Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Next to Normal
Avg. Customer Review (5.0 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 9
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews
Back to Paged View  


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful:

Best Show on Broadway By Far. Bye Bye Billy, Sep 24, 2009
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
This masterpiece makes you feel every emotion imaginable in ways you thought couldnt be felt. I just went to NYC and saw Next to Normal and Billy Elliot and after viewing both i can fairly say that Next to Normal deserved best musical. The score and plot was so much deeper then Billy Elliot. There was not one weak song in the show. From uptunes like "I'm Alive" to soft ballads like "How Could I Ever Forget" the show just makes you feel the whole time.In addition to the great songs the cast was crack clean.Tony winner Alice Ripley blew up the Booth Theatre in the character Diana which was perfectly portrayed. The loving and caring father, Dan, played by J. Robert Spencer, made you feel for him and the struggles of his family. The two children Natalie (Jennifer Damiano) and Gabe (Kyle Dean Massey) were picture perfect in character and grasping the hearts of the audiance. Henry (Adam Chandler-Berat) was a loving aand dedicated boyfriend whille Lous Hobson plays the 2 doctors perfect. N2N!

Was this review helpful to you?  


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful:

Just Incredible, Aug 05, 2009
reviewer: Kathy from NY
I loved this new musical. Din't know what to expect and it was a great surprise to enjoy something so fresh and new. Don't miss it - you won't regret seeing it!

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

Einfach grossartig!, Sep 30, 2009
reviewer: Guy de Saint-Preux from Berlin, Germany
Endlich mal wieder Show mit einer gro├čartigen (Rock-)Musik, tollen Texten und unter die Haut gehenden Handlung. Und die Darsteller sind hervorragend.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Words fail me..., Sep 17, 2009
reviewer: Taylor from San Antonio, TX
I would agree with "Kathy"s review of Aug. 5. A highly emotional experience for me. It's a show in which every element seems to work to move the story forward. I'd see it again if I lived in NYC. I would take my mother to see this, but not children under, say, fourteen.

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

psych review 5 stars, Sep 21, 2009
reviewer: Michael S Prokop, Psychologist from Warren Ohio USA
...great heartwarming show which demonstrated the realities of psychoemotional disturbance...inspiring ,insightful,and real...

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

awesome, Oct 27, 2009
reviewer: nan from pennsylvania
After the death of my little sister years ago, I could only sit there wondering why it wasnt my mom in the same situation. The music, the acting, the stage....awesome!!!! If I go into New York again, I would like to see it for the second time!!! If you go, bring tissues! Would recommend seeing this to everyone!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

So True to Life, Oct 22, 2010
reviewer: John from Linden, NJ USA
I just saw the show last night 10/21. I can not tell you how it made me feel to see "my life" on stage. I have suffered from BP and my daughter and wife have been my support system. The dynamics,energery and shear raw emotion captured the life behind closed doors and the public facades. Musically it was amazing, it has been a long time since I have gotten to my feet for a standing ovation. It is a must see for all. It truly shows the audience mental health is a chronic disease and as in any chronic disease it affects an entire family. Thank-you so much for opening the doors to the "Next to Normal" life of so many . Bravo!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Anything but Normal, Feb 11, 2010
reviewer: philip from Los Angeles
what an inspiring piece of theatre. With all the rehashes out there, it is so nice to see an original show with outstanding performances. this musical is not the typical, its super heavy but incredibly satisfying. Alice Ripley is outragously talented! don't miss her.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Brilliant, Sep 28, 2010
reviewer: Dan Levold from Victoria, Australia
I have to sway this was one of the best musicals i have seen. It had me fighting back tears. I am going back to see it again tonight. LOVE IT.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 9 of 9 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review