Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for Fences
Avg. Customer Review (4.6 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 31
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 31 of 31 reviews
Back to Paged View  


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful:

wow, Apr 14, 2010
reviewer: Donald Martin from NYC
I was fortunate enough to see the invited dress rehearsal last night and this production is absolutely amazing. I could not believe how good Denzel and Vila were...brilliant ! To be fair, every performance on that stage was equally excellent. The set was gorgeous and played it's own role in this intimate story very well. This was also my first August Wilson play, and I am speechless. I have never experienced so many emotions, so quickly, and related to them on so many levels. FENCES grabbed hold of me and still hasn't let go. I would jump at the chance to see this performance again, but being a limited engagement and the fact that it is sooooo gooooood, i think tickets will be hard to come by. Go see it if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Magificent!, Apr 13, 2010
reviewer: ZAK from NEWARK,NJ
ONE WORD TO DESCRIBE THIS PLAY......MAGNIFICENT! I LAUGHED AND CRIED FROM BEGINNING TO END. I PLAN TO GO SEE IT AGAIN. IF YOU CAN MAKE IT I SUGGEST YOU DO. THANKS ERIC.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

What a performance, Apr 14, 2010
reviewer: Andrea Jackson-Williams from New York, NY
I went to see Fences last night and I was blown away. Denzel's performance was Stellar. This actor gives his all to every project I have ever seen. It was great seeing him on Broadway. The cast was on there A GAME. Please go and see this Play; you will have no regrets. I am going to see at least two more times. Wishing the cast best wishes; you rocked the house.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

Denzel belongs on stage, Apr 19, 2010
reviewer: Joanne from NJ
The play and cast was amazing. I have been a fan of Denzel on the big screen but after seeing his perfomance, in my opinion, the stage is where he belongs. He appeared to have totally enjoy himself as well. This is a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Fences, Apr 16, 2010
reviewer: Thomas from New York
I saw the preview of the play Fences with Denzel Washington. It was absolutely brilliant! August Wilson was an intelligent playwright who had such a great way of telling a story. I was spell bound. I did not want it to end. All of the cast were sensational. Hurry and buy your tickets you will be very sorry if you miss this play. My seats were great.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

If you are used to a polite audience, AVOID this play, Apr 25, 2010
reviewer: Claire from NY, NY
I was seated next to a woman who commented outloud after almost every sentence of the play. Finally, at the beginning of he intermission, I asked her politely to refrain from doing so. She responded, "Did you buy my ticket? I can do whatever I want." Then she called me an ---hole. At that point, I went to find an usher, then spoke to the "Theatre Manager," Joseph Traina. He OFFERED and promised to move this woman and her companion to different seats, for which I was grateful. However, at the very last minute, this couple returned to the seats next to me. I went back to see the theater manager, who then said he would move US to different seats (there were no good available seats -- mind you, we had paid premium for our tickets!) The woman said she talks "like this all the time during church" and the play "isn't an opera!" I followed up the next day with Mr. Traina's supervisor, Mary B. @ Shubert, which runs the theater. They do not care & will not remedy the problem.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

OMG!!! Loved it, loved it, loved it!!, May 06, 2010
reviewer: Tracey Boyd from West Orange, NJ
Exceptional performance by Denzel Washington and Ms. Viola Davis was right on his heels. Denzel you are just a gift from God. God has given you a talent and you have truly multiplied it. Ms. Davis it seems no matter what role you play, your presence is so strong that we take notice. Mykelti Williamson you were magnificent as "Gabe" looking forward to seeing you on stage as well as the movies. Stephen McKinley Henderson, you played such a familiar character, I thought you were one of my uncles. LOL Be blessed!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

