Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for Billy Elliot
Avg. Customer Review (4.2 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 14
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 14 of 14 reviews
Back to Paged View  


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful:

Billy Elliot on B'way -- AMAZING, Nov 15, 2008
reviewer: Kevin from Fort Lauderdale, FL USA
I LOVED this show -- as did the audience the night I saw it. You cannot help but cheer for Billy and his quest to pursue his newfound dream of becoming a dancer. The children in the cast are amazingly talented -- just superb. The woman lead who plays Mrs. Wilkinson (the ballet teacher) is phenomenal. Actually - everyone in the cast is just excellent, and the music by Elton John will have you riveted. The staging was unique and quite interesting -- I loved the way they tied the dancing into the miners' strike and the scenery flows effortlessly into and out of the stage keeping the action and flow of the story contstantly moving forward. This is a show with a message about celebrating your own individuality -- and you will leave cheering and smiling. A must see!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

billy elliot- best musical ever, Jun 07, 2008
reviewer: sean cutler from Swansea, wales, uk
I saw Billy Elliot when if first opened in the West End and it was amazing! The best British musical since Phantom! sean cutler. Swansea, Wales, Uk. sw.cutler@yahoo.com

Was this review helpful to you?  


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful:

Billy Eliot, Sep 11, 2009
reviewer: mitzi wertheim from washington, DC
I loved the show and an going back to NY to take my five children and grand children to see it.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 21 people found the following review helpful:

Not as good as the movie, Apr 13, 2009
reviewer: LJ from NYC
If you saw the movie first like I did, be prepared to be disappointed by the live show. There's no way they can replicate the dancing in the movie to a live show.

Was this review helpful to you?  


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Bring a box of tissues, Oct 21, 2009
reviewer: Anna from Florida, USA
It was wonderful! You don't notice the accents after a while-- the story and the emotion grip you and you become totally immersed in the story and the lives of the characters. It is powerful, like Les Miz, and the sets are reminiscent of it as well. The finale is light in nature but culminates a memorable event! A must see!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Super show but uncomfortable seats in the Imperial, Oct 25, 2009
reviewer: Rob Koot from Unterägeri, Switzerland
We saw the show on Sept.29, 2009 with Kiril Kulish as Billy. Amazing dancing and a show to remember. Only negative thing is the seating. Rows are so close together that I could not sit. Had to sit in isle-seat and put legs to the side. Took part of the joy away as it was uncomfortable. I am only 1.96 mtr (6'5") but seems you must cope with that as part of the charm of an old theatre as there are no alternatives. I had expected a bit more consideration from the theatre for a ticket of USD140,=. Be aware all you tall people, the Imperial Theatre only sits people under 6'. Better see this show in a different theatre.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

not a family play, Jun 18, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
walked out of this show...very vulgar language!!! Definitely not a family production. Very disappointing. Acting was great but not great enough to stay and listen to the vulgar and crude language.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

THIS IS A SCALPER SITE, Mar 13, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from Toronto, Canada
This site belongs to a ticket scalper, charging 3x the actual price of tickets! Buy from the authorized source: www.mirvish.com

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Gives your emotions a work out......., Apr 09, 2010
reviewer: Bridget from Western Canada
....if you want to be "moved" emotionally - this is the right show. You'll cry, (I actually sobbed in parts), and you'll giggle, (or laugh right out loud). This show deserves all of the wonderful accoladades it has received.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

THIS IS A SCALPER SITE, Mar 13, 2011
reviewer: Anonymous from Toronto, Canada
This site belongs to a ticket scalper, charging 3x the actual price of tickets! Buy from the authorized source: www.mirvish.com

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

AMAZING!!!!, May 01, 2010
reviewer: Paige from West Tisbury, MA, USA
I saw this show on Broadway at the Imperial Theatre in New York City with my mum!!! It was AMAZING!!! We had Michael Dameski playing Billy and he was just incredible!!! AMAZING dancer, AMAZING singer, and AMAZiNG actor!!! And after I got to meet him!!! He hugged me!!!! I got his autograph, he said I had a pretty name and that he would love to see me dance!!! Very polite. He was so charming!!! I really empathized with Billy knowing that I love to dance but I just quite can't. There were some pretty funny songs and scenes in there, such as "Expressing Yourself" and much more... The ballet girls were excellent dancers and had a great sense of comic timing. Plus the posh dad (who I met also) and the ballet teacher. I love ballet and my mum was born and raised in England, when the miners' strike was going on so this play has special meaning to me. Great job to Michael, Thommie, Donnie, and the rest of the cast...well done! ♥

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Late arrivals, May 24, 2011
reviewer: E Jack from Scotland
We went to see this show on Sat 14 May and were amazed at the number of late arrivals to this show which spoiled our enjoyment. Some as late as 30minutes and still allowed to take their seats. Would not happen here!! The girl in front spent the whole time sending texts on her mobile. The show was excellent but the interuptions did spoil our night. In fact we were on the point of walking out. Maybe just a bad night.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Pure Propaganda, Jun 13, 2011
reviewer: Michael from New York
Execution of the message was fine...the message is the issue. Not exactly for little children , though it's socialist "progressive" indoctrination is geared to a childlike mind. Unnecessary profanity for shock value and to fill the empty space...gee, old ladies and little kids cursing...too easy. One redeeming point, you could barely understand what was being said so if you concentrate on the signing and dancing, the pro labor, pro gay , pro socialist message wont be so obtrusive. But still , little kids signing about wishing Maggie Thatcher dead!! Hate is hate.. on either side of the aisle.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Best Musical I Have Seen, Nov 27, 2011
reviewer: Karina from New Jersey
Billy Elliot is one of the most amazing plays in my opinion. At first, I did not want to see this musical because I expected the worst. Boy was I wrong! This play is a must-see and I really want to see it before it leaves. There was comedy, dancing(quite amazing for an 11 year old), singing, a few shed tears, and the entire audience wanted to get up. I cannot stress how amazing it was. You Must see it. The play did have some bed language, a few f bombs, so probably children 10 and up. Overall it was an amazing experience that should not be missed. ALso, there was good food around. Go see it!!!!! :)

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 14 of 14 reviews Back to Paged View

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review