Find a show or venue

Search

Order by phone

(800) 901-4092

Your independent guide to the best shows in New York



Customer reviews for South Pacific
Avg. Customer Review (4.1 Stars):
Number of Reviews: 18
Email a friend about this musical.
Write an online review and share your thoughts.

Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews
 


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful:

WONDERFUL, Sep 17, 2008
reviewer: HDAD from Cincinnati, Ohio
I'm sitting at my PC this morning still basking in the glow of South Pacific, which I saw last night. The show was fabulous; undoubtedly one of the best I've seen in a long time. My seat was perfect (5 rows back, just right of center and about 10 feet from the stage, just above eye level - incredible). The cast, Kelly O'Hara as Nellie, Paulo Czot (a Brazilian opera singer) as Emile and Matthew Morrison as Lt. Cable, were all suberb, bringing rich voices and subtle nuances to their roles. The set was minimalist yet perfect and the music was culled from Richard Rodgers original score and was presented with a full 30 piece orchestra. The stage was actually right over the pit which brought the action very up close and personal. I met a couple at intermission who saw the original production back in '49 with Mary Martin. They were now in their early 80s and had made a special trip into the city. It was a privilege to meet them and hear their thoughts about the original production.

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:

An unbelievable experience, Apr 16, 2008
reviewer: John Asmussen from Henderson, NV
I managed to wrangle two tickets for this magnificent production one evening last week. I can honestly say I have never enjoyed a Broadway musical more. The singing, the sets, the energy of the cast, and the rich score beautifully interpreted by the huge (by Broadway standards) orchestra, and the incredible voices of Paulo Szot and Kelli O'Hara all combined to make for an unforgettable evening. It was truly "Some enchanted evening," and I haven't stopped humming the tunes ever since...

Was this review helpful to you?  


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful:

BEST BEAUTIFUL EVER, Jun 04, 2008
reviewer: Susan Jackson from San Francisco, CA
I have seen a LOT of theatre, and prefer the heavy stuff, but knowing that Bartlett Sher directed this (HE DID AWAKE AND SING!) I took a chance, saw a preview, had the best seat in the Center and cried all the way through. I even got a letter to the editor published in the New York Times as a result of this musical (inspired by an article by Frank Rich). WHATEVER YOU DO IN YOUR LIFE, DON"T MISS THIS! THIS IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL SHOW I HAVE EVER WITNESSED! ever, and that includes Royal Shakespeare Co, Kevin Spacey (sorry Kevin) and Vanessa Redgrave (sorry Ms. Redgrave!)

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 22 people found the following review helpful:

Please cut the smoking, Apr 08, 2009
reviewer: DC from USA
I saw this production last night and liked it. I thought the orchestra was fantastic. The only bad thing I have to say is that you really need to take out the cigarette smoking in the production. It was really offesive and I really feel you do not need to have this in any production.

Was this review helpful to you?  


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

South Pacific, 2008 Revival, Jul 12, 2009
reviewer: Dr. Burnet B. Sumner from Martha\'s Vineyard most of the time, but you can find me in San Francisco.
I first heard the music to this musical when I was three years old; my parents had brought the 33 1/2 record back from N.Y.C. I cannot tell you why South Pacific, Ezio Pinza, Mary Martin, and all those characters captured me, but they did--for life. I was fearful upon making reservations to see the "Revival." No way could it ring true--just as the film did not. I know the words and the music by heart. ABSOLUTELY, WITHOUT QUESTION, THIS PRODUCTION WAS NOT ONLY PERFECT, BUT PROFOUND. AND, IT IS SO IMPORTANT TO REALIZE THAT THIS WAS NOT JUST WWII, BUT NOW. THE PASSION IS ALMOST UNBEARABLE. I LOVE IT EVEN MORE--HAVING SEEN SUCH A SUPERB PRODUCTION. CONGRATULATIONS!

Was this review helpful to you?  


