't pay for these tickets!! Save your money folks. I give it .5 star only because it's not the actors fault this play is so bad. Read more: http://www.broadwayworld.com/board/readmessage.php?thread=1023206&dt=11&boa
rdid=1#ixzz12ok6pN3m

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AWFUL, Sep 25, 2010
reviewer: Patricia from PAtricia Nester
I HAD TO LEAVE

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Excruciating, Oct 01, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from New York
An awful theatrical waste. The monologues are simply unbearable. No subtlety, no wit. We endured the whole thing hoping for improvement, sadly it only goes from bad to worse.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

It's funnier than you ever imagined it could be!, Nov 08, 2010
reviewer: Linda from Minneapolis, MN
Please see this show, if for no other reason than to witness the astonishing talents of Mark Rylance one more time! The monologue is long - yes! Stick with it; you'll enjoy it. What a privilege to have seen this show - we traveled from Minneapolis specifically to see it and couldn't be more satisfied!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Tour de Force!, Nov 15, 2010
reviewer: montdorr from Chicago, IL
Absolutely brilliant on all levels. I haven't laughed so hard in I don't know when. Rylance, Pierce, Ouimette, et al are fantastic. Direction, sets, lights, sound all in accord and fueled the performances. A real treat not to me missed!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 18 of 18 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review