Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092



Customer reviews for American Idiot
Avg. Customer Review (4.3 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 19
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews
Back to Paged View  


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING, Mar 28, 2010
reviewer: Valarie from Connecticut, USA
American Idiot was amazing ! The choreography, stage design, music vocals and dance were top notch. This is a must see ! It's on par with the original HAIR and Rent. If you loved either of those you will love this and the music is memorable and meaningful. This musical has a message and you are enraptured from the opening

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

First Preview Performance was Great!, Mar 25, 2010
reviewer: Kelley from Cumberland, RI
I'm biased because I am a huge Green Day fan, but I thought the show was fabulous. It was a high energy performance that was enhanced by there being no intermission. The show started out immediately with passion and angst, and it kept it up all the way to the very end. The songs from 21st Century Breakdown were fused well into the story line, and it was a real treat to hear some old Green Day music, as well. Green Day was there to support the show and its talented cast. I could see Billie Jo and Mike throughout the performance, and they seemed to be pleased and proud o the production (as well they should be). I thought the set was perfect, and I really liked how the "orchestra" was on stage. I was releived to see that the audience was not 99% teenagers - I was afraid I would be the only "grown up". That proves that this is a show for anyone of any age who likes an intense and explosive rock opera. Go see it!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Comment Regarding Bridget From Canada Review, Apr 15, 2010
reviewer: William from San Diego, CA 92111
Bridget obviously did not have her thinking cap on. She probably did not understand "Hair", nor "Rent" either. Reviewers like this should be required to reveal their level of education. If you tune out, you won't see the marvel and intense insight flawlessly displayed through the intertwining of music and thought in this unbelievably relevant and thought-provoking show. Everyone should experience this musical.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful:

ruined my entire trip, Aug 10, 2010
reviewer: Debbie from Arkansas
Why don't you print the truth on your brochures or billboards before tickets are bought on how vulgar the show is? Deplicting sex, partial nudity, drugs, alcohol, and horrible language turned my stomach. An hour of it was more than we could stand so we left.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Breathtaking, Apr 04, 2010
reviewer: Keith from Connecticut
They cut no corners in putting this show up: I was blown away by the set, lighting, singing, choreography, and emotional range. When the Extraordinary Girl comes down from the ceiling, I felt like I was flying myself.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

perfect!, Apr 04, 2010
reviewer: Vikki Regine from Cranston RI
Just saw it yesterday (4/3) and loved it. The way they arranged Before the Lobotomy was beautiful and moving, & the heavy songs kept all of the energy of the originals. Can't wait 4 the original cast sountrack CD!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic!!, Mar 31, 2010
reviewer: Pamela from USA
I would have used the title "Amazing" for my review if another person hadn't already. In the most literal sense, I was amazed; I absolutely loved it. The set, the actors, the singing, the choreography, the music was incredible/wild/depressing/uplifting/thought provoking/colorful/loud/inventive.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful:

Not so great......., Apr 09, 2010
reviewer: Bridget from Western Canada
Everyone in this show is talented, and the music is good - but that is not enough. There is no story here - and a good show needs that. The characters are losers and its difficult to feel any affection for them. Sorry - see this quickly if you want to see it - I am afraid it won't last long.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Great experience, Apr 11, 2010
reviewer: Bobby from Saco, Maine
When I first heard this show was on Broadway, I knew immediately I would be attending my first Broadway show. What a way for me to start my Broadway viewing career. The show was amazing and the cast did an outstanding job of portraying a large portion of today's youth. If you think this type of stuff is not going on with today's youth, then you are truly blind or live in a bubble. I hope this show has a long prosperous run on Broadway.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Great show, rotten seats., Apr 27, 2010
reviewer: KS from North of the Boarder
Great show, rotten seats. I asked for front row balcony to have a clear view of the stage. Instead I got seats with an obstructed view. The theatre manager basically said – too bad for you and didn't even offer a refund or tickets for another day. American Idiot is Fab, management – not so much.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Not for the young ones, Jul 03, 2010
reviewer: Andrea from Ohio
The musical was great but the ushers were rude! Don't even think about getting your phone out to text or take a picture. They yelled constantly instead of banning phone use(no photos aloud) and had little respect for anyone. The musical had a lot of cussing, simulated sex and drug use. Most of it was needed to make the story come full circle but it was a little too much. The pizza place next door is amazing (John's Pizza). BTW, most of the balcony seats are partial views. You really get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Re Comment from Debbie from Arkansas, Sep 14, 2010
reviewer: New Yorker from NYC
"Debbie from Arkansas", how about you do a little bit of research before you buy tickets? The fact that the musical is based on Green Day's album should tell you a bit about the content. Maybe you should opt for Mary Poppins instead.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

