Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Fela
Avg. Customer Review (4.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 8
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews
 


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful:

Transforming Broadway, Mar 05, 2010
reviewer: Dylan James from NYC
One of the most moving and inspiring Broadway shows I've ever seen. It's so completely different than any other Broadway show I've ever seen - the dancing, the music, the sets and lighting leaves you breathless. Don't wanna miss this one!

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Spectacular***, Sep 06, 2010
reviewer: Christine L. from New York CIty, NY
The music of Fela Kuti, the band (Antibalas), and the performance of Ngaujah (the dazzlingly multi-talented performer who portrays Fela) was lively and entertaining. At the same time, the show addresses important political events that occurred not long ago in Nigeria. In response to the one (and only) negative review, the dancing & music are not typical to Broadway or mainstream popular culture - but it is an amazing showcase of a unique vision.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overwhelmingly Surprised!, May 07, 2010
reviewer: DA Collins from RTP, NC USA
This production instantly became one of the best I have ever seen. The energy, intensity and creativity were incredible. On a scale of 0 -10 the dancing is an amazing 15. My only disappointment is that the experience ended. Seeing it again is a must and I can't wait!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

what am i missing?, Jun 07, 2010
reviewer: roger spector from stamford, ct
painful two hours. the first five minutes of energetic dancing and hot rhythms get a B+; but then nothing different happens for the next two-plus hours. and the dancing is not well choreographed; the dancers are often half-a-beat off. this show is a testament to political correctness; badly done stuff by favored groups gets applause. this is 'the emperor's new clothes' of 2010.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Astonishing!, Jun 29, 2010
reviewer: Stefani from New York, New York
I attended tonight's performance on a whim as a friend had an extra ticket. I'm thrilled to have learned first hand what all the fuss is about. The most unique, powerful, touching, funny, exuberant musical I have ever seen (and I've seen a lot of theatre!) The male lead was electric and had the audience on our feet. Lillias White is a force of nature to behold! I was moved to tears by her God given voice. What a lucky chance that a friend had an extra ticket. I can now say, after the fact, that I wouldn't have missed it for the world!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Exceptional!, Aug 08, 2010
reviewer: Nancy Danso from New York, NY, USA
This is one of the best shows I have ever seen.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Expectional Entertaiment !!, Nov 16, 2010
reviewer: Heather from USA
That is what I will call great entertainment , very good dancers and the music was great.My evening out was a good show and great food and drinks at B.Smith restaurant a couple blocks away I have told a lot of my friends about the show and encourage them to go see some great entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A little disappointed, Dec 30, 2010
reviewer: Kay from Hampton, VA
I attended the performance on 12/17/10. The view of the stage was superb, however the comfort of the seat was not acceptable. I am a 5"11' woman, the leg space did not allow for anyone over 5"3'. My knees were aching so bad that I considered standing for the entire 2nd act; this distracted from my enjoyment of the performance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 8 of 8 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review