Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Memphis
Avg. Customer Review (4.6 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 14
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
 


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful:

CANNOT WAIT!, Aug 23, 2009
reviewer: Lena Pena from Seattle
I saw this show in Seattle, and it is SPECTACLAR! This a hit on so many levels; music, dancing, story, comedy, score etc... the story will touch your heart. Even my husband loved it, (and, believe me, he is not a fan of musical theatre) Do not miss this, you wiil NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful:

Great but has a big flaw, Oct 10, 2010
reviewer: Timothy Toye from San Francisco
Very sharp dancing, great music and a compelling story. The big flaw is the male lead, Chad Kimball. His acting is so amateurish, that I thought he must be the understudy. But no, unbelievably, this guy was was nominated for a Tony award. He couldn't keep still, hands in pocket, duck-walking around the stage. And such a phoney accent. He can sing, but he definitely can't act. It seemed he must have been from some other (bad) production, everyone else was so excellent. Unfortunately, he is key to the story. He can sing, but someone needs to help him out with his acting. Unfortunately, he is key to the story, so it greatly weakened what is otherwise a great show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Must See, Sep 24, 2009
reviewer: Irina from NY, USA
I attended last night's opening show and thought it was fabulous! The music, dancing & vocals were impressive. With an insightful and thought provoking story line, this play is a reminder of where we have been, where we are today and inspires hope for where we can be in the next 50 years!

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Simply stumming musical entertainment, Feb 19, 2010
reviewer: John & Joyce Adamson from Hull - England - UK
This show will live in your memory the storyline has a serious undertone but is lightened by the great musical score and great humourous moments too, my wife was not sure whether she would enjoy it but also loved it and we had both not heard a song from the musical before watching the show a great 5 star hit.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

shubert theater attaire, Oct 13, 2009
reviewer: Jose M Encarnacion from Puerto Rico
I just want to know which is the recomended attaire for a friday night musical at Shubert , NY. Thanks.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

A MUST See!!, Jul 05, 2010
reviewer: JPL from North Carolina
I saw this show on my first trip to NY. This is a MUST see. Children under 13 will love the music and enthusiasm, but some of the story content, in my opinion is not appropriate for them. Memphis is riveting and passionate fom beginning to end. The chemistry on stage reaches the audience. The music is beautiful and moving. Memphis is a spectacular musical. Find the time to see Memphis, you will cherish the experience. Memphis was wonderful, memorable and a perfect ending to great trip.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Great in every way!, Jan 23, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from NJ
My husband and I were given these tickets as a xmas present from our son and his girlfriend. We knew it was a musical, but did not know the story line. We thoroughly enjoyed the dancing, the singing and the acting. We saw the understudy for the "Hugh" character and we were pleasantly surprised. We thought his acting was fabulous and couldn't imagine the main actor would play it any better! We really enjoyed this show beginning to end!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

MUST SEE, Jun 03, 2011
reviewer: Frankie B from New York
Im not into musicals so almost didnt go. Boy am I glad I did. This was an amazing show. A must see for everyone. Even if you dont like musicals I guarantee you will come out of the theater thrilled. I just saw the Sunday show before memorial day and it was spectacular. Go for it!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Really great with Adam Pascal, Oct 27, 2011
reviewer: Cassandra from Sacramento, CA USA
I was there his first night and he was amazing. Every song is wonderful and the acting is stunning. This play is great and I do hope to see it again soon. I don't know how good or not the old actor was but Adam was spectacular.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

GRRRRREEEEEAAAAT!, Oct 04, 2009
reviewer: justme from NY
One if th ebest shows I've ever seen! I smell Tony!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

MEmphis, Oct 14, 2009
reviewer: Rosemary from NYC
Just saw at the Schubert Theater. It was great - wonderful story and music. Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant!, Dec 16, 2009
reviewer: KC from New York
This is more than a musical, it's a solid story told by excellent actors. The incredible singing and dancing add to the drama and excitement. I was thrilled by the music and choreography and touched by the heartbreaking story. Bravo! I hope they release a soundtrack album.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Loved the show, Feb 24, 2010
reviewer: Houston visitor from Houston, TX
My husband and I caught 3 shows on a recent trip to New York and this was, by far, the absolute best. I loved Chad Kimball's Huey. The music and energy was so infectious. It's a new story for Broadway and an absolute blast. Don't miss the opportunity.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Wouldn't go back, Apr 02, 2010
reviewer: E. Davis from North Carolina, USA
Just took 75 middle school students to see this play and I would not do it again. Profanity was offensive and unnecessary and detracted from the amazing talent and awesome story. We were prepared for the fact that the theater isn't wheelchair accessible, but the manager was very rude to one of our students in a wheelchair. What a shame to have this taint an otherwise awesome New York experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Unbelievably good........, Apr 09, 2010
reviewer: Bridget from Western Canada
....amazing value for your entertainment dollar - a great show - I don't know what else to say. Each and every scene is absolutely perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review