Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for A Life In The Theatre
Avg. Customer Review (2.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 9
Email a friend about this comedy.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
Back to Paged View  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Witty, Sep 23, 2010
reviewer: Figaro from New York City
Mamet proves his reputation as the 'Andy Warhol' of theatre - a truly unique play with 26 witty stages in an hour and half. TR keeping up with Stewart was breathtaking to watch - the duo fit so well with the script it's hard to tell how much is real vs a purely the act.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Love the actors, like Mamet, Oct 16, 2010
reviewer: Carole from Mississippi Gulf Coast
This is a Mamet play and it is from 1977. Anyone who knows Mamet should know what to expect. Both Patrick Stewart and T.R.Knight were spot on in their portrayals of these characters. Their rapport was real and their quick exchanges were done with a bit of tongue in cheek when I saw the show from the second row. It was obvious they were having fun. It is a lighter piece. Last year, I saw 'Race' in previews, and it had it's kinks to work out. Mamet is not for every one. Perhaps those of you panning the show, should try to find out a bit more about the work you're going to see. That way, when there's no fireworks or show girls, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Very funny!, Sep 30, 2010
reviewer: iluvbway from NY, NY
Patrick Stewart was as AWESOME as usual. And TR Knight's performance was a wonderful surprise. Audience laughed the entire time. Really entertaining. Go see it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A GREAT night out with A Life in the Theatre, Oct 26, 2010
reviewer: Wes from Hartford, CT
My parents, wife and I LOVED this show, it was a great night out -- Sir Patrick and TR are prefectly cast in this comedic look at some of the experiences and gaffes that occur both on- and off-stage. It centers around the timeless theme of a mentor-mentee relationship and how the roles reverse (as they always do!) throughout the play is very touching.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Anemic, Sep 22, 2010
reviewer: Ann Marie from NYC
A few friends and I saw this last night and it was such a good idea--that is until we saw it. It was bland and anemic. Luckily each scene was short so we could be kept awake with the costume changes and guessing which play they were playing. I KNOW we should have been paying attention to the plot but I got the feeling that somelost the plot when producing this. My friend's husband fell asleep and my boyfriend was too sick to attend. Lucky fellas.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Save your money, Sep 24, 2010
reviewer: Showlover from San Diego
We were looking forward to seeing this and after five minutes, the end could not come quick enough. Two talented actors only made this tolerable and not total misery.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Dreadful waste of time, Sep 28, 2010
reviewer: Bernadette from Queens,NY
If we'd have been seated in aisle seats we'd have left after 30 minutes for sure! Nothing happens that couldn't have been predicted after the first five minutes of meeting the two characters. There was no saving this either because the dialogue was boring and the "comedy" was barely slapstick. Forgetting your lines, covering your broken fly zipper with your hand, having your wig slip off?? Like bad tv!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Who would've thought it could be soooo bad???, Oct 13, 2010
reviewer: TheatreLover from New York, NY
On opening night the theatre was filled with stars. However the stars, and the rest of the audience fell asleep. Normally I'd have thought it disrespectful to not clap at the end of each scene, but many of the scenes were less than 5 minutes and it seemed as if the show would never end if everyone applauded at the end of each one (so luckily no one did). The house didn't give an ovation til the 3rd bow by the actors. It was as if the actors (who are otherwise brilliant in their other endeavors) would never leave the stage til the audience rose to their feet. An utter disaster. I can't believe this was a Mamet work.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Our entire row was asleep, Oct 05, 2010
reviewer: David from NYC
From the very first scene, no one in our group could figure out how this play made it to Broadway. Boringm boring, boring. Good thing it was one act. The theater would have been empty after the intermission.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review