Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Promises, Promises
Avg. Customer Review (3.5 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 24
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 24 of 24 reviews
 


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful:

Great Vehicle for two Strong Stars, Mar 31, 2010
reviewer: J Hines from Dallas, TX USA
First, you have to view Promises, Promises as a period piece otherwise you will tear it to shreds. Saw the first preview on 3/27. From the opening number you are transported back to the 60's with music, costumes, choreography and sets that hint at those great TV variety shows of that time. Sean Hayes is at his comic best and Kristin Chenowith shines visually and vocally. Adding "Say a Little Prayer" to the score was a perfect touch and gives us another chance to hear those Chenowith pipes! Tony Goldwyn holds his own against these two dynamos, and Katie Finneran will have you rolling on the floor.

Was this review helpful to you?  


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

Hilarious show, Apr 03, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Indiana
Saw this show on its 3/27 preview night with my teenaged daughter. We both loved it. It takes a lot to amuse me and I was laughing out loud a lot! There are not any big power songs or huge moments, but it is still a very memorable, highly entertaining show. I liked its narration style and the way the actors interacted with the audience in very subtle ways. It was a really unique and fun Broadway experience for us both! I highly recommend this show!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

JeanneM, Apr 13, 2010
reviewer: JeanneM from NY
The show had some good parts - Marge the owl lady was fantastic, the doctor was very funny too and the 4 exec's musical number was fun. Sean Hayes was ok - some "Jack" came through - funny most of the time, although his rendition of the theme song "Promises Promises" was flat and uninspiring. Kristen Chenoweth was ok too - great voice, but the guitar scene was awful. Overall the show was way too long - could cut or shorten some scenes and songs.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

missed promises, Apr 09, 2010
reviewer: Jeff R from manhattan, NYC
fun show...love the music....Chenewoth is great as always- but they turned it into a sitcom. Hayes looks like he loves being in a broadway show..but its a TV show in the end. I was also in the 3/27 audience and felt like it was forced and unsatisfying. Orchestra was incredible!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

You will Laugh, I Promise!, Apr 18, 2010
reviewer: anonymous from NJ
Overall, an enjoyable show. Sean Hayes comes through with his usual comic timing! Kristin Chenoweth is adorable and can sing! Katie Finneran - exceptional! She will make you laugh. The ensemble was very good and enjoyable to watch. The only disappointment was the 2 male leads singing - (sorry Sean Hayes and Tony Goldwyn...stick with acting)

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

entertaining & enjoyable, Apr 18, 2010
reviewer: JFG from Canton, Ct
attended the 4-17-10 matinee with my 25 yr old daughter...we both found it very enjoyable and had more than our share of laughs. "Jack" as previous reviews have stated, came through in Sean Hayes's performance but that made his characater all the more endearing...it did seem as though he was a bit nervous which was evident in some of his songs. All in all the show was highly entertaining. Katie Finneran was the show stealer for sure..too bad she didn't have more stage time. Kristin Chenoweth was not a disappointment, it was a real treat to see her perform. Didn't know Tony Goldwyn could sing...I would absolutely recommend this show however, not for children under the age of 14 due to the subject matter...

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Good casting but boring show, May 01, 2010
reviewer: Rob Houser from Atlanta, GA USA
I wouldn't recommend "Promises, Promises" even though it has a great cast. I was sorry that I spent my time and money on the musical, and I only paid half price. On the upside, Kristin Chenoweth's voice sounds great. BUT, the Burt Bacharach songs are cheesey and don't add anything to the story. On the upside, Sean Hayes is really funny in this role. BUT, his voice is weak and he sings the majority of the songs. The set is minimalistic and isn't especially exciting. The dancing is light and fun and trivial. The second half of the show is better than the first half, which I think is partially because it has more acting and fewer songs. If this had just been a play, it would have been much better than as a muscial. The first scene of the second act was hilarious, but that wasn't enough. Listen to the soundtrack before you go. I think it's sad that we celebrate a play that makes it seem okay and fun to cheat on your wife with people in the office. Bad show for kids under 14.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Old Fashion Fun, Apr 13, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Atlanta, GA
The show is a delight but a far cry from the elaborate sets Broadway theater has become. This is a simple old fashion play that has strong acting and great singing. Sean Hayes was 'Jack' at times, but that seemed to help the momentum of the play. Chenoweth was wonderful and would have liked her to have more stage time. Enjoy the show for what it is...simple fun and giggles.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Old Fashion Fun, Apr 13, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Atlanta, GA
The show is a delight but a far cry from the elaborate sets Broadway theater has become. This is a simple old fashion play that has strong acting and great singing. Sean Hayes was 'Jack' at times, but that seemed to help the momentum of the play. Chenoweth was wonderful and would have liked her to have more stage time. Enjoy the show for what it is...simple fun and giggles.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

loved the show, Apr 14, 2010
reviewer: Joyce from New Jersey
Never watched Will and Grace-so impressed with Sean Hayes-absolutely terrific! Kristin C. a doll-what a voice-the rest of the cast Tony Goldwyn-who knew he could sing!-wonderful. Great time for musical theater lovers

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A disappointing "Promisesx2", Apr 20, 2010
reviewer: Carolyn from Manhattan, NYC
Just saw the show. Sean Hayes an unexpected winner...never knew about his singing voice, and his physical comedy reminded me of Donald O'Connor. His comedic timing was spot-on. Kristen, Kristen, Kristen...I love her as a singer, but in this, there is not too much with these pop songs to show it off. They are in her lower range and nicely done, but, ho-hum. They've added songs ("I Say A Little Prayer" and "A House Is Not A Home"), maybe to showcase her singing, but less songs and more acting skill is needed. The first half was well paced, lively, but the show overdosed when Kristen's character did. The fake guitar playing in a duet with the two leads was pretty bad. The barfly, Kate Finneran, stole the show in two scenes...and the door was open to do so with weak acting by Kristen. Who could blame her for trying (and succeeding)? Needs some work...can this show be saved?