AWESOME!, Apr 16, 2010
reviewer: Diane Dent from Newark N.J.
This is a must see AGAIN.Denzel,Viola and the entire cast was excellent.Saw the preview Wednesday night.I am still talking about it and urging everyone I know to see it!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Denzel Is Fantastic, Apr 18, 2010
reviewer: Raymond Emmett Rice from Queens, NY
I saw the play, and Denzel brought me to tears. I am so glad that we have such an amazing American actor in Denzel Washington. Russell Hornsby, Mykelti Williamson, and the other actor were simply fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Wonderful, Apr 18, 2010
reviewer: Marilyn from NYC, USA
I saw Fences today and I was absolutely blown away. Denzel is such a great actor. I enjoyed the story line very much. Viola Davis was very good as well. The whole cast was excellent. I am glad that were getting a chance to see Denzel live; it is one thing to see him on the Big Screen. But it is just great to get to see his talent live and in person. I am so sorry that we did not get a whole lot of plays by August Wilson. He was such a great play writer. And the era that he takes you to is great. I love the 1950’s time frame. This is a must see play.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A Must See, Apr 19, 2010
reviewer: Tiffany Ausby-Frazier from Floral Park, NY
This is the best play I have ever seen. Denzel has talent on the screen and on stage. The entire cast was superb!!!!! Thanks for a great evening.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A Night To Remember, Apr 25, 2010
reviewer: Tony Alfaro from New Boston, MI
The play was truly moving. The performances was so real and believable that you got lost in their roles. Only Denzel and Viola could move me the way they did. Im looking into tickets to see the play again with my mom and mother-in-law.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

It was an amazing journey back in time, Apr 27, 2010
reviewer: Paula Morgan-Frazier from Scranton, PA
I went to see the play on Sun. afternoon. I had heard of Fences as well as other August Wilson's work. This was the first I had ever seen live. It was an amazing journey. I was completely engrossed in each and every actors performance. The opportunity to see Denzel W. and Viola D. is a blessing and should not be missed. I must see it again! The actors were so gracious as they exited the theater, but nypd was just a bit too aggressive with the fans. My friend was actually manhandled by one of the officers. The stars were great about talking to us and posing for pics. I got great pics of Russell Hornsby and Stephen M. Henderson, unfortunately thanks to the NYPD I missed out on pics of Mr. Washington and Ms.Davis. Better luck next time. I hope that more of August Wilson's work is revived.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Mind blowing, Jun 03, 2010
reviewer: Ide Cohen from Chicago, Illinois
Love August Wilson's plays and have read them all as well as seen most of them in Chicago. This was outstanding. Spellbinding throughout and well acted by Denzel. This is a must see while in New York! We were lucky enough to get the last seats in the last row of the theatre. No problem with the sightlines and no problem hearing and seeing the action. Don't worry about where you sit, just see it! Ide Cohen

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

OUTSTANDING, Apr 25, 2010
reviewer: Mickey Rodriguez from Warwick, NY
I went to the April 23rd showing, and I can say without a doubt that Denzel Washington's portrayl of Troy Maxson was engrossing. I laughed and I cried. Viola Davis and the cast are outstanding. I loved it so much, I will see it again.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Claire from NYC Don't stereotype...it's bad!, May 06, 2010
reviewer: Alina from NY NJ PA
Claire from NY said stay away from this play because she sat next to a chatty or rude woman. Her entire post was about her experience with this one woman and some of the theater personnel. Claire, why did you then post that one should avoid this play if one wants to avoid impolite people? Does this woman that sat next to you go to EVERY performance? OR are you blatantly categorizing a large population of August Wilson fans (if you're missing what I'm saying, I mean black folk) as impolite. You should examine yourself and your blatant racism. It's a bad thing Claire. It's very bad.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Spectacular, May 19, 2010
reviewer: Pamela Smith from Long Branch, NJ
Denzel Washington is my all time favorite actor. I went to see Fences on 5/15. This was my second time seeing Denzel in a broadway play. As in his movies and previous plays, he is and will always be magnificent. I did not want the play to end. It is emotional and funny. It was so close to home for me and others. I have to say everyone played their part extremely well. I feel blessed to have been able to be in the company of Denzel and Viola to see this play. I am planning on seeing it again. I feel there is a message in this play for all. I have told many, please purchase a ticket to see this play. Thank you Denzel.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, Jun 06, 2010
reviewer: Renee M from Bermuda
I flew all the way from Bermuda to see the play Fences and of course Denzel on June 2, 2010. Denzel, Viola and the entire cast did a brillant job of mesmerizing me. I enjoyed the entire play from cast, to set to venue. Seeing Denzel in person was a treat and I expect he will do well at the Tony Awards. If I am able to get tickets for Fences I will see it again before it finishes; money well spent!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Top of the line performance!, Jun 07, 2010
reviewer: Melissa Jesurum from NY
I was fortunate enough to see my favorite actor in person, on stage and he did not disappoint for one minute. The rest of the cast was superb as well but I must point out that Viola Davis was gripping, she made me cry....I felt everything her character felt. I would recommend this play for anyone and especially those that don't think it can be entertaining to go to the Theatre, this play definitely suspends your disbelief!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