I'm no Idiot., Oct 04, 2010
reviewer: Stu from Long Island
I enjoyed this show so much, that I already have tickets to see it a second time.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Blown Away !, Jun 09, 2010
reviewer: Tony Silva from Astoria, New York
The show is terrific, vibrant, alive and kicking. The set design is amazing, lighting and sound are all top notch. But it's GREEN DAY's Music and the talented cast's endless energey that brings this show to another level. I cannot say enough about Tony Vincent, Stark Sands and the rest of the amazingly talented cast. But it is John Gallagher Jr who turns in a Star making performance. This man is an endless bundle of talent. He is truly awesome and has a long, long career ahead of him. He was great in SPRING AWAKENING and won the TONY for his terrific performance. But I feel, this time around, he was truly deserving of a TONY nomination. I have seen the show 4 times now, because he draws me back. All I can say is , Go See it! It will ROCK you!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

GREAT SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, May 09, 2010
reviewer: Steve from Berkeley CA USA
Non-stop energy from curtain to curtain! Went all the way to NYC to see this play. Totally worth the trip! This show rocks! DO NOT MISS IT! The set is fabulous. The songs are memorable... it is dizzy, dazzling and vastly entertaining! The cast is perfect. LOVED IT!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

PERFECTION, Aug 11, 2010
reviewer: Noelle Grace from Florida
my mother had to beg me to see this with her and i was dreading it up to the opening song. this show was captivating and i wish i could see it once a week. the story is hard core and the actors are amazing and can sing like crazy. if you can afford it the 3rd or 4th row is the best seat in the house. any closer and you get showered with spit and sweat. but its worth every penny. GO GO GO!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

BILLIE JOE BROADWAY DEBUT - Best AI Show ever, Sep 29, 2010
reviewer: Jess from near Philly, PA
I bought the Broadway cast album the day it was released, and I hate to say was a little disappointed when I first listened to it, but actually seeing it performed made all the difference. This show is that amazing. And the fact that Billie Joe was now part of the cast made it even better. And because its only for a week, spur of moment is not a bad idea. I'm glad I held out on buying tickets so I could see AI with him as St.Jimmy. Even if it last minute, go see this show like, now.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great show., Dec 13, 2010
reviewer: Loiane from St Louis
Great show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fans from Boston, Feb 05, 2011
reviewer: Joy Donohue from Hopkinton, Mass. (Start of Boston Marathon!)
Hard to believe I have seen American Idiot on Broadway with Billie Joe Armstrong -- four times now -- as I am from Boston! I have taken my family, husband, sons and last weekend, January 30 -- right before the "monster snow storm" -- I ventured again to New York City with five friends just to see the show. It is not too often you get to see a world class rock star perform with top Broadway performers up close and personal. And, that is what you get when you go to the St. James Theatre to see the show. It is outstanding. Everyone in the show pours their heart and soul into their performances -- song arrangements, harmonizing etc., band, choreography, modern set design -- all outstanding. I only hope this review can be conveyed to every individual in the cast. THANK YOU for a job well done, a great experience. I hope to see it again sometime soon -- although many trips from Boston to NYC are starting to add up! Well worth it though! Billie Joe Armstrong keep up the genius work.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review