Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Hamlet featuring Jude Law
Avg. Customer Review (4.0 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 8
Email a friend about this play.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews
Back to Paged View  


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful:

London Performance, Sep 04, 2009
reviewer: James Hardie from London, England
I saw this in London with the the same cast except for Gertrude and thought it excellent. So much so, I've tickets to see it again on Broadway in October.

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Hey Jude, Sep 14, 2009
reviewer: Allie from Maryland
Jude Law is a flawless Hamlet. Great production in NY. I do recommend it. Our seats were front row, amazing to be so close to Mr. Law.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic Play great cast, Sep 22, 2009
reviewer: Charlotte McCauley from Cottage Grove, MN
I have never been to a play before from Shakespeare, it was totally enjoyable and entertaining. I understood what was happening on stage and enjoyed it to the max. I am wondering if they dress any different on opening night, as I went in Sept. I love Jude as an actor and he is great on stage and took time to greet his fans after the play. Wonderful performance Jude!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

Boring, unevenly acted, too long, Sep 28, 2009
reviewer: Dianne Hunter from West Hartford, CT, USA
Jude Law delivers the rogue and peasant slave soliloquy well, but he does the first soliloquy as though he is teaching it to the audience. Eyre is good as the ghost; and Ron Cook energetically performs Polonius and the First Grave digger. The performer of Gertrude is impressive through to the closet scene, but uninteresting after that. The performer of Ophelia is badly in need of voice training. The performer of Claudius is dull. After Hamlet's return from his sea voyage, the play limps to a dull conclusion, poorly directed and weakly performed.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

A Two-Man Show -- Jude Law and Shakespeare, Oct 03, 2009
reviewer: Yvonne Korshak from New York City
Jude Law is a brilliant, youthful, athletic and intensely responsive Hamlet -- he brings a new dimension to the role. The rest of the cast is a mainly just competent with some less than that. See it for Law and Shakespeare!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Very disappointing and boring!, Nov 30, 2009
reviewer: Tammy from Connecticut, USA
Just saw this show on Saturday and what a disappointment! Spoken in Old English and very hard to understand or follow. The Broadhurst theater is very tight with very small seats and the row in front of you hits your knees. I am a small person at 5 feet and 130 pounds. I dont know how someone who is bigger would fit. The theater was freezing! at intermission they have the whole theater go down to the basement to attempt to use the bathroom in 15 minutes. It was like hearding cattle and the line was so long there was no way everyone was able to use the bathroom in that time after they pump everyone with drinks. Jude was good but the performance was extremely boring and long. I was falling asleep and so was my boyfriend. We were both very disappointed after spending a lot of money on these tickets-you would expect to at least be comfortable in the theater. The staff is rude constantly yelling about cell phones being on-we get it-NO CELL PHONES!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Jude's Delicious Thanksgiving, Nov 30, 2009
reviewer: jojofromrichmond from Nellysford, VA USA
Mr. Law devoured the boards one at a time like a tasty feast, with a physicality that was mesmerizing. Is it possible for hair to act? All right, I am a Jude Law fan, and no particular scholar of the Bard, but for one night was transported to Elsinore and the lure of its secrets and duplicity. The cast danced the noble dance with Hamlet, but ultimately, t'was the Prince of Denmark who brought emotions to the brink. Woe is me!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Moved beyond words, Dec 30, 2009
reviewer: Brenda Allen from Celebration, Florida
I have been an English teacher for 34 years (so you can imagine the intense relationship I have had with Hamlet!!), but I can honestly say that I have never been as moved by a live performance as I was by that of Jude Law. The minute I saw that he was to perform Hamlet at your theater, I purchased tickets. I planned my entire Thanksgiving vacation around that day. It went beyond my wildest dreams. As his heart broke, so did mine. When he wept, so did I. The performance that Mr. Law did was so real, so authentic, so perfect to Shakespeare. It will be with me for the rest of my life. Please send him my most sincere thank you.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review