What a Play, What a performance, Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: Terry Brigman from Black Mountain, NC, USA
Wow! I have always been a Denzel fan, his performance in this play was out of sight... Ms. Davis and the supporting cast was beyond description... This is a must see play... It is well deserving of its 10 Tony award nominations!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great experience, Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: Margaret Massey from Peterborough, England
Saw this show on June 1st. I've always been a big Denzel fan but hadn't known he did live theatre. We were taken as a surprise by friends and it was the best surprise I've had for years. The tickets were worth every penny (or dollar). The entire cast were fantastic, the theatre was very intimate which made you feel as if you were almost part of the story and Denzel was just stunning. Very simple scenery but used to marvellous effect. My 18 year old daughter thoroughly enjoyed it too although I feel it would be too deep for most children. Would recommend it to all adults and if given the opportunity would perhaps consider another viewing.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

DENZEL WASHINGTON-BEST ACTOR, Jun 13, 2010
reviewer: PHIL from VA.
I haven't seen the play yet and I already know it is 5+ STARS because DENZEL IS IN IT! I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT. I'M ON MY WAY !!! I LOVE DENZEL!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I dont have words, Jun 16, 2010
reviewer: James from New Jersey
I dont have words after seeing this play, and I may never want to see a play again after this, because I am so floored by what I saw, that I dont think another play can match up to what I just experienced. Cried and laughed; the cast was just amazing - and Denzel is the Man!!! I could not take my eyes off of him and his work. I am still reeling inside. GO SEE THIS WHILE YOU CAN!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Over the top, Jun 16, 2010
reviewer: Joanna Weiss from New York, NY
I saw this with a friend on the 10th of June. He was as always amazing. Unbelievable performance. Remembering all the lines non-stop with great emotion were deservedly award winning. Go Denzel!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

I have one question..., Jun 16, 2010
reviewer: Patricia Anne Murray from Philadelphia, PA USA
This was an excellent production! The acting was incredible. I'm so glad I had the opportunity to see Denzel in the role. Our seats were excellent and provided us with such a great opportunity to see the wonderful set and lighting design. I do have one question..why does the Cort not have to comply with appropriate accomodations for the physically handicapped and/or challenged? This is required by law, and not having ramps or elevators to make it easier to get upstairs or go the the restrooms makes it difficult for seniors as well a those previously mentioned. I love the old theaters, but they need to comply to the law.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

my amazing husband, Jun 21, 2010
reviewer: denise brown-stone from usa
a show well worth attending. the entire cast was absolutely stunning thank you all for a great preformance.........

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

"Out of this World.", Jun 27, 2010
reviewer: Gwendolyn wiley from USA
I called out sick from my job and was watching "Regis and Kelly Show." Denzel was a guest that day talking about Fences; I mention to my husband that I wanted to see the play and he said "let me think about it." I didn't wait to hear his answer, I made reservations for both of us. The show was fantastic, I was in Heaven.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

"Out of this World.", Jun 27, 2010
reviewer: Gwendolyn wiley from USA
I called out sick from my job and was watching "Regis and Kelly Show." Denzel was a guest that day talking about Fences; I mention to my husband that I wanted to see the play and he said "let me think about it." I didn't wait to hear his answer, I made reservations for both of us. The show was fantastic, I was in Heaven.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

best play, Jul 10, 2010
reviewer: faye lowery from richmond virginia
i went to see this play. it was great. all the actors were fantastic. seeing denzel washington in person was fantastic. he is so talented . ive been a fan for yeras . it was my birthday and my daughters surprized me with this,. after they all came out. i was lucky to take some pictures and have mr. washington shake my hand. what a thrill . every one should see this play.. thank all of you for a great evening.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Amazing, May 08, 2012
reviewer: ReviewerPro from New York
This was the best show i have ever seen, everyone did a fantastic job and i will be going back to see it again very soon.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Denzel Washington and Fences, May 30, 2012
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I saw Fences in 2010 and my friends and I were absolutely blown away. Will Fences, (with Denzel), ever come back to the Cort or any other theater in New York?

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 31 of 31 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review