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Where Did Chenoweth Go?, Apr 22, 2010
reviewer: Peri from New York, NY
The show lacks any big production numbers and doesn't show off Kristen Chenoweth's great voice, the way Wicked did. She has also lost so much weight, she looks anorexic. It's unhealthy and unattractive. She has sunken cheeks and toothpicks for limbs. Let's get some meat on those bones. Hayes and cast are great.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A Real Broadway Musical, Apr 24, 2010
reviewer: Adrienne from Manhattan
The music familiar and delightful, the talent extraordinary yet charming, while off to a slow start the show just keeps getting better and better. Sean Hayes wows with a beautiful voice and adorable boyish appeal, holds his own against the talented Kristin Chenoweth. If you like dancing, this show delivers, with sexy moves and fabulous costums. I saw it twice already! Now, I will see Sean Hayes in anything! Great entertainment...

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Loved it, Apr 25, 2010
reviewer: Holly from Grafton, MA
I can't believe I was actually in the same place as Kristin C! It was an amazing experience!!!! Loved Sean Hayes too. Loved his voice. Loved his acting. Loved the whole darn thing!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Awesome, Aug 16, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
Loved this play - took my 74 year old mother and my 13 year old child - we all thoroughly enjoyed it! Sean Hayes and Kristin Chenoweth were fabulous - actually the entire cast was - Must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Disappointing, Apr 30, 2010
reviewer: carol g from NYC
I felt like it was a slow motion TV show with music added in, music that at times didnt seem to fit with the story line. Kristin Chenoweth, deserves a better script. Someone should remind Sean Haynes that he isnt on Will&Grace anymore. The best things going for this play were the Doctor next door and Kristen Chenoweth.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Sean Gone Brawn Executon!, May 23, 2010
reviewer: Rdepontb from Baltimore, MD USA
Sean Hayes brings the theater up a few notches when he's on stage, which is really for most of this songfest, dancefest, jokefest, audience-fest. His pure talent and timing, and honest voice, are brought to full audience appreciation via his energy and care for other actors---as well as for everyone in the theater. We saw it on May 2nd, matinee. Packed---packed--- house. You can't help but hang onto your seat when that second act opens, and two loners cuddle- play while testing each other out. You will miss some great lines from the audience laughter, but don't worry---the next one is right behind. Kristen Chenoweth is a little wasted here---what a voice, as always. But for a secondary part to the story, she tries hard to keep in check, and does a fantastic job 99% of the time----but that's not what we want from her! Loved the whole cast (junior exec dancers, secretary dancers, everyone a singer and zinger) and the whole city. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Thumbs up, Jun 01, 2010
reviewer: JB from Brighton, UK
Good, fun show with fantastic performances from the two leads; Sean and Kristin fans won't be disappointed. Katie Finnerman also shone, and the choreography is impressive. Altogether a very heartwarming show!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

GO GO GO TO SEE IT!, Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: pattyann from Connecticut
This is one of the best plays I've ever seen. Sean Hayes nails it! His comedic timing is impeccable, and his singing voice is shockingly powerful and wonderful. Kristen Cheneweth's voice is fabulous as is her acting. The lines are just hilarious and yet the actors switch easily from funny to heartbreaking. I totally recommend this 100%. I haven't had such a good time at a play in a very long time. This is a delight!! Do not miss it!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

GO GO GO SEE IT!, Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: pattyann from Connecticut
I MISTAKENLY CHOSE 1 STAR INSTEAD OF 5!! I MEANT TO CHOOSE 5!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

EXCELLENT!, Jul 19, 2010
reviewer: Karen from Indiana
Saw Promises, Promises on July 10, 2010 and I was not disappointed. Sean Hayes is great!! Kristin also great. You will enjoy the music. Would definitely see this again, loved it!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great singers you can't hear, Aug 16, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
Miss Chenewoth is a great singer. Her voice can fill a theater larger than this one. Unfortunately, the amplification makes her shrill and harsh. Recently we saw "Sondheim on Sondheim." ALL the singers sounded natural. Their voices soared thru the theater & all words could be clearly understood. But here, when the notes got high they became horribly distorted. The sounds grated on the ear as the words became unintelligible. I suffer from loss of high pitch hearing and am very happy I forgot my hearing aids! My wife suffered more than I. The low notes were fine & words were intelligible. The show is a vulgerized version of the old movie "The Apartment." However, the Burt Bacharach score is a delight, if one could only get past the amplification

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

peter benson was awesome, Nov 25, 2010
reviewer: don from vermont
I saw the first show Peter Benson played the lead role of Chuck Baxter. He was amazing. He stole the show. My wife and sister-in-law also enjoyed the whole show. The acting, dancing, and music was top notch. We drove to New York to then be totally entertained. What a wonderfful experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Disappointment, Nov 24, 2010
reviewer: Rob May from From Australia in New York
We were organised and purchased our tickets from Australia in early September and indicated that we would call and collect our tickets. On Tuesday 23rd November we arrived at the theatre 30 minutes prior to the commencement of the show only to find a huge line of theatregoers waiting at the ticket collection centre. The show commencement came and went and we were still standing in line waiting to collect our tickets. What amazed us was the the theatre management did nothing to try and resolve the situation. Utter disappointment

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 24 of 24 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review