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Breathtaking!, Apr 12, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I never knew the original South Pacific but I grew up watching and loving the movie! This 50 uear old revival is breathtakingly beautiful and poignant even for today! The music takes your breath away. The serious undertones of the plot are perfectly interspersed with an outstanding performance by the show's funny man, and there are moments where you can't help but shout out in joy! Truly one of the best theater experiences I have had in years!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Six stars?, Jun 08, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Northern England
This is quite simply the best thing my wife and I have ever seen on a stage - or in a film, come to that. Fabulous cast, superb orchestra, perfect lighting and set. Kelli O'Hara almost steals the show, but it's a close thing - Danny Burstein regularly steals it back. Every one of the cast is top-notch, the singing is faultless, especially Paulo Szot. We were on a short holiday to New York from England and would have gone back the next night to see the show again there'd been a ticket! Thanks to all concerned.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

An amalgam of history, Jul 06, 2008
reviewer: oscar from kinderhook ny usa
Such an important show- a wonderful amalgam of US,societal, cultural and broadway history. WWII, stage drama, a Rogers and Hammerstein gem with live music wrapped in a production that dares our society to face racial prejudice-this show is so complete a masterpiece that the viewer is humbled in it's presence. I tried to pretend I was seeing the original production and experiencing the score de novo. The show in this theater is at once intimate and a grand production of a broadway classic.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Outstanding, Jul 20, 2008
reviewer: Anoymous from Texas
I saw this show last Thursday evening with my mother and father on a trip to NYC. It was exceptional and one of the best shows we saw while we were in the city. The only down side was that Kelli O'Hara was not in the cast that night and her understudy took her place. While she was very good, I only wish we had had the original. Paulo Szot was fantastic and his voice magnificent! He was worth the price we paid for our tickets to the sold out show. I encourage anyone that is looking for a show to attend that this is the one!

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

The most romantic show ever, Sep 01, 2008
reviewer: RitaSue Siegel from New York, NY
When I was growing up, my mother would listen to the Enzio Pinza/Mary Martin cast album over and over. She saw the show and loved it. My mother died on April 1, 2008 and my husband bought me a ticket to the show for July to see while he was away for a month. I have never enjoyed any type of entertainment more. I knew the words to every song and thought of my mother all the way through crying my eyes out. I now have the cast album for this production and play it over and over. THe songs are so of the moment and project universal feelings. Paul Szot and Kelly have so much chemistry and seem to be feeling real emotions which makes for an unforgetable evening of great music, great story, great singing, great acting. It's too bad it had to end but it is a great gift to the public to produce such an exceptional event. It is priceless.

Was this review helpful to you?  


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

A Dream, Sep 05, 2008
reviewer: Anonymous from Anytown, AT 55555
I was born and raised in New York. This, This was the best play, musical.....I have ever seen here. The cast is everything I was hoping for. The music...their voices ...sometimes I wake up in my sleep and Im humming tunes from it. When Im at my desk at work ...I just think of it and wish I were there. Unbelievable. Thank You to all the cast for bringing this to us. Brillant!

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

An Amazing Theater Experience !, Jul 11, 2009
reviewer: Michele from New Jersey
South Pacific was by far the best musical I have seen ! Loved every minute of every song...I walked out of there and could not wait to begin listening to the soundtrack....one thing though, the seats in the theater are EXTREMELY narrow and uncomfortable for anyone shall we say with a "large backend" and long legs.

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Disappointed..., Sep 06, 2009
reviewer: L. Reed from Bellingham, WA
We were so looking forward to seeing this show as the music is so memorable. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the female lead, Laura Osnes. Didn't find her believable and way 'too bubbly' for this mature role. When she jumped around the stage in "Gonna Wash That Man..."--I cringed. We saw Wm Michals, the understudy do the role of Emile and he did an exceptional job...but there was no chemistry whatsoever between the 2 leads. Male ensemble was well cast and Bloody Mary (Loretta Ables Sayre) was wonderful. From reading previous posts, I am guessing the original female cast in this show was someone else. We saw 4 shows in the past 5 days and this was the weakest....

Was this review helpful to you?  


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Very Disappointed, Oct 21, 2009
reviewer: Anna from Florida, USA
My husband and I are enthusiastic theatre goers who have seen many shows--this one was lacking and disappointing. The featured players often had their backs to the audience, often inaudible. The orchestra was the highlight of the production which was a bore. With such a venue, you would think it could have encompassed so much more. Save your money!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Orgulhosos Brasileiros!, Jun 17, 2008
reviewer: Victor Lima from Brasil-Rio de Janeiro-Miguel Pereira/RJ
Mr. Paulo Szot. Todos os brasileiros se sentem muito orgulhosos da conquista de nosso conterrāneo.Que sua arte possa continuar a levar o nome de nosso povo por todo o mundo!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Don't take children!, Feb 12, 2010
reviewer: Pam from CA
I was APPAULED at the SEXUAL suggestions in the dancing and the NUDITY! I was excited to see this show again. The orchestra was great, vocals good and seats wonderful. What a surprise!! No one mentioned the lack of clothes in the reviews and I had my 13 year old who was uncomfortable with nude guys running across the stage. I don't believe Rogers and Hammerstein would approve of the sexual crassness that has been intermingled in their play. It was NOT necessary. It is a great musical which does not need the 'raw' additives!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

AWESOME, Feb 16, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from Cherry Hill, New Jersey
I saw the show Valentine's Day and I must say it was the best show I have ever seen in either New York or Philadelphia. The leading man was unbelievable as well as the leading lady. The orhestra was awesome, the talents of the entire cast was just great. I will be telling all of my friends and family to see this show. THE BEST!!

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Fantastic entertainment for all generations., Mar 20, 2010
reviewer: Budd from Milford Ct.
Saw the play about a year ago with friends, we all loved it. Going to see it again w/ 13 year old niece. I know she will be blown away. Great story, music and talent. To the reviewer who found the smoking offensive: get over it, it's art, part of the production, a snapshot of American history when this nation was unified and would not even question something so petty.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Barely Broadway, Jul 10, 2010
reviewer: Anonymous from New York, New York USA
Our family has attended many performances both professional and amateur to include ballet, plays, concerts, and musicals, and we have never been more disappointed than we were with South Pacific. We found the sexual suggestion, the boorish handling of race, women, morality, and the military, and the exaggerated character stereotypes appalling. We left the performance feeling exhausted and deflated. Though this criticism is not of the performers but of the musical itself, the actors were not exactly defying gravity, and, as soon as they started ripping their clothing off, we wanted to scream Mama Mia. Further, the many layers of deception made our son comment that Emile was a lying king. Our time and our money would have been better spent elsewhere. Broadway can be so magical. I am sorry that we exposed our children to South Pacific and wish we had spent our evening attending a more uplifting and better executed performance.

Was this review helpful to you?  


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

A Flawless Production of South Pacific, Aug 04, 2010
reviewer: Grant Curry from Newcastle, NSW, Australia
I'd heard that this first-ever Broadway revival of South Pacific was supurb, but nothing could have prepared me for what I would witness on 28th April, 2010 at the Vivien Beaumont Theater. This astonishing production has to be seen to be believed. Every actor on that stage could not be praised highly enough for their sensational performances, and it is easy to appreciate why this musical has had such a long and successful run: it opened on 3rd April, 2008, but its final performance is due to take place on 22nd August, 2010, so if you've not seen it yet - be quick! This was the fifth, and best production of SOUTH PACIFIC that I've seen - the first was in 1963 when I was 11, so I know this show very well. The director, Bartlett Sher, must be some kind of theatrical genius to be able to make this 60-year-old musical look so perfectly brand new with a set of actors who are completely believable in every way. Children and teenagers should be encouraged to see this production, but be quick.

Was this review helpful to you?  


Showing 1 to 20 of 20 reviews

What's on When

Powered by Five Star Review