Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for A Little Night Music
Avg. Customer Review (4.4 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 11
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews
Back to Paged View  


63 of 67 people found the following review helpful:

A little slice of heaven!, Nov 29, 2009
reviewer: Amy from Annapolis, MD
Bless you, Trevor Nunn, and this magnificent cast. Finally, a sexy interpretation of one of Mr. Sondheim's finest work. The actors and vocals could not have been better and I am just giddy waiting for the soundtrack. I saw this 2nd preview in Mezz row G and my seat couldn't be better. I would not take young children as the runtime is very long and subject matter mature. Enjoy yourself for grownup night of theatre. After all too many viewings of Disney and Hollywood on Broadway, I assure you that you are in for a real theatrical experience (at last)!

Was this review helpful to you?  


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

A rare treat, Dec 20, 2009
reviewer: Robert from New York
It is rare treat to see a serious professional production of ALNM and this one is thought- provoking, mysterious, enchanting, and beautiful. I would not have missed the chance to see Catherine Zeta-Jones in her first Broadway role and what is bound to be one of Angela Lansbury's last roles (and first musical role for ages) for anything, This is the stuff of broadway legend. Do see this if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Handicap access., Jan 30, 2010
reviewer: V. Stamm from N.Y., usa
The show was absolutely wonderful.The theatre staff, one in particular was very unhelpful. My sister is handicapped and walks with a cane. We asked if there was an elevator. The reply was no, this is the only way up. It was a very long flight of stairs. After the show we exited down another flight which was much easier. We discoverd that this was used for people who had walking difficulty. Shame on the woman staff member for not helping us.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Must See!!, Jan 13, 2010
reviewer: Ronnie from NJ
Just saw the play today. The Cast was outstanding, great writing, Sondheim musical (need I say more?) and very witty. Catherine Zeta Jones is absolutely beautiful in person and Angela Landsbury is classic. Wasn't familiar with Alexander Hanson, but now I am a fan. Great acting and music (Send in The Clowns). Go if you get the chance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

A wonderful event!, Jan 29, 2010
reviewer: Pat from Garwood, NJ USA
We just saw the show and thought it was absolutely wonderful! The staging is just right and the performances are truly delightful! My family and I strongly recommend this show as part of a great time in NYC.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Where is Style....Where is craft, Aug 22, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
This is the 4th time I have seen Little Night Music. I was horrified by Elaine Stritch's "performance in a role that requires style, elegance and sophistication to develop this wonderful character who had liasons with kings. Stritch was crass, common, and coarse. She could not even bother to know her lines. Having seen the show with Angela Lansbury, I could only marvel at how one woman could destroy a vehicle that previously ran so well. I resent her disdain for the audience as well as that of the casting director for hiring her! What fools they must believe the audience is made of, to present this as a Broadway production. On a positive note the rest of the cast worked like the professionals they are, with lovely voices (esp Petra) and well developed characters. What a shame one person can do such damage to an otherwise lovely show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Very poor service at this theatre, Jan 31, 2010
reviewer: M.Young from New York City
Although we loved the show A Little Night Music, I have to concur with the reviewer who complained about the staff. We also needed a handicapped accessable means of getting to our seats, in the first row of mezzanine, which required my elderly mother with severe walking difficulty to climb 3 flights of stairs only to have to descend a yet another long flight down to our seats. And this was after we inquired about a handicapped accessable entry from the young woman taking our tickets upon enry who simply said "no"; and even after asking another usher and getting NO help what so ever. Now, you know the theatre is supported at large by the elders among us; and this is how they are treated? What about some service?!?! You can be sure the theatre will see its demise before long if we insist on ignoring the needs of its greatest supporters.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Exceptional, Mar 05, 2010
reviewer: SimoFish from Bay Area - California
Zeta-Jones will win a Toni for this performance. Lansbury is classic Lansbury - simply brilliant. The entire cast is superb and that's an understatement. You'll leave wanting more and that feeling sticks with you for days. Money is tight and if you can see only one show - make it this one !

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great time - would love to see it again, Apr 06, 2010
reviewer: Petra from Munich, Germany
Saw the performance on 23 March - it was just GORGEOUS!!! Would love to see it again .... already bought the cd but would LOVE to able to buy a DVD!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

had to see catherine-zeta-jones,once in a life time exper, Jun 13, 2010
reviewer: Maureen E. Shanley from Yonkers, New York
I finally got to see this performance with my favorite(catherine-zeta-jones). I feel she's great. I'm not your ordinary new york theater goer,I work like most people.I went to see her in May 23rd. A 3p.m. performance. She was/is awesome. She is so beautiful.These foolish comments I see others make,shame on them. They should be so lucky!They should have such class!I was so, so very disappointed, she didn't come out my day I watched her perform. I expect than she was so sick & was rushed off with virus. I certainly voted for her. Maybe some other time I get lucky to meet her. catherine-zeta-jones is awesome! simple as that!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Great show - but Elaine Stritch is a disappointment, Dec 15, 2010
reviewer: Steve from San Francisco CA
I'm a huge fan of Sondheim and Miss Peters - but Elaine Stritch ruins the show. The night we saw it, she was so out of it, she couldn't remember a single line. It looks as if she's had a stroke, or was drunk. Elaine Stritch has no business being on Broadway - time to hang it up, girl